Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ready for this? Hell yeah!, 20 Dec. 2009
By 
Sam Woodward (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ready for This? (MP3 Download)
Tim Minchin is an amazing comedian & a great musician, who's finally getting the media attention he deserves. His act consists of stand-up interspersed with funny songs - this album is just the songs from a live show but still runs to an impressive 74 minutes. For his full routine, check out the So F**cking Rock LIVE! DVD.

A few of the songs on here feature in So F**cking Rock such as Canvas Bags & Dark Side but there's plenty of others as well. The music is always amazing & would make this a respectable album in itself, even without the funny lyrics. There's also a nice mix of fast numbers like Canvas Bags & The Good Book, sublime tracks like Storm; the vitriolic swearfest of The Song For Phil Daoust (a critic who slated Minchin in The Guardian, apparently) & the incredibly sweet & touching Christmas single White Wine In The Sun. Incidentally, there's plenty of swearing & some anti-religious material, which didn't bother me but some people may not like it.

I downloaded it about a week ago & have listened to it every day since - and it still makes me laugh out load. More! More!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This man is a guru!, 15 Jan. 2010
By 
P. Miller - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ready for This? (MP3 Download)
Given his heart on sleeve views on life, the universe and individuals questioning being part of religious clubs, Mr Minchin would probably not be comfortable with being referred as a guru. However, his modest personality combined with perfectly judged reasoning on a wide range of issues (religion, conflict, the environment, personal fallibility and religion again) makes for a funny, absorbing and thought provoking experience. I listened to this daily for 2 weeks. Still not tired of it. His DVD is also brilliant.

He is like no-one else. Ignore the lazy Bill Bailey and Eddie Izzard comparisons. Tim Minchin is unique. Very funny, very clever and with a huge future ahead of him. Although part of me would prefer it if he remained a cult interest to make my tastes look more interesting and discerning, this would be unfair to a wider audience who are going to adore him. He wants the world to be a better place and there is nothing wrong with that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tim Minchin Rocks!, 29 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ready for This? (MP3 Download)
really up to date comedy - realistic about today's problems and hopefully makes the somnambulists wake up and think about the issues he covers. Genius pianist that just adds another layer to the whole experience, if you've never heard of this guy - prepare to expand your mind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Aethiests Dream, 21 Jan. 2010
By 
Amazon Customer (North Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ready for This? (MP3 Download)
Came across Tim Minchin late when David Tennant played "White wine in the sun" on Desert Island Discs and I was so taken with the sentiment of the song that I downloaded the album......well what can I say other than the tag line of "confessions" (you'll get it when you hear it)...I have never come across someone who has the same views as me and can get them across in such a hilarious and eloquent way (even for an Australian!!). This album should not be played infront of you young children or lovers of "The good book" but what a genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!, 5 April 2010
By 
Ms. S. Morley (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ready for This? (MP3 Download)
I think this man is one of the funniest people in comedy! His lyrics and music combined is genius! As soon as i heard his music i became obsessed! I was just annoyed that amazon didnt stock his other two albums. I would recomend this to anyone with a good sence of humour and is ready for a laugh. Tim Minchin is wonderful at what he does and its a shame for anyone who doesnt get hear him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GET THIS NOW!, 3 Feb. 2010
By 
M. Wake "Fried Gold" (Essex, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ready for This? (MP3 Download)
If you're too tight to fork out for the DVD (or would rather have Tim in a more mobile format) then you need to get this NOW!!!!!

Tim Minchin is the best thing to happen to the world or comedy for a long time. Don't mistake him for Bill Bailey as he's a lot more gritty than Bill's insanity, but the wit on display is razor sharp. As a musical performance this is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PERFECTION!, 19 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ready for This? (MP3 Download)
I can't get enough of this guy, he is amazing. Funny and intelligent, and his songs are so catchy you will be singing them for days!
If you need a smile putting on your face try listening to the genius of Prejudice, and then have a sentimental moment with White Wine in the Sun, Brilliant!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 1 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Ready for This? (MP3 Download)
The DVD is superb so I just had to have the songs for my iTunes! Hilarious and intelligent, Tim Minchin is a genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 12 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Ready for This? (MP3 Download)
Listening to this it has become so obviously evident that Tim Minchin is a funny, clever and musically and comically talented guy! Some of his material may not suit everyone and could be accused of "sailing too close to the wind" but on the whole, I found Tim Minchin's Ready For This a great CD. My highlights include Prejudice - the first song of his that I heard and I became a great of his after that! - and I like Canvas Bags, his take on saving the world. If you get chance, I would recommend watching the DVD as it contains extra material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The man is a genius, 13 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Ready for This? (MP3 Download)
Tim Minchin is a brilliant comedian and an amazing musician. The only reason i give this 4 stars is because listening to him is just not as good as watching his show, but is still worth a purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ready for This?
Ready for This? by Tim Minchin
Buy MP3 Album£6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews