Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (81)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


89 of 90 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Updated retrospective from Enya
'The Very Best Of Enya' really highlights the magnificent career of Enya, and is a great reminder of all the classic hits and memorable songs she has given us.

Naturally quite a few of the songs on this CD (in fact about half the CD) are similar to Enya's previous greatest hits package (Paint The Sky With Stars - 1997). It contains all the biggest hits from...
Published on 26 Oct 2009 by Mr. MusicMan

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Re-mixed for loudness - great for cars - bad for home listening
If you plan to listen to this CD on the bus or any noisy environment then this is a 5 star CD. The re-mix of the tracks is very highly compressed ( i.e. very little difference between loud sounds and quiet sounds ).

Playing in the car this is exactly what you need to overcome back ground noise.

However for me playing this at home in a quiet...
Published on 27 Dec 2011 by Paul W


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

89 of 90 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Updated retrospective from Enya, 26 Oct 2009
This review is from: The Very Best of Enya (Audio CD)
'The Very Best Of Enya' really highlights the magnificent career of Enya, and is a great reminder of all the classic hits and memorable songs she has given us.

Naturally quite a few of the songs on this CD (in fact about half the CD) are similar to Enya's previous greatest hits package (Paint The Sky With Stars - 1997). It contains all the biggest hits from that album, including many iconic numbers, such as 'Orinoco Flow (Sail Away)', 'Caribbean Blue', 'The Celts' and 'Anywhere Is'.

The rest of the album comprises her songs from 2000-2009. This is the first time these songs have been together on one disc - and so, this alone is a very good reason to buy this album. All of Enya's most popular UK singles from this era are here, including `Only Time`, `Amarantine`, `The Wild Child` and 'May It Be` from the Lord of the Rings soundtrack.

The CD also features one track that has never been available on any Enya album before, `Aniron (I Desire)`, also taken from the Lord of the Rings soundtrack.

Unfortunately charting singles like 'Evening Falls', 'How Do I Keep From Singing', 'On My Way Home', 'Only If' and 'It's In The Rain' are missing from this compilation, thus only 4 stars.

Please keep in mind that the CD track listing is different on the CD/DVD version.

I would still recommend `The Very Best Of Enya` to any music fan, as it is a clear explanation of why Enya is one of the most successful singers of all time. A true icon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The sound of the Ocean, 1 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Very Best of Enya (Audio CD)
If you've been thinking about listening to Enya, and if something about her voice and her music has been intriguing you, then this album is the perfect entrance to her music. Spanning music from three decades, and featuring most of Enya's best-known hits, just let this wash all over you.

Some tracks might not seem as strong as others to start with, but get into the album over time and you'll be impressed with the beauty of Enya's music in all of the songs. Very few musicians have made popular music sound anything like this, one obvious exception being Clannad.

To anyone looking for pure, chillout music to listen to, this is highly recommended. And for anyone under 25 reading this, don't worry about the fact that songs like 'Orinoco Flow' were recorded in the 80s - the music sounds as fresh and timeless today as it was back then.

Welcome to the sound of the Ocean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let's Sail Away, 22 Nov 2009
This review is from: The Very Best of Enya (Audio CD)
Some might question the purpose of this album, as there already is a perfectly adequate collection available ("Paint the Sky with Stars"), and countless of box-sets on the market. But this one updates her catalogue of hits and highlights, and it is an ideal introduction. Included are all of her biggest and most well-known hits. From the very first "Orinoco Flow" from 1987, to the grossly successful "Only Time" from 2001. In-between are some truly lovely songs, such as an previously unreleased (and extended) version of "Aníron", from "the Lord of the Rings: Fellowship of the Ring" movie. Also included is her Academy Award nominated "May It Be", also from the aforementioned movie. Other highlights are "Storms in Africa", "Caribbean Blue", 2005's "Amarantine" and the formidably beautiful "Watermark". As a hits collection goes, you cannot do any better than this one. A special edition is also available with a slightly diffrent track-list, and a DVD of music videos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 6 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: The Very Best of Enya (Audio CD)
I have always loved Enya and thought her music was out of this world. The unique melodies, lyrics and voice that Enya and the Ryans produce are just breathtaking. I cannot imagine anyone who wouldn't enjoy it.
This album really highlights Enya's most beautiful tracks. I definitely recommend it to anyone, especially if it's your first Enya album. Five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Artistic Musical Creations of Enya, 16 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Very Best of Enya (Audio CD)
The Very Best of Enya is a very strong compilation of musical melodies by Enya that showcase her unique blend of singing and harmonious musical melodies. I first heard of Enya back in 2001 when I heard the musical gem that is "Orinoco Flow" on one of the "Pure Moods" collections ("Orinoco Flow" is also available on the first "Pure Moods" collection). In addition, one of my friends from high school (who I miss and was one of my "spiritual sisters") listened to Enya and allowed me to hear what I think was Enya's Watermark cd. My then fiancee that I met in Japan (who luckily is now my husband) also introduced me to her (he also had the "Watermark" cd). I decided to purchase this cd when I found out online that Enya was releasing this greatest hits collection, and I am very happy that I did. In my humble opinion, all of these songs on this cd are great to listen to and relax to. My top two favorites are "Only If" and "Only Time". "Only If" is an upbeat musical track that appears to be about making the best of your life, and taking decisive action towards your dreams. "Only Time" is a great song about how only the concept of time is going to truly tell the way certain events in life are played out (metaphorical references are made towards the relationships and emotions arena). One of the most joyful ways to determine if you are going to enjoy this cd is if you like music of the following genres and artists: Enigma, Celtic music, and/or New Age music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great introduction to Enya, 31 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: The Very Best of Enya (Audio CD)
i've always liked Enya's music and allong with Kate Bush and Bjork to me she is one of the three most innovative and amazing female singers that i know of but until now i never bought an Enya album.
i know some fans have questioned the need for this album since she already has a greatest hits album but since then she's released three studio albums so it's a great opportunity for new fans of people who havn't bought an album (like me) to get an introduction to Enya.
the songs are fantastic and i have played it everyday since i got it at christmas and i'll be buying some of her studio albums soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An affordable Enya DVD at last, 28 Nov 2009
By 
Mr. A. Whiteside "tonyjackie3" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Very Best of Enya (Audio CD)
At first glance, this latest 'Greatest Hits' release from Enya might just seem to be a waste of time given the fact that 'Paint the Sky With Stars: The Best of Enya' was released a few years ago. There are some different tracks this time though but the real selling point of this package is that it also contains a DVD of most of Enya's finest work.

I am lucky enough to have a copy of 'Enya - The Enya Collection [DVD]' but that costs a small fortune now and is very hard to get hold of. As with that DVD, this latest collection contains thirteen DVDs and is exactly the same apart from two tracks being swapped. The older release has 'Exile' which is basically just extracts from the movie 'LA Story' and 'How Can I Keep From Singing?' but these are now missing and in their place we have 'Trains And Winter Rains' and 'It's In The Rain'. In my opinion these are better videos anyway so this makes it a worthwhile package.

Most Enya fans will have most of the tracks featured on the CD but it is the bonus of the DVD that will entice us to buy this and it really is worth shelling out the extra cash
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Album, 5 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Enya (Audio CD)
A friend introduced me to Enya I listened to this CD and went right out a bought it. If you like music to relax to and calm this is about a good as it gets, it's magical
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the artists that got me into classical and opera, 9 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Enya (Audio CD)
Can't go wrong with this albumn has all the hits, beautiful voice. Captures the mood
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Enya CD with all her top songs, 4 April 2010
By 
C. Kirkby (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Enya (Audio CD)
A lovely CD with all her famous songs on here. Very worth wile. A MUST IF YOU LOVE ENYA AND JUST WANT HER BEST SONGS ON A CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews