Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DAVID BOWIE LIVE,SUPERB SET FROM GREAT TOUR
Saw this tour a few days after this set was recorded in Dublin.I was at the NEC Birmingham.This was in every way one of the best gigs I've ever been to,DB absolutely on top form.Got the DVD of this show when out came out a while back now,but always hoped it would come out on CD with the edited songs put back in.Well they are and this is very much a greatest hits live,he...
Published on 18 Feb 2010 by P. Clack

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's an average release with cheap packaging but nothing more
Unfortunately this isn't a fantastic release by any means, a double cd of the reality dvd from a while back which to be honest should have been released with that dvd as a special edition or side by side with it at least so leaving it this long is a bit strange but there you go.
Content wise this is pretty much the same setlist as the dvd with 3 bonus tracks, Fall...
Published on 26 Jan 2010 by The Lost Golfer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DAVID BOWIE LIVE,SUPERB SET FROM GREAT TOUR, 18 Feb 2010
By 
P. Clack "pete" (WITNEY, OXFORDSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Reality Tour (Audio CD)
Saw this tour a few days after this set was recorded in Dublin.I was at the NEC Birmingham.This was in every way one of the best gigs I've ever been to,DB absolutely on top form.Got the DVD of this show when out came out a while back now,but always hoped it would come out on CD with the edited songs put back in.Well they are and this is very much a greatest hits live,he has with him one of the best bands he's had and the whole double disc set is pure Bowie gold throughout.Adding the excellent Gerry Leonard on guitar was a masterstroke addition to an already superbly balanced band Bowie had.The added tracks such as a personal DB favourite of mine,'Old Dogs Bomb The Moon' as well as 'China Girl' complete this super set.Over two hours of classics and tracks from the then current album 'Reality' certainly one of DB's best.If your a Bowie fan you'll have to have this,if not yet get this and hear just how fantastic he is live.David Bowie is an all time rock legend,one of the most consistent and original artists,and live one of the greatest there,s ever been,he enjoys it he resonds so well with his audience.This all comes through here and thats for me what makes it a must have release,played I'm sure for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb live album, 23 Dec 2009
By 
S. Fuller - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Reality Tour (Audio CD)
Yes this is money for old rope for us Bowie die-hards, but I'm sure gonna end up listening to this on my ipod a hell of a lot more than the DVD.

There is no denying the music on offer here. Bowie's voice is rich and seemingly fully recovered after quitting smoking at the start of the decade. His band ranks up there with one of his best with each track perfectly judged and represented. Bowie shied away from performing his greatest hits in the ninties as he felt it detracted from the work he was doing at the time. He later confessed he didn't have the confidence in his new work. With the creative return to form of "Heathen" and "Reality" under his belt, Bowie here mixes old and new effortlessly. Each one a certified classic.

If you don't own the DVD, you NEED this album. If you do own the DVD, you don't have to buy it, but that's no reason to mark down a masterclass in live performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome genious..., 21 Feb 2010
By 
C. Whyatt "Music Lover" (Wargrave, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Reality Tour (Audio CD)
Loved the DVD (Bowie at his absolute best) and naturally the CD is the same. Great song selection, great performances, great band (especialy Gail, Mike and Campbell) and a truly great singer at the top of his game. David - we miss you, come back and do it again please?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bowie at his usual best, 19 Aug 2010
By 
This review is from: A Reality Tour (Audio CD)
being a huge bowie fan for many years I bought this cd as soon as it was released and i was not let down, great live show, need to listen to the accoustic version of loving the alien,i thought the original version was great but this is """AWESOME, it makes the hair stand up on the back of your neck, like bowie mentions in his preceding comments "this is how it perhaps should have originaly been done" i agree, not saying the original is not good, because it is, but this version is spot on in my opinion. can't stop playing it, if you don't have this cd in your collection buy it now, you won't be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Thin White Duke, 27 May 2010
By 
Howard M. W. Young (Birmingham , Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reality/A Reality Tour (Audio CD)
The Reality Album is a mixed bag that doesnt jump straight at you but rewards the repeat listener.I have struggled with aspects of his work since mid 80's prior to which my passion for him was approaching mania !!! This IS worth the effort ! Enjoy!

The DVD has a fine line up of songs and musicians and ,whilst the visuals arent that stretched outside the formulaic 'live' stage views, it really is a superb mix across his best work.I never got 'Under Pressure' as anything other than a gimmick duo until this blistering rendition and 'Ashes to Ashes' simply shone even amongst all the diamonds on display!

Majestic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible live performance, 12 Feb 2010
By 
John Basham - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Reality Tour (Audio CD)
One of my all-time favourite concert DVDs and a great choice for CD release IMO. The band are something else and if this turns out to be Bowie's last major tour then it's to be celebrated that he ended that phase of his career on such a majestic high.

The only advantage of the DVD is you get to see how beautiful Gail Ann Dorsey is!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bowie's Pension Fund is a fine listen, 27 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Reality Tour (Audio CD)
With Bowie in a virtual retirement - and who can blame him - the thin great white duke, or whatever guise he has entered now - has become what he never previously entertained, a retrospective, a nostalgia show. This - his umpteenth reissue of recent years, plugs the alleged gap in his oeuvre with yet another concert album. (Hot on the heels of "Santa Monica `72" and "VH1 Storytellers").

"A Reality Tour" is the audio document of his final tour. In its bluntest form, it's nothing more and nothing less than an audio port of the DVD of the same with three extra songs appended at the end. And since (aside from a rudderless 80's) Bowie never truly went through a fallow period, it's an artistically valid - albeit belated and baffling - release that seems motivated largely by a desire to keep the Bowie Gravy Train rolling than anything else.

By 2003, Bowie, having reached his late fifties, had reclined into the elder statesmen role - the final phase of his career being a leather jacketed, lean old man, thankfully avoiding the clichés of Growing Old Disgracefully. Whilst there were areas he brushed over, such as 1987's "Never Let Me Down", he seemed a man at peace with his body of work and appreciative of many parts of it.

Thus, dispensing with the acrid taste of nostalgia, Bowie covers all bases of his career from an opening "Rebel, Rebel"(with a little too much cowbell) to the final "Reality" (represented by five songs.. five songs more than most artists play from their latest album on tour these days). And whilst popular conception is that Bowie was on the wane at the end of his career, this is nonsense. He was one of the few of that generation (alongside Pink Floyd, and not much else) that remained consistently alert and alive.

So... the Bowie Pension Fund motive aside, "A Reality Tour" is a worthy and valid live package, containing 32 songs from Bowie's final concert run, and whilst it seems that he may be, to all intents and purposes, dormant now - and who can blame him? - this is proof that to the end, Bowie was, at all points, both moving himself to new places, and moving us to a different place with him. Reality is often underwhelming and disappointing : not Bowie's Reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My kind of Reality, 6 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Reality Tour (Audio CD)
Us Bowie fans will already own the 'A Reality Tour' DVD, so we are aware of what an absolutely cracking tracklist it's got. Soon we will be able to own it on this double CD as well - I can't wait!

With an eclectic tracklist to die for featuring a selection of songs from 'Reality' and 'Heathen', plus a trawl through his vast legendary back catalogue, that features not only many of his well known classics but also some unexpected and very welcome quirks, such as: 'Sister Midnight', 'Be My Wife', 'Fantastic Voyage', 'Battle For Britain' and 'The Motel', plus three bonus tracks, makes this live set of 33 songs a desirable purchase for many (but apparently not all) Bowie fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars And for the big finish... China Girl?, 5 Jun 2011
This review is from: A Reality Tour (Audio CD)
Yes, as several others have noted, it's essentially the DVD but for your iPod. However, that's no bad thing, as Bowie's performance is superb (as, indeed, is everyone else; this is no farewell cash-in tour). There are very minor differences, though; the banter between songs is sometimes different from that on the DVD, and Bowie's now ironic promise to return to Dublin for another show has wisely been excised.

Musically, almost all of Bowie's career is represented; *Black Tie White Noise* is a notable exception, although I think that "Jump They Say" would have fitted in rather well alongside the Dalek jazz of "Battle for Britain (The Letter)", the live version of which makes you realise what *Earthling* was meant to be about. Other highlights include the opening account of "Rebel Rebel", a stripped down "Loving the Alien", a brilliant "All the Young Dudes" (although it sounds as if Bowie's about to "race to Canterbury" in the final verse), and "Ashes to Ashes." "The Motel" is also splendid, as is Bowie's introduction; you can hear him realising that his initial jokey intro (commenting that the song was rehearsed in Dublin) is probably a bit too light for such a sombre piece, and rapidly toning it down.

However, it loses a star for a couple of reasons. The first is that the middle of the first disc sags a bit; I simply don't find songs like "Fame" or "Cactus" that interesting, and the performance here doesn't convince me otherwise. Likewise, I'd rather have the cryptic "Red Money" than what we get here, the unsubtle Oedipal fantasy of "Sister Midnight." Secondly, the sound design is not as good as it could be. There are often audible shifts in tone when editing between songs, and "New Killer Star" is nearly ruined by a very muddy mix where there seem to be four guitars squealing at once and at the same volume. Finally, however, and most unforgivable, is what they've done with the bonus tracks. Rather than either integrating these into the set where they belong, or else separating them entirely from the main show, what actually happens is a horrible compromise whereby they've been tacked onto the end as part of a continuous encore. Frankly, it's rubbish; there's barely enough time to appreciate the big finish of "Ziggy Stardust" before the show goes on with... um, "Fall Dog Bombs the Moon." The live shows offered three fantastic climaxes with "Heroes," "Heathen (The Rays)" and "Ziggy"; for the CD to add a fourth ending with "China Girl" ("China Girl"! I ask you) is simply ridiculous. It's as if they'd released another version of *Blade Runner* which ends with Harrison Ford singing "Birds Eye Potato Waffles, they're waffly versatile."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's an average release with cheap packaging but nothing more, 26 Jan 2010
This review is from: A Reality Tour (Audio CD)
Unfortunately this isn't a fantastic release by any means, a double cd of the reality dvd from a while back which to be honest should have been released with that dvd as a special edition or side by side with it at least so leaving it this long is a bit strange but there you go.
Content wise this is pretty much the same setlist as the dvd with 3 bonus tracks, Fall dog bombs the moon from the reality album,breaking glass from low and china girl from let's dance, and with 33 tracks it's good value for money.
Sound wise this is good, unlike the live storytellers cd which sounded very compressed this does sound very clear and powerful with a nice warm sound and is very enjoyable to listen to.
Bowie is on top form as usual with some lovely vocals, and although this is not as great sounding as other live shows bowie has done it's still great.
Trouble is it's difficult to get excited about something that i indirectly already have (albeit on dvd) and huge bowie fan i am this feels a bit of a cash in but that's my opinion.
One thing that does let this down is the terrible packaging of this set, both cds are just stuffed in the cardboard sleeve and are very difficult to remove without scratching the discs, cd2 was a nightmare to remove and so be warned the package is cheap and cheerful.
So Yes it's an ok release, and one i was always gonna buy anyway because i am a huge fan, but considering indirectly it's been released already and the fact it has cheap and nasty packaging which could easily scratch the cds unfortunately it's a 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Reality Tour
A Reality Tour by David Bowie (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews