Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars *THE* Essential Gershwin Collection
I have to admit that I've never really been aware of the brilliance of George Gershwin before I started having singing lessons a few months ago. My singing coach insisted that I tried some Gershwin numbers and I was astonished to discover the most fantastic melodies, beautiful harmonies and exquisite pieces of music. I just had to learn more about his music...
Published on 2 July 2010 by Gerry

versus
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great compilation, but "remastered"?
Excellent compilation, & good value, which includes some classic interpretations - Fred Astaire's, aside? - of the great man's work.

However, Amazon describes this 2-CD pack as "Original recording remastered". Really? There is no such reference on the cover, booklet or the actual discs. Indeed, the tracks generally sound muffled, 'tinny' & 'distant', even the...
Published on 26 Nov. 2009 by 6th.replicant


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars *THE* Essential Gershwin Collection, 2 July 2010
I have to admit that I've never really been aware of the brilliance of George Gershwin before I started having singing lessons a few months ago. My singing coach insisted that I tried some Gershwin numbers and I was astonished to discover the most fantastic melodies, beautiful harmonies and exquisite pieces of music. I just had to learn more about his music.

"George Gershwin - The Essential Collection" is a carefully put together double CD of Gershwin's most accomplished pieces - many of which I was not familiar with - along with some other less well known but equally genius songs. The variety of different performers on the CD highlights Gershwin's versatility to suit many different voices and styles. Although I do wonder why many decide to start the songs from the refrain rather than the first verse.

I recommend this collection to anyone wanting to discover the beauty of Gershwin's music and learn why it has influenced popular music for generations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Spectrum of Gershwin, 27 Jun. 2007
By 
Barry McCanna (Normandy, France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The most prominent feature of this set is Gershwin's historic recordings of "Rhapsody In Blue" and "An American In Paris", but the remaining 45 tracks draw on a wide range of both American and British performers to produce a wide spectrum of classic interpretations. Whispering Jack Smith, Hutch, Jack Hylton, Roy Fox, Jack Simpson and Carroll Gibbons are all represented, as are Ella, Bing, and Billie, to name but a few. This really is a superb compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great compilation, but "remastered"?, 26 Nov. 2009
Excellent compilation, & good value, which includes some classic interpretations - Fred Astaire's, aside? - of the great man's work.

However, Amazon describes this 2-CD pack as "Original recording remastered". Really? There is no such reference on the cover, booklet or the actual discs. Indeed, the tracks generally sound muffled, 'tinny' & 'distant', even the more recent recordings.

Methinks we need some clarification of the term "remastered".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Upbeat, uplifting, wonderful music with aged charm, 2 May 2012
This collection showcases the amazing talent of Gershwin through a great selection of his film/show tunes and his two best known orchestral works - Rhapsody in Blue and An American in Paris. Lots of the recordings are very early (1920s to 1950s) so, as mentioned by another reviewer, the sound quality is not fantastically sharp but, given the era, I certainly have no complaints and personally think it adds to the charm of the recordings - with the exception of the two orchestral pieces. If you want a crystal clear, nuanced experience of Rhapsody in Blue and An American in Paris then look elsewhere as the versions offered here (despite Gershwin performing them himself)lack depth of tone. Despite this, the CD overall is a treat and the songs can't help but bring a smile to your face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious Gershwin, 13 Nov. 2009
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This 2006 compilation featuring some of the best of George Gershwin is well worth revisiting and is a snip at the price. There are 47 selections from the familiar "Swanee" to a medley from the now almost forgotten "Of thee I Sing". Included too are film favourites Mickey Rooney and Judy Garland with songs from "Girl Crazy". Many of these were used decades later in the musical "Crazy for You". Hutch gives his own unique treatment to "High Hat" and "He Loves and She Loves" both from "Funny Face". There are also concert versions of "Rhapsody in Blue" and "An American in Paris" that feature George Gershwin on Piano. A great mix of vintage and memorable performances. The total running time is approx 156 minutes. The dates of recordings are not quoted individually but they come from 1926 to 1953 according to a footnote on the liner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing value, 2 Oct. 2009
By 
C. Conroy (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
These CDs are packed full of classics to sing along with and other less well known (to me anyway) songs to discover. You get over two and a half hours of wonderful music performed by many great artists for a ridiculously small price. Well worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gershwin's essential collection, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This 2 disc collection of Gershwin's essentials is very good, contains all the songs that made Gershwin so famous. Absolute must for anybody even slightly interested in beginning-of-20th-century music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it Okay, 25 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its OKay but no more then OK, sound quality is quite varied and the songs loose their charm because of this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as relevant today, 27 July 2011
Gershwin's music has always attracted rock'n'roll and soul music.In fact in 1962 there were 2 versions of Summertime on the American charts by Rick Nelson and the Chantels respectively.Here you get the original version as sung in the Cast album by the little known Helen Jepson.Its a song which hangs in the air forever and in 1956 had a version by Sam Cooke
Porgy & Bess gave Gershwin total credibility as one of if not the first to compose music for a musical with an all black cast.
If he'd done nothing else this would be enough to place him high in the pantheon of the greats
Virtually every Gershwin song has been well covered in every decade beginning with Al Jolson and Swanee.
With the double CD George & Ira Gershwin in Hollywood this really IS essential
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Essential collection, 7 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not too pleased with the quality of some of the old, very old ,recordings but interesting to see how the songs were first performed....as they were written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews