Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Janet IS The Best
The Best` really highlights the magnificent career of Janet Jackson, and is a great reminder of all the classic hits she has given us.

Disc 1 is similar to Janet`s previous greatest hits package (Design of a Deacde - 1995). It contains all of Janet`s singles from `Control` and `Rhythm Nation 1814` and the oh so popular duet with Luther Vandross (The Best Things...
Published on 22 Oct 2009 by m00npig

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The best Janet jackson
This was purchased as a present the receiver was most pleased to have it added to her collection and rated it as being good
Published 8 months ago by Ionie Walter-Thomas


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Janet IS The Best, 22 Oct 2009
This review is from: The Best (Audio CD)
The Best` really highlights the magnificent career of Janet Jackson, and is a great reminder of all the classic hits she has given us.

Disc 1 is similar to Janet`s previous greatest hits package (Design of a Deacde - 1995). It contains all of Janet`s singles from `Control` and `Rhythm Nation 1814` and the oh so popular duet with Luther Vandross (The Best Things in Life are Free). This disc includes many iconic numbers, such as Nasty, What Have You Done For Me Lately?, Nasty, Rhythm Nation and Black Cat. It also features `That`s the Way Love Goes` - one of Janet`s most successful singles, from her janet. album.

Disc 2 is a compilation of all her hits from 1993-2009. This is the first time these singles have been together on one disc - and so, this alone is a very good reason to buy this album. Some of Janet`s most popular UK singles are on disc 2, including `All For You`, `Runaway`, `Again`, `Whoops Now`, `Feedback` and the legendary `Together Again`.

The set also features one new track, `Make Me`, which is a throwback to the 80`s and is reminiscent of an early Janet or Michael (Jackson) dance number.

I would recommend `The Best` to any music fan, as it is a clear explanation of why Janet Jackson is one of the most successful singers of all time. A true icon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best?... Absolutely!, 26 Nov 2009
This review is from: The Best (Audio CD)
A fantastic double CD complilation that details Janets career from 1986 to today - it really shows the incredible talent that Janet has and in fact what staying power she has. Her last couple of studio albums have not performed well on the charts, which is a real shame as they have been amazing - especially Discipline which I urge any pop, dance or r'n'b fan to check out. But here are so many gems that is easy to see why see is one of the best selling artists of all time. What I particularly love is Janets often un-praised production and song writing abilities. literally most of the tracks on this album have been written and produced by Janet along with her collaborators. Go on girl... Miss Janet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Janet's first complete greatest hits collection, 20 Oct 2009
This review is from: The Best (Audio CD)
Finally we have a collection spanning all of Janet's career as her previous collection "Design Of A Decade" only centered around the Control and Rhythm Nation 1814 albums. All the biggest hits are here from What Have You Done For Me Lately (1986) to Feedback (2008) as well as the new song "Make Me". Unfortunately a handful of hits are missing like "You Want This", "Son Of A Gun", "Twenty Foreplay" and "Just A Little While". On the other hand we get songs where Janet Jackson was guest vocalist and that appear for the first time on a Janet album like "Diamonds" (Herb Alpert), "Scream" (Michael Jackson) and "What's It Gonna Be!?" (Busta Rhymes), as well as a rare (but unnecessary) remix of "When I Think Of You".

All in all a very good compilation capturing the essence of Janet Jackson's work from the last 23 years. Recommended to all serious JJ fans or anyone who doesn't own any of her previous work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Janet's chart comeback, 29 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best (Audio CD)
This is an compilation which features a two-decade of non-stop hits by Janet Jackson. The album is amazing, and features hits such as "All for You", "What Have You Done for Me Lately?", "That's the Way Love Goes", "Again", "If", "Together Again" and "Feedback", the later it was not a commercial success worldwide, specially in the United Kingdom, but that song is really good, and deserved to be on the "The Hits" album. I recommend you all to also buy "Discipline" (includes the singles "Feedback", "Luv" and "Rock Wit U"), which is one of the best albums of 2008, and so underrated by the general public.
The "best of" album concludes with Janet's new Club smash hit "Make Me", which is some kinda tribute to his brother Michael Jackson, as it includes Michael's "Don't Stop til' You Get Enough". It's an amazing pop song, and Janet's comeback to the charts. I admire her so much, she's amazing, and I highly recommend you to buy this album, it won't disappoint you at all!!
Happy New Year to everyone!! xoxo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost complete, 28 July 2012
By 
Can Ozdilek (Ankara, TURKEY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best (Audio CD)
It was really time to release such a career-spanning compilation. They should have released a follow-up compilation album back in 2007, including all the hits not included on "Design of a Decade" and after that, namely from 'If' up until 'So Excited'. But as they didn't, such a comprehensive collection collection is also welcomed by me.

But the bad is, as for all the compilation albums, it misses so many songs. Disc #1 is almost a chronological clon of "Design of a Decade" with the addition of 'Diamonds' and the exclusion of 'Twenty Foreplay'. If the "Design" edits of all the songs had been used, the disc would include three more songs. So, there would have been space left in the second disc for songs 'Son of a Gun', 'Just a Little While', and 'So Excited'.

The second disc contains hits from 'If' to 'Feedback' and also a new song called 'Make Me', which is quite good. If only this disc had included the aforementioned hits, making each disc full of 19 songs, then this would be a perfect summary of Janet's glorious career.

And maybe also a limited edition bonus disc containing other excluded songs such as 'Rock with U', 'With U', 'I Want You', 'Feel It Boy', 'Throb', 'Whoops Now', 'Every Time', 'You', 'Luv', and songs from her first two albums?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 29 Jan 2011
By 
djessie (Reykjavik, Iceland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best (Audio CD)
A fabulous overview of the career of Ms Jackson so far. The sound is fantastic on all the songs (except, oddly, the new one - "Make Me", which sounds a bit dubbed compared to the rest). Beautiful booklet. The tracklisting is pretty good, although I find it annoying where "Whoops Now" is placed. Also, that old remix of "When I Think Of You" should have been removed (along with "What's Gonna Be") and replaced with "So Excited" and "Rock With U". But that said, this is still a fantastic collection from one of the top female artists of all time. I would recommend her albums though - Janet is one of those artists that has a lot of hidden gems on her albums that were never released as singles. So if you like her dont stop here - treat yourself to the rest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 9 Dec 2009
By 
Marc Cosker (Swansea) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best (Audio CD)
She may be a Jackson but she has distinguished herself as a solo artist in her own right. Songwriter, producer, dancer. Enough said. Janet is a superstar. This collection shows her longetivity and amazing songs. Come on. This needs to be a bigger hit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Janet Jackson classics, 17 Feb 2013
This review is from: The Best (Audio CD)
"Janet Jackson Number Ones" is a greatest hits set that covers 16 different hits on her first cd and 18 songs on her second cd. Many of the songs on both cds are musically delightful, but the following songs are among my favorites from this compilation due to the musical experimentation: "Escapade","Black Cat", "If", and "Runaway". "Janet Jackson Number Ones" is a strong greatest hits selection for those who like at least five Janet Jackson songs and/or greatest hits containing elements of musical experimentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the songs you need!, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best (Audio CD)
all the songs on one album . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars janet at her best, 19 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best (Audio CD)
The Best janet at her best, lots of great tracks, some we all know and love and just a few we dont. this is a great 2 cd set and i recomend any one to have this...........................enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews