Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I remember when......
....I used to watch this on a Saturday morning. It was indeed as mad as a box of monkeys. This CD, although not mad in any way, is a really good compilation reflecting what was going on in the charts at the time when the programme was running. You get a bit of everything really, from The Specials to Chas and Dave. Dennis Waterman to Dr Feelgood. Duran Duran to Thin Lizzy...
Published on 16 April 2013 by DavyA

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Memories
Brought back memories of what child hood was like, an ideal present for the older children of today, I now have a dvd aswell
Published 17 months ago by Deborah Quick


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I remember when......, 16 April 2013
By 
DavyA (Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tiswas Album (Audio CD)
....I used to watch this on a Saturday morning. It was indeed as mad as a box of monkeys. This CD, although not mad in any way, is a really good compilation reflecting what was going on in the charts at the time when the programme was running. You get a bit of everything really, from The Specials to Chas and Dave. Dennis Waterman to Dr Feelgood. Duran Duran to Thin Lizzy. Bucks Fizz (no, really) to Cliff Richard (Wired For Sound ? You know you loved it....break out those roller skates and dig out that Walkman !) and XTC to Hot Chocolate (to name but a few).
That's alot of diversity in a 3 CD set (plus you also get the Bucket Of Water Song). So, although as I have already said, it's not mad, it has got bucket loads (sorry !) of nostalgia and some absolutely quality tunes and do you know what, CD 3 might have some songs on it which most if us thought were dodgy at the time, but now, I can admit to actually enjoying them - that's what time does to you(although The Wurzels might be a bit hardcore even for me)! Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is Saturday - Listen & Smile!, 11 July 2012
By 
Rob Blackmore (Staffordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tiswas Album (Audio CD)
For many 40 somethings like me, Tiswas was a foam filled, Saturday morning TV feast, where presenters Sally James (swoon) and Chris Tarrant, hosted an anarchic mix of cartoons, custard and music.

Music was a popular focus of Tiswas, with Sally James's 'Almost Legendary' pop interviews, and this three CD set, includes a selection of tunes by bands and artists featured in its eight year run from 1974 to 1982.

There's certainly plenty of variety here, including heavy metal and ska through to punk and synth pop.

It's amazing how many top artists, such as Adam Ant and Sheena Easton were sport enough to come on the show and get covered in all manner of muck!

As an earlier reviewer mentioned, the third CD is the weaker of the set, featuring more 'novelty' records such as 'The Wurzels' and 'Hot Gossip' (not together unfortunately!); although of course, it wouldn't be a Tiswas album without 'The Bucket of Water of Song'.

There's a bonus booklet featuring photos and memories from Sally James and Bob Carolgees, although surprisingly there's no contributions from Chris Tarrant.

For fifty tracks, it's good value and just the thing if you want to wallow in a little nostalgia.

This is what they want!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, shame about the 3rd CD., 16 Jun. 2010
By 
Jesamine (Angus, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Tiswas Album (Audio CD)
Mostly good, only CD 3 lets it down. a lot of tracks I don't care much for. the wee boy singing at the end is cute, but how does he feel about 30 years on?! Also, for some bizarre reason, my player didn't play track 2, though it plays on the other player/radio I have. It's a good job it's only Shaking Stevens, and not one I care much for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ... be on here along with more original songs - like Water Is Wonderful, 15 Feb. 2015
This review is from: The Tiswas Album (MP3 Download)
I really wanted the Tiswas theme to be on here along with more original songs - like Water Is Wonderful, as apart from the Bucket Of Water Song there is v little by Tiswas here, so its basically a late 70`s early 80`s compilation. I was on an very early episode of this , in the cage getting soaked. I don't think I`ll be pestered by too many autograph hunters these days. I still cannot stand the version of Bright Eyes, I wonder if the singer ever gets asked for his signature?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always Tiswas for me, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tiswas Album (Audio CD)
Being a Tiswas fan as opposed to swop shop this was always going to be special. All original tracks and worth it just for the Bright Eyes cover by young Matthew. Takes you back in time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All good, 30 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tiswas Album (Audio CD)
The CD was a present for someone. It arrived in time for the birthday and the recipient was happy! No problems at all with the service, would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings back happy meories of the late 1970s and early 1980s, 8 Dec. 2014
By 
Mark Calver (St Leonards-on-Sea, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tiswas Album (Audio CD)
WONDERFUL!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 22 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tiswas Album (Audio CD)
Brought back memories of what child hood was like, an ideal present for the older children of today, I now have a dvd aswell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Tiswas Album
The Tiswas Album by Various artists
Buy MP3 Album£10.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews