Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Notorious Landlady
It is rare that you can say you love a film as much on seeing it on DVD as you did when you originally saw it at the cinema, particularly when the original showing was in 1962.

But, in the case of Notorious Landlady, that was the case. Kim Novak is as beautiful, Jack Lemmon as funny and, even if the stars themselves expressed themselves puzzled as to the story,...
Published on 16 Mar 2010 by John Frank Bennett

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant enough
It's nice to see films like this being made available on DVD. Not a great film by any means but certainly a reasonably amusing one and interesting if only for the stars involved. Jack Lemmon was in his comic prime before he began to take himself too seriously; Kim Novak was at her sultry best (her scene in the bath is the one image that stayed with me over the years);...
Published on 5 Aug 2011 by Cowboy Buddha


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant enough, 5 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Notorious Landlady [DVD] (DVD)
It's nice to see films like this being made available on DVD. Not a great film by any means but certainly a reasonably amusing one and interesting if only for the stars involved. Jack Lemmon was in his comic prime before he began to take himself too seriously; Kim Novak was at her sultry best (her scene in the bath is the one image that stayed with me over the years); Fred Astaire is okay if somewhat miscast; and there is a stalwart British supporting cast with Lionel Jeffries being the obvious standout.

The film is a kind of comedy/mystery set in pre-Swinging Sixties London. Occasionally, the convoluted mystery gets in the way of the comedy but veteran director Richard Quine does his best to keep the proper balance. The script tends to be the weak link and I suspect there were more writers involved than the credited Larry Gelbart and Blake Edwards. In fact, I also suspect it was Edwards' contributions that produced the uneven nature of the script, especially the slapstick chase scene at the end which seems to belong to another film altogether.

Still, there is much to enjoy in The Notorious Landlady, especially for fans of Jack Lemmon and Kim Novak. It could have been better - it could have been a lot worse. I was quite glad to see it again after all these years and will probably be tempted to have another look at it from time to time.

One more thing: The DVD case says the film is in colour. It's not - it's in glorious black and white which suits the style and setting of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Notorious Landlady, 16 Mar 2010
This review is from: The Notorious Landlady [DVD] (DVD)
It is rare that you can say you love a film as much on seeing it on DVD as you did when you originally saw it at the cinema, particularly when the original showing was in 1962.

But, in the case of Notorious Landlady, that was the case. Kim Novak is as beautiful, Jack Lemmon as funny and, even if the stars themselves expressed themselves puzzled as to the story, it just doesn't matter.

This is a superb film, for many years forgotten and its appearance on DVD is a pleasure.

A brilliant film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Notorious Landlady [DVD] (DVD)
Disappointed with film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasic movie. A muslt watch, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Notorious Landlady [DVD] (DVD)
A comedy set in England with this quartet of leads - Jack Lemmon, Kim Novak, Fred Astaire, Lionel Jeffries - a London cab full of great character actors, crisp and fully-toned black and white photography and a script from Larry Gelbert and Blake Edwards could not have been more pleasant. Gershwin's "A Foggy Day in London Town," washed it in additional wonderfulness. The sequences near the end of the film at a seaside resort in Penzance is wickedly choreographed with actors, camera moves and scoring for big laughs to a live band shell performance of a Gilbert and Sullivan ditty. Everything is spot on, a classic comedy and a must watch.

Jack Lemmon is fantastic with his comical timings and Kim Novak is the defination of a classic and sexy lady... 10/10 from me :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit of fun, 3 Feb 2013
By 
verity (DEVON: U.K.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Notorious Landlady [DVD] (DVD)
two actors who bounce off each other. I think they enjoyed making this film. I certainly enjoyed watching it and will do so again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars happy hubby, 29 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Notorious Landlady [DVD] (DVD)
arrived in good time. cannot remark on content as this film is not my "cup of tea" however hubby is big Kim Novak fan so no problem
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware of false promise, 29 Mar 2011
By 
WSH (NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
Nobody wanting to score points of approval from Amazon customers would ever bother to write a negative review. It is an interesting study in human psychology how people will react -- vote -- if their impression of a film is contradicted but complacently pass over a review they agree with. I know I do it myself. So, why am I giving this one star? If I could, I would give it none: not to release some sort of irrational ill feeling towards the cast or producers, just to warn others that they risk wasting their money if they are thinking of purchasing this DVD. Oh, the print and sound are OK, it's the film that's rotten. How could Jack Lemon and Kim Novak make such a rotter? Actors need decent scripts (and this one is as uninspired as a paling fence). Films also need artful direction (and this one suffers from a truly leaden hand). The story takes forever to get going. Actually, it never does. The attempts at humour are of the most lame American/British "we-are-so-alike-yet-so different" variety that were dated well before they were put to celluloid for this production. Honestly, I just want to do a public service by giving you my opinion: this is a bad film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Notorious Landlady [DVD]
The Notorious Landlady [DVD] by Richard Quine (DVD - 2011)
4.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews