Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More mesmerising music from the Malian masters., 19 Feb 2010
By 
Jazzrook (Purbrook , Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ali Farka Toure & Toumani Diabate (Audio CD)
Malian blues guitarist Ali Farka Toure and kora master Toumani Diabate are in inspired form on this follow-up to their Grammy award-winning 2005 collaboration 'In The Heart Of The Moon'. 'Ali & Toumani', produced by Nick Gold was recorded at London's Livingston studios during the same year and also features the subtle Cuban bassist Orlando 'Cachaito' Lopez.
The bluesy, mesmerising music on this magnificent recording is a fitting memorial to the late Malian guitarist and should be a strong contender for 'World Music' album of 2010.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The final album., 21 Feb 2010
By 
S. C. Liston "scott" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ali Farka Toure & Toumani Diabate (Audio CD)
Although neither musician is a stranger to recording, there is a specialness to this album, which goes far past any concepts of production.Ali and Toumai uite in this recording in a way suggestng they knew it was to be Ali's final cut. Every track exhibits a unity and harmony which is rare in anyfield of music. For me, not a single track disappoints or is mundane. The specialness of the whole album is something I have rarely found anywhere else in my collection.
For this reason I have had to 'put pen to paper' for the first time here. If this fails to collect World Music Album 2010, then truly, there is no justice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Believe the hype, 7 Mar 2010
This review is from: Ali Farka Toure & Toumani Diabate (Audio CD)
Do you really need another Ali Farka Toure CD?
Do you really need more kora from Toumani?
And you've probably already got their first CD together......
I was unsure whether to bother with this latest release but I'm so glad I got it.
It is simply incredibly. Two musicians completely confident with their cultures and abilities. The result is laid back, seamless fusion of different styles.
The tracks are almost totally just kora, acoustic guitar and a little bit of vocals here and there. There is a smattering of extra bass, percussion and backing vocals on a few tracks.
Outstanding - made me revisit and listen with more care to both artists previous releases. A wonderful tribute to Ali Farka Toure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nick Gold and the team do it again, 27 Mar 2010
By 
M. C. Gowar "martingowar" (London, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ali Farka Toure & Toumani Diabate (Audio CD)
The success of this album derives not only from from the honest & selfless playing of Ali and Toumani but from the other musicians and technical boys at Livingston studios in London, to create a truly memorable musical experience.
I cannot praise this music enough. As in the previous album 'In the Heart of the Moon', recorded a year earlier in Mali, Nick Gold has the late Orlando 'Cachaito' Lopez (of Bueno Vista Club fame) on double bass, providing subtle bass lines to support Ali's rhythmic patterns. Ali's son Vieux and his musicians sit in to give a fuller sound on a few tracks, pretty much as Ry Cooder did on the earlier album, but here it is more successful - sounding quite natural and giving a little variety to the overall sound.
Each track has been carefully recorded and mastered, with much thought given to multi-tracking, to fill out and expand the overall effect. The kora is by nature an extremely quiet instrument, so balancing its sound to other instruments is always problematic. That Nick Gold and his team have done it again so brilliantly is a credit to them, but as always, credit should go first and foremost to two of Africa's greatest musicians : Toumani Diabaté and the late Ali Farka Touré. An inspirational, valedictory album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ali and Toumani - Forever united in music., 26 Feb 2010
By 
J. D. Naylor "jazzfan" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ali Farka Toure & Toumani Diabate (Audio CD)
Being an ardant jazz fan I rarely ever get the chance to listen to this kind of music but what a great album this is.
The combination of Kora and acoustic guitar, along with it's two world renowned exponents,make this a beautiful and uplifting album.The tunes are all very simple and,of course are African influenced, but once the two musicians start to interweave harmonies the music takes on a whole different quality.The Kora comes across as the more dominant instrument but both men play equally important parts in making this music.It's sensual beauty will relax you at the end of a hard day - just sit back and let two great musician weave their way into your subconcious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the most beautiful music...., 26 Mar 2010
By 
Declan Barry (Carlisle.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ali Farka Toure & Toumani Diabate (Audio CD)
Simple as that....

Treat yourself, whether or not you are a fan,and enjoy the beauty created by 2 sublimely talented musicians playing together and 'knowing' that one was soon to die.

Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ali and Toumani - just wonderful, 26 Mar 2010
By 
T. Brown (South Coast UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ali Farka Toure & Toumani Diabate (Audio CD)
I have always been an admirer of Ali's and this last album is even better than In the Heart of the Moon - itself a Grammy winner. If you liked that - you'll love this. If you've never heard Ali Farke Toure's magical guitar playing or Toumani's Malian harp playing, these albums are a must for your collection of soothing, haunting, enchanting African music. Go buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The last of the desert blues, 22 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. R. C. Brockbank "Badger" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ali Farka Toure & Toumani Diabate (Audio CD)
The last of the outstanding collaboration between two masters of their fields. The delayed but hugely welcomed recording of one of Ali farka Toures last duos with Toumani diabate before his untimely death 2 years ago.

This sublime recording combines the effortless interplay of kora and guitar, between two modest geniuses of modern yet classic forms of song, some folk other from the Sunjata epic form which straddles the culture of Toumani and the spacial playing form of Ali farka Toure's so called desert blues.

Voice features sparingly and yet the instrumental sound is both lyrical and harmonic. Both heart breaking and heart warming sometimes combined in one piece.

Ali Farka died shortly after, and Toumani speaks on the sleeve notes of not being sure who was supposed to have died first, but here is a permanent testament to both friendship and love of expression.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating, 28 April 2010
By 
Nick Pal (Nottinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ali Farka Toure & Toumani Diabate (Audio CD)
When i first played this it was an amazing experience. The music seemed to wrap around my mind, so much so that I had to stop it before the end. You could almost use it for meditation, as in a soft and subtle way, it seems to alter the local reality. What a special CD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great farewell, 22 April 2010
By 
Mr. Pj Martin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ali Farka Toure & Toumani Diabate (Audio CD)
An album different in tone and complementary to the wonderful earlier album by these two musicians. Infinitely listenable without ever being bland. Beautiful and serene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ali Farka Toure & Toumani Diabate
Ali Farka Toure & Toumani Diabate by Ali Farka Toure (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews