Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little gadget
I hear what others are saying, but this went half way around Africa with me charging camera batteries and running a laptop non-stop without any problems at all. I liked its robust lead and rubber case.

Only problem was that it was so good it got nicked, and now I have to buy another!
Published 16 months ago by Gordon Clarke

versus
25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very compact, but not without flaws
I bought this inverter to charge mobile phones and laptops in a hire car abroad. It is very small and light - just what I wanted to pack away in a suitcase so first impressions were good. It is easy to store in the car, but because it is so light the thick coiled cable will flip the inverter to lie where it feels like, rather than where you want it. Unlike other...
Published on 26 Dec 2010 by SimonW


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very compact, but not without flaws, 26 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ring Automotive RINV120 Ring Compact Inverter with USB Socket 12 V DC / 240 V AC MP:120 (Automotive)
I bought this inverter to charge mobile phones and laptops in a hire car abroad. It is very small and light - just what I wanted to pack away in a suitcase so first impressions were good. It is easy to store in the car, but because it is so light the thick coiled cable will flip the inverter to lie where it feels like, rather than where you want it. Unlike other inverters I've used, this one has a small fan and you have to be careful not to block the air flow. You may not notice the buzzing sound it makes with the car engine on, but if you stop for a rest the noise can be annoying. The USB socket is a useful feature and the 240v socket worked well to start with. The instructions tell you not to use it for more than 4 hours at a time, so you can't plug it in and forget it on a long journey. After using it several times, my inverter stopped working for no apparent reason. Maybe I was just unlucky. However I sent it back for a refund because I didn't like the ventilation fan and I was unconvinced that it was electrically robust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars False Advertising, 21 April 2013
By 
David (Manchester) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ring Automotive RINV120 Ring Compact Inverter with USB Socket 12 V DC / 240 V AC MP:120 (Automotive)
The discription says it can power any item with a three pin plug including jet washers and vacuum cleaners no way this inverter is only 120 watts the smallest mains vacuum cleaner you can buy is 150 watts and jet washers use considerably more. getting fedup with sellers basically telling lies and misleading customers to sell products.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 72 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't do what it says on the tin, 13 Feb 2011
This review is from: Ring Automotive RINV120 Ring Compact Inverter with USB Socket 12 V DC / 240 V AC MP:120 (Automotive)
Ring Automotive RINV120 12V DC / 240V AC MP:120 Compact Inverter with USB Socket

As product description stated ok to charge laptops etc, brought this product for charging my laptop in car. On 3rd use no 240v output, as i had product for 2 months and out of return period i phoned Rings technical department who informed me the product was not suitable for a laptop and as such had overloaded the invertor (they state 300w required). Fair play to Amazon though they are giving me a full refund
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars MP120 car battery power source, 29 Aug 2010
This review is from: Ring Automotive RINV120 Ring Compact Inverter with USB Socket 12 V DC / 240 V AC MP:120 (Automotive)
Very useful product when you're on a camping holiday. However it has one design flaw. It has the normal plastic safety device that prevents your putting a plug in without the earth pin. This jammed after a couple of uses. I had to dismantle the unit to un-jam it and eventually removed it completely when it kept jamming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little gadget, 19 Jun 2013
By 
Gordon Clarke (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ring Automotive RINV120 Ring Compact Inverter with USB Socket 12 V DC / 240 V AC MP:120 (Automotive)
I hear what others are saying, but this went half way around Africa with me charging camera batteries and running a laptop non-stop without any problems at all. I liked its robust lead and rubber case.

Only problem was that it was so good it got nicked, and now I have to buy another!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handy bit of kit, 3 April 2010
By 
Steve (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ring Automotive RINV120 Ring Compact Inverter with USB Socket 12 V DC / 240 V AC MP:120 (Automotive)
I've already got an earlier version of this, which lacks the USB port, and takes up much more space, naturally.

So - handy size, useful for charging or powering equipment. That's it summed up really. Does what it says on the box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars has transformbed what i can do on the go a real must have for teckies or preppers i keep mine in my bag side pocket, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ring Automotive RINV120 Ring Compact Inverter with USB Socket 12 V DC / 240 V AC MP:120 (Automotive)
real must have for teckies or preppers i keep mine in my bag side pocket
so fast on delivery and supreme quality would urge you to buy 2
thanks guys brilliant product at an unbeatable price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compact Neat Invertor good value, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ring Automotive RINV120 Ring Compact Inverter with USB Socket 12 V DC / 240 V AC MP:120 (Automotive)
Im using this little invertorin my camper to run may lap top
The fan whir is alittle annoying and the cable could do with being
just another 30-50 cm in length in my opinion the unit is effective and compact
and far less bulky and unsightly than my previous unit from maplins
It worked well from the Cig lighter unit in the front of the van
but I had issues making it work in the 12v sockets in the back
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Did not fit the cigarette lighter, 4 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ring Automotive RINV120 Ring Compact Inverter with USB Socket 12 V DC / 240 V AC MP:120 (Automotive)
Complete and utter total waste of money. This did not fit the cigarette lighter in our car - a Toyota Corolla - other items purchased have fitted it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ring automotive RiNV120 12v/DC/240 AC MP 120 compact inverter with USB, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ring Automotive RINV120 Ring Compact Inverter with USB Socket 12 V DC / 240 V AC MP:120 (Automotive)
Really liked this product it works great. would recommend it to anyone. Ideal for using on long journeys to recharge your camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews