Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Django Reinhardt & Stephane Grapelli - The Essential Collection
I can normally get a bit het up with discs that don't give personnels or recording details but in this case I don't think it particularly matters. It's a little like Jerry Lee Lewis who was once asked who was on a record he had made. The reply was 'I'm on it. What more do you need to know?' I feel much the same about Django. Whenever he plays it really doesn't matter who...
Published on 7 April 2011 by Bob Murray

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining without a doubt
The rythyms will get your feet tapping ..... but the sound quality is not that good...... on the other hand there are plenty of tracks to listen to.
Published on 6 Dec 2012 by K. N. Welch


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Django Reinhardt & Stephane Grapelli - The Essential Collection, 7 April 2011
I can normally get a bit het up with discs that don't give personnels or recording details but in this case I don't think it particularly matters. It's a little like Jerry Lee Lewis who was once asked who was on a record he had made. The reply was 'I'm on it. What more do you need to know?' I feel much the same about Django. Whenever he plays it really doesn't matter who else is there: he is the one to listen to.
All the tunes on this two disc set seem to come from before the war, there is no electric guitar and no accompaniment apart from violin and rhythm. Grapelli plays pleasant, slightly romantic piano on a few tracks and there are occasional vocals that cause no harm. Many, but not all, of the best loved tunes are here but there are also lesser known numbers. In other words this is a fine selection of the classic Hot Club Quintet.
Grapelli throughout plays swinging attractive violin, very tuneful, but always slightly sweet toned. He plays very well, but it doesn't really matter when compared to Django. There are miles and miles of his boundless genius. He plays, both on ballads and swingers, as if he had ceaseless invention and the ability to go on for ever without ever running out of inspiration. He was an absolute original and one of the greatest soloists the music has produced.
The Quintet had a unique sound (although later much copied) which was a combination of Gallic charm and hard driving jazz. Ultimately, the view you take of the set will depend upon the view you take of that particular sound but what cannot be ignored is the sheer genius of that man Django.
There are two and a half hours of music here for a very reasonable price so it has to be a bit of a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant atmospheric swing violin, 7 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having recently enjoyed staying in California, in some charming Victorian clapboard B&Bs, where they served up free wines and played some lovely, atmospheric, swing violin music in the background, as the rays of the evening sun filtered in through the wooden plantation shutters. I guessed this music was probably Grappelli & Reinhardt so I decided to buy this CD in order to relive the memories. This turned out to be the very album they had played and it's lovely. All I need now is a glimmer of spring sunshine and I can dream myself back there! Mmhh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Essential Collection - Django Reinhardt & Stephane Grapelli, 22 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This cd contains a wonderful collection from two world class artists in this genre. A well-devised selection of tracks that confirms both Django Erinhardt and Stephane Grappelli to be absolute virtusos of their day. What's great about this cd is that like all 'musical favourites', you will never tire of listening to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The essential collection, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this CD for my husband who enjoys this type of music but it is not my cup of tea. Delivery was quick and I am sure my husband would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Sound, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great re-mastering of a great sound by two of the giants of jazz. A wonderful selection of tracks showing the immense talent of fantastic musicians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Merveilleuse, 2 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
2 CD's at a giveaway price. So if you like this Parisian jazz swing you can't lose. A sophisticated jazz sound for the modern dinner party.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Collection, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic introduction to Reinhardt and Grapelli. Would recommend to anyone wishing to sample these amazing musicians. Buy this with confidence
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I expected it to be, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was exactly what I wanted and in a form that ifound very pleasing. You are making the submission of comments more difficult with this new format
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining without a doubt, 6 Dec 2012
By 
K. N. Welch (Hertfordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Collection (Digitally Remastered) (MP3 Download)
The rythyms will get your feet tapping ..... but the sound quality is not that good...... on the other hand there are plenty of tracks to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For dedicated fans only, 31 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. E. Gendle - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like this type of jazz then this is for you. Vocals are rather innocuous. Recording quality acceptable for its day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Essential Collection (Digitally Remastered)
The Essential Collection (Digitally Remastered) by Django Reinhardt & Stephane Grappelli
Buy MP3 Album£5.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews