Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Governor and The Daddy.
The Admirable Crichton is an adaptation of J.M. Barrie's role reversal play, taking pot shots at the British class system and starring Kenneth More in the title role, it's something of a little treasure. Basically the plot sees Butler supreme Crichton become the governor of the desert island that he, and the toff family he serves, have been shipwrecked upon. The point...
Published on 21 Nov. 2011 by Spike Owen

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What About The Print Quality?
The title on the DVD box is "The Admirable Crichton" (i.e. the British title) but the films credits show it as "Paradise Lagoon" (the American title). The aspect ratio is not the original one of 1.96:1 but 3:4 and there is no restoration. The soundtrack, in its original mono, has a "tinny" compressed quality to it and although it is passable the conversion from the...
Published on 16 Aug. 2012 by B. Osler


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Governor and The Daddy., 21 Nov. 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Admirable Crichton, The [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
The Admirable Crichton is an adaptation of J.M. Barrie's role reversal play, taking pot shots at the British class system and starring Kenneth More in the title role, it's something of a little treasure. Basically the plot sees Butler supreme Crichton become the governor of the desert island that he, and the toff family he serves, have been shipwrecked upon. The point being that these rich toffs, tho basically good people, are ill equipped to fend for themselves in the cold hard world. Crichton of course is well prepared for this new life forced upon them. He can cook, swim, catch fish, even start a fire, which none of the rich folk are capable of doing! We are of course asked to suspend a modicum of disbelief, I mean there are four sexy babes on this island and all of them start to fancy Crichton! Yes it's that sort of film folks. But it's a real well told story that is acted with fine skill, particularly from More and the infectious Cecil Parker as Lord Loam, whilst red blooded men such as myself get the benefit of some rather pretty looking ladies, especially Sally Ann Howes as Lady Mary. The ending is never really in doubt, but you know what, in this type of picture I didn't want it any other way. Highly recommended escapism. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars American? No English. very English, 23 Nov. 2011
By 
A. Roberton "Alan Roberton" (Hinckley, Leicestershire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Admirable Crichton, The [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I love this film, one of my all time favourites. So why only fou stars???

I feel this is an American version as the titles at the beginning actually say the film is titled "Paradise Lagoon" and the opening sequence picture was not right. However once the film got going all was well.

Apart from the annoyance of the opening sequences, the film itself is wonderful. The story: A well to do family become shipwrecked in the south seas, miles off the usual trading routes and 'set up home' there. Over the two years they are all marooned on their island the butler, Mr Crichton (played superbly by Kenneth More) becomes the 'Gov' (Governor) and the family basically his servants. The original story was by Peter Pan writer, J M Barrie and in my opinion one of his better stories.

I would always give this film 5 stars, but for the first few minutes, I have to lose a star - shame, but at least it doesn't detract from an excellent film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What About The Print Quality?, 16 Aug. 2012
By 
B. Osler - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Admirable Crichton, The [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
The title on the DVD box is "The Admirable Crichton" (i.e. the British title) but the films credits show it as "Paradise Lagoon" (the American title). The aspect ratio is not the original one of 1.96:1 but 3:4 and there is no restoration. The soundtrack, in its original mono, has a "tinny" compressed quality to it and although it is passable the conversion from the original Westrex Mono Sound to the AC3 48KHz 192 Kbps Stereo soundtrack (2 x Mono) could have been better. I suspect that this DVD was made from an American broadcast quality tape rather than from an original film print. There are visual artefacts and blotches throughout although the colour balance is good but possibly a bit too vibrant. The only language is English and there are subtitles in English for the hard of hearing. At the cheap price I paid which was £4.63 I'm happy with my purchase although I would pay four times that price for a decent print in its correct aspect ratio and six times that price for a fully restored version.

[My original pre-purchase review follows...]
Again I come to Amazon to buy one of my favourite films on DVD. Great. It has been released on Region 2 DVD now and there are reviews from 25 people. Super... one of those people... just one, must have bothered to report on the actual product and not just the plot of the film.
Again I am disappointed. My God! 25 people all telling me a plot I already know and one that had I not known it I could have found out about at IMDB or a mutitude of other sites. It really is pathetic. People reading Amazon reviews want to know about the quality of the product. If it were an umbrella would one write "It's great! The moment I put it up, it kept the rain off me. I managed to walk from my house to the bus stop and hardly got wet at all." or "Well, when it rained very heavily I did notice that the bottom of my trousers got a bit damp but on the whole the way it worked was that it kept me dry by making a barrier between myself and the rain." No!
Good grief people. This is a DVD! Was the print quality good? Were there artefacts or scratches? How was the sound? I don't know why I bother... I really don't. 25 people and 25 sandwiches short of a picnic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A parody of Victorian attitudes, morales and the Class system, 19 April 2012
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Admirable Crichton, The [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
The movie is based on J M Barrie's (Peter Pan) story. When the movie was made, it was then about 70 years and two World Wars behind the times. After WW1, there was very little remaining of the old class system, domestic servants in middle-class households were few and even in the most aristocratic homes, the servants were far fewer than before. By the end of WW2, just about the last remaining remnants had been swept away for ever.

The story is about a family who, with their butler, take a summer cruise on their yacht only to have it run aground on rocks on a tropical island (isn't it always like that?). Of course, the only people with any practical experience of doing anything useful are the servants and the 'Mister' and his family wholly incapable. As the head of the below-stairs brigade, the butler Crichton, slowly assumes charge over the entire group and the role reversal in under way with the family bowing to his very reasonable wishes. Crichton, always correct, is never unreasonable or too demanding of his subjects.

The cover shows the obvious incongruity where very soon after coming ashore, Crichton is serving a meal in his evening dress, as he would at home, but he is in his bare feet. Naturally the family and he do not share accommodation, as it would not be 'correct'

Also, very naturally, Crichton, falls in love with the master's pretty daughter - all very reasonable, and quite as you would expect.

Needless to say, rescue is absolutely guaranteed, and sure enough eventually arrives. Things just have to return to the way they were, and Crichton falls back into his original role and his pretensions forgotten.

In essence, the whole thing is another Barrie fairy story, no more realistic than was Peter Pan.

Kenneth More was probably then at his height and this followed 'Reach For The Sky' which was arguably his best role. This is more of a romp. Sally Ann Howe, for whom this was probably the pinnacle of her career, just about disappeared from the screen after this. Martita Hunt, the formidable Lady Bracknell in 'The Importance of Being Earnest' made at about the same time, has a small role.

Not bad, but not entirely brilliant. Perhaps just a little dated for today's audiences, the younger of whom may miss the finer subtleties and the resultant humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Paradise Lost, 10 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Admirable Crichton, The [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I have wanted this DVD for years,great film.For some reason the US market have called is Paradise Lost or something like that & that's what you get when you play it..annoying.
But the film is as good as ever,whu it has never been released in the UK is beyond me,when you think of the rubbish that has been!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amusing and poignant film adaptation of the J.M. Barrie satire, 7 April 2011
By 
The CinemaScope Cat - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Admirable Crichton, The [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
In 1902, a yacht of British aristocrats and their two servants vacationing in the South Seas runs afoul of a storm and they must abandon ship. Eventually, they are marooned on an uninhabited desert island and it's the butler (Kenneth More) who has the ability and the fortitude to take over and save them from starvation. In the two years they are on the island, the class system is reversed with the butler the leader and aristocrats the workers. J.M. Barrie's satirical comedy of manners on the English class system is both amusing and poignant and director Lewis Gilbert (ALFIE) handles the balance artfully. What seems like a Utopia on the island is just another class system and when/if they are rescued, will they have learned anything or will they retreat to their established positions? The Bermuda locations are indeed a paradise and lovingly photographed by Wilkie Cooper (JASON AND THE ARGONAUTS). With Diane Cilento, Sally Ann Howes, Cecil Parker and Martita Hunt. Previously filmed in 1919 by Cecil B. DeMille under the title MALE AND FEMALE.

The Sony DVD via Great Britain is a tad on the soft side and full frame but very watchable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great all trime classic: Waiting for DVD!, 14 Jan. 2010
By 
C Richards "Graaf" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
All UK-star cast, classic all time keeper. Lots of imagination, intelligent dialogue, subtle twists and not the ending anyone was expecting. The kids will love the gadgets too!

I won't give away the plot, you'll enjoy discovering it yourselves!

Not very PC by today's standards, not to let that hold anyone back... I can see why the 2nd hand prices are so high though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars British cinema at its best from the 'Good Old Days', 17 Dec. 2014
By 
B. L. Potter "Trent Barton" (Cambridge, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Admirable Crichton, The [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
A film I had seen over 40 years ago, but nonetheless very enjoyable. British cinema at its best from the 'Good Old Days', but I did find it confusing when the opening titles showed the name of the film as 'Paradise Lagoon' !.
Why must the Americans retitle almost everything to suit them. What will they rename the novels of such as Charles Dickens ?.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Admirable Film, 19 May 2014
By 
J. Harvey (Oxford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Admirable Crichton, The [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
For some reason I love this old, old-fashioned film. It has a magical sense of satire running through it.
Every time it's on TV I've only joined half way through so I'd never seen the beginning. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonably admirable, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Admirable Crichton, The [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
This is a re-make of a stiry first filmed in the fifties. I liked the original better because it portrayed the inventiveness of the butler so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Admirable Crichton, The [DVD] [2010]
Admirable Crichton, The [DVD] [2010] by Lewis Gilbert (DVD - 2010)
£4.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews