Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "League" series book 2, 19 Nov 2009
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
CI Syn, the son of the most notorious criminal who ever lived is definitely tainted by his deceased father's ruthless and violent reputation. Imprisoned at the age of 10 despite his innocence (well he's bound to turn out like dear old dad) Syn's childhood rivals that of Nykyrian's (the hero from book 1 "Born of Night") for brutality and betrayal.

Syn is not one to trust anyone, and certainly never intends to fall in love, yet that's exactly what he does when he meets Shahara Dagan, the most skilled Tracer in existence; a woman determined to bring Syn to justice (ironically for a crime he didn't commit). Shahara in turn finds it equally difficult to trust due to an event in her own past, and is certainly determined to imprison Syn until she worms her way beneath his tough exterior and discovers the hero that lurks behind his deadly reputation. Of course, she too finds herself falling in love, aware she risks destroying the fragile relationship blooming between them with the biggest act of betrayal Syn will face.

Unlike book 1 which is action packed all the way, ""Born of Fire" stalls in places, slowly setting the scene before the next piece of explosive action takes place as Syn and Shahara are discovered by their enemies and fight their way through a variety of confrontations. On a more positive note, whilst I had issues with the constant crying of Kiara (the heroine from book 1), Shahara is the complete opposite. Not only can she out shoot and out fight the most notorious criminal in the known universe (Syn of course) she has no problems diving into a fight and causing maximum bodily damage to those that threaten the people she loves.

As I prefer a strong feisty heroine, I found "Born of Fire" far more entertaining than "Born of Night" despite the former lacking the constant action found in book 1. That said, when the action scenes take place in this book, they are explosive, clever and hang on to the edge of your seat moments. There is also the SK humour I enjoy in "Born of Fire" which is predominantly absent in book 1, namely in the form of Vik (a smart mouthed AI robot built by Syn in his childhood) and Shahara's attempts to learn what CI is an abbreviation of. As usual with this author, although the passionate moments between Syn and Shahara are somewhat infrequent, they are certainly as hot as expected from SK.

The "League" series is proving a great futuristic romance series, and given SK's popularity it is no surprise that these earlier books are now hitting the book shelves for the second time (over 10 years since they were originally published). Unfortunately I have already read book 3 "Born of Ice" (previously published as "Paradise City") and am somewhat envious of fans who anticipate the re-release of this book in December 09.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic!, 6 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been reading the reviews of the first book in this series born of night/fire/ice and was shocked to see someone thought her writing was quote "BORING". Is that reviewer sure he was reading the same book as everyone else?. Well SK does not dissapoint, yes her famous DH serious is amazing but so is this series in a different sort of way. If you are a huge paranormal romance fan you will like this for the heated love connections between the leasing charectors. having said that, even though aliens aren't exactly paranormal (vamps,faeries,gods etc) aliens in this strange series are very paranormal ish.
She has created a world combined with out of this world assasins, save attempts, protection plots.

This particular book, 2nd in the series is about Syn, Nykyrians best friend,in book one Syn goes missing, we find out why he goes missing, where he is going etc .. syn is captured by a bounty hunter who is a firm believer of justic. put through his paces, learns to trust and then gets shattered and saved, it's romantic, weepy, strong, even though the coupling is few and far between (bit dissapointed here), it's a very feel good futuristic book. dont let that put you off, im not an alien type person but really loved this as the focus was more on cahrectors and plots than the aliens themselves!. great reading!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book review, 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have found this series of the league to be that good that I have neglected all household chores while I read them!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVED IT!, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born of Fire: The League Series: Book 2 (Kindle Edition)
This was my favourite of the three League Books. Syn and Shay are fantastic, and I was captivated the whole way through. I never wanted to put this book down and was sad to see it end. A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born of Fire: The League Series: Book 2 (Kindle Edition)
Great story and great characters. I literally demolished it in a day! Time to read the next one I think!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE THE LEAGUE SERIES, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born of Fire: The League Series: Book 2 (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this 2nd in the League series books. Am currently working my way through the series and have thoroughly enjoyed each one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Different, heart breaking and absolutely brilliant, 30 May 2013
This review is from: Born of Fire: The League Series: Book 2 (Kindle Edition)
I read this book before i read born of night, and it worked fine as a stand alone. As an avid reader of anything remotely romantic, paranormal or dystopian I cannot recommend this book enough. It is amazing!
The characters are both wounded souls, Syn especially and yet this book is far from a pity party romance. Instead the characters unwillingness to love makes the book fly by, with your own desperation to see them overcome their differences. As a male lead Syn manages to be sexy, smart, heroic and an idiot all at the same time, if thats not what you're looking for then i don't know what is. complimenting him perfectly the female lead is dominant and bad ass and entirely humbled by Syn and his wicked ways.
There is not an overload of sex in this book, and the sex that is there is written in is worth the wait and well written (typical of Kenyon). In fact one of the best things about this book is that the plot element is not compromised for the romance or vice versa, instead the the two elements are even and equally exciting.
Its nice to see the book is a decent size as well, which sometimes dissapiontes me about Kenyon's dark hunter series, in fact the size works well, with the pages flying by, in a whirlwind of romance and action that is sure to leave you wanting more, but also takes more than an hour to read. A really great all round winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars born of fury the league series sherrilyn kenyon, 8 April 2013
By 
Ms. P. Porter "tauruslady" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born of Fire: The League Series: Book 2 (Kindle Edition)
fantastic book by sherrilyn kenyon. i dont know how she keeps putting out such great books, but i love them. And these league books, are really amazing . cant wait to read more. im now on born of ice. and cant put it down. they are so hot. and full of fighting , with great story lines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Continuation, 29 Jan 2012
By 
Tali (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born of Fire: The League Series: Book 2 (Kindle Edition)
I had doubts about this series, first because of their original publishing hiccups, second because of the general genre (romance and sci-fi don't usually combine on my bookshelf)and finally because of the very mixed reviews ranging from awful to excellent. But as with all doubts, the only way to be sure is to take a leap into the unknown and hope you come out unscathed the other side. In this case, the risk was well worth it.

This is the second book of the series and be aware that there are two versions. The original which has a change of character names and by far a lot less detail, and the most recent version which has been edited and had detail added back in to fit into the league series as it was first intended. If you are new to the series be sure to buy the latest publication.

So this follows Syn, who was a side character in the previous book, and the newly introduced character Shahara. Shahara is a tracer and takes on a contract to capture Syn, preferably alive, only she finds that doing so is just a little harder than she really expected. I won't say much more than that as there are several synopsis' available which will do a better job than me of outlining the story.

I really did enjoy this book and found it a mild form of torture to put it down when mundane daily tasks interrupted. Given the chance I would have quite happily devoured it from cover to cover. Syn's character, which already had a fair bit of padding out in the previous book (considering he was only a side character then), is thoroughly explored and expanded in this book. Its hard not to like him despite how callous he can be at times. Shahara was also a nicely rounded character, hot-headed at times and capable but at the same time she has a naivety and vulnerability which draws you in and makes her feel all the more real.

The combination of these two characters alone proved interesting all by itself, add in the back-story for both characters along with the ongoing plot-line and you've got a real winner. As others have pointed out, this book is not as fast paced as its predecessor, but it is by no means dull or slow either. It is paced nicely and allows room for breathing between heavy action scenes.

Excellent book, rivals the first easily - it's rather hard to say for sure which I prefer of the two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Born of Fire, 9 Nov 2011
What can I say, this is a great book just like all Sherrilyn Kenyon's books, once I started it I could not put it down. The characters seem to come to life. Sherrilyn's writing is descriptive, funny and captivating. The fight scenes are so well written that you can almost see it in your minds eye. The sex scenes are very graphic but they are written is such a way that they are not offensive. After reading most of her other Dark Hunter novels the characters seem like friends that you can relate to. When you start reading you really do not want to put the book down, you want to know what is going to happen. I have stayed up many a night just to finish one of her books and then feel sad that I have come to the end and cannot wait to start on the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Born of Fire: The League Series: Book 2
£5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews