Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Multi faceted fantasy
This book works on two levels. On the first level it is a satisfying conclusion to the Crossroads trilogy. All loose ends are picked up and, although some events see a little rushed at the end or happen off page, overall the pacing works well. Events also don't go quite as the seasoned reader might anticipate (although there is an increasingly ominous aura surrounding...
Published on 9 Sep 2009 by Claire de Trafford

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Anti-Climax
After reading and enjoying the first two books in the Trilogy I was very excited about the final book. Unfortunately I found it quite a let-down - the story progressed reasonably well, but the ending was very disappointing - lots of loose ends and no real conclusion.
I can only assume that the intention is for a fourth book in the "Trilogy".
Published on 7 Dec 2009 by Darren Egan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Multi faceted fantasy, 9 Sep 2009
By 
This book works on two levels. On the first level it is a satisfying conclusion to the Crossroads trilogy. All loose ends are picked up and, although some events see a little rushed at the end or happen off page, overall the pacing works well. Events also don't go quite as the seasoned reader might anticipate (although there is an increasingly ominous aura surrounding one character) which adds to the pleasure of the book. Warning - you may find it impossible to put down!

On the second level it is a thought provoking read about how to ensure a truly just society. On the surface the Hundred is an idyllic place to live, relaxed about sexuality, democratic and giving women equal rights yet, like Nazi Germany, even reasonably 'good' people have joined up with an army whose actions are 'evil'. Why did they join? How do you bring justice to this army? Is justice different from revenge? Is justice different from what seems expedient in the short term? At the end of the book the reader is, I think, left with a very different perspective than they started with.

Thoroughly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A satisfying end to an interesting trilogy, 23 April 2013
By 
A. Whitehead "Werthead" (Colchester, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An invading army is laying waste to the lands of the Hundred. The reeves, the giant eagle-riding police force of the land, are unable to hold them back. In desperation they have struck up an alliance with an exiled outlander prince and his militia, but the enemy are led by corrupted Guardians, resurrected beings with the power to look into souls and strike people dead with a glance. The only hope of victory may lie with the uncorrupted 'pure' Guardians. But to achieve this, they may have to give up a terrible secret...

Traitors' Gate concludes the Crossroads trilogy by Kate Elliott, or rather it concludes the opening three-book arc of the series. Future books are planned picking up the story some generations further down the line. For now, however, it is a self-contained trilogy with no major cliffhangers or unresolved plot elements.

It's been five years since I read the first two volumes in the series, so I was initially a bit swamped as I caught up with what was going on. The core storyline is fairly straightforward, but the secret to the success of the trilogy is how Elliott layers in thematic elements to apparently trivial characterisation and how she addresses a wide range of different topics - from sexuality and female empowerment to commerce and religious freedom - within the confines of a more straightforward story. In fact, my biggest complaint about the trilogy as a whole is that it like it could have done with an additional book to help flesh out the world and cultures (a far cry from her prior Crown of Stars series which, whilst very good, could have probably done with at least a volume being shaved off its length).

The book and the trilogy as a whole also explores the concept of corruption and the ethics of the use of power. Elliott has little truck with evil magic or other examples of simplistic morality, instead citing that every person has within them the capacity for good or ill, the Guardians included, and she contrasts well the rigid thinking of the Qin (who prefer to see the world in absolutes rather than shades of grey) against those who are more open to a more complex view of the world. There's a good culture clash element which is not over-egged. There's also a feeling of melancholy to the story: the Hundred is an open-minded, tolerant land which has to become harder and more regimented to fight the invaders and in the process loses something of itself.

The worldbuilding is excellent - the Hundred is not another European medieval fantasyscape but an original creation drawing on many sources - and the characterisation is fairly strong. The pacing is a little off: for almost three-quarters of the length of the novel it honestly feels like there is no way of defeating the enemy and most of the time is spent on less-important character arcs, and suddenly everything spins on a dime. It is done reasonably convincingly, but certainly the ending feels a little abrupt. However, the ending is also deliciously messy. Allies suddenly find themselves at odds and what seems like deliverance could be (and we don't find out for certain) enslavement under a different name.

Traitors' Gate (****) concludes an accomplished fantasy trilogy with intelligence and complexity. Elliott has crafted an interesting world here and it'll be interesting to see what happens there next. The novel is available now in the UK and USA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Is there more to come?, 6 Mar 2011
By 
Mrs. L. Satchell (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've just finished reading this trilogy. I enjoyed the writing and the intrigue and the development of the characters. It was an exciting read all the way through. However in the last couple of chapters the writing style changed, it was as though someome else had written them. It seemed a little odd to me and the series didn't seem finished. Are there more to come? I hope so as it seems unfinished to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Anti-Climax, 7 Dec 2009
By 
Darren Egan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After reading and enjoying the first two books in the Trilogy I was very excited about the final book. Unfortunately I found it quite a let-down - the story progressed reasonably well, but the ending was very disappointing - lots of loose ends and no real conclusion.
I can only assume that the intention is for a fourth book in the "Trilogy".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good enough read., 14 Sep 2009
I really enjoyed the first two novels in this series, but thought that the third book was a bit of a let down, whilst I get the whole nature v nurture thing and the different aspects of why the various people joined the army or not, I just felt that the ending was a bit rushed and just didn't feel right to me, it was almost an anticlimax if you will.

I am a big fan of Kate Elliot, but think this book could've been done a lot better, maybe the way she left the final novel is that there will be a follow on? Who knows, if you have read the first two, then obviously, do read this book, but if you haven't read any of the other two, then I would recommend spending you money on something else. Overall this trilogy wasn't as good as her first novels. Disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Serious contender, 14 Sep 2009
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The third novel in the Crossroads series by Kate Elliot is one that will make readers sit up and pay attention as it centres around personal growth in the Nature Vs Nurture battle. Packed with epic action sequences backed up with a firm understanding of the principle protagonist and you really do have something that is a bit special. Whilst I've not always been the biggest fan of Kate's writing this one really does give the best of the author in such a way that the fantasy world is going to have to pay some serious attention. This could be a serious award contender. That said however, don't even think of embarking on this novel without having read the previous two as you won't get the full impact that this book deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book poor ending, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traitors' Gate: Book Three of Crossroads (Kindle Edition)
loved the story linle but had a very unsatisfactory ending felt left up in the air needed a better conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
really enjoyed this book, a very good read, could not put it down, ended to quickly, as I read a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Crossroads series, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traitors' Gate: Book Three of Crossroads (Kindle Edition)
Great book, I read it twice, but so disappointed that it is the final book. Oh no, I want more!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth reading, 13 April 2013
This review is from: Traitors' Gate: Book Three of Crossroads (Kindle Edition)
This book was enjoyable and I became involved in the stories of the main characters wondering what else would befall them. It ended far too quickly for me and left many threads unresolved in my opinion so I hope the story continues elsewhere in another book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews