Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
10
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.59

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

If you like the musicality of Paramore but are looking for something a little heavier; but not quite the wall of noise that Evanescence sometimes becomes, then Elysion could be just the band for you. They're Greek but you'd never know it, no bouzoukis or Nana Mouskouri vocals here in fact they sound like a very competent American rock band. The music is tight and they are fronted by a lady whose vocals soar over the muisc without ever having to scream. One review I read criticised them for repetive lyrics but excuse me isn't that what rock music is about, resounding beat, good riffs, loud guitars and words you can sing along to in the car? If you want clever lyrics then you'll find Dire Straits have moved to the easy listening section. If you want some good solid rock music with an impressive female lead singer then try this.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2013
Elysion make a great entrance with this their first album , the tracks are superb and if your like me and into LACUNA COIL and the delectable voice of christina scabbia then you"ll love it as the vocals are very very similar , although theres also hint of Lzzy Hale (HALESTORM )in there as well .
ELYSION are truely a band to keep an eye on and support, as talent this good is a rare thing , so if your a coiler get a copy of silent scream and give it a whirl ,
all i can say is i hope their the support act for the next COIL gig i go to, their that good !!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2011
There's been a gradual uprise in female fronted gothic bands over the last decade, many following the same musical idea, ultimately failing to create anything new.

Here we have Elysion with thier debut album. It's all very familiar at first glance, but give this album a couple of listens and it's uniqueness soon comes through.

The vocals are solid and mesh fantastically with the music. The music is very dark, but catchy enough to warrant further listening. For a debut effort, this is promising stuff. This is the band Serenia could have been.

Whilst not quite as good as Evanescence or Within Temptation's latest material, Elysion have had a fantastic start to thier career and could potentially gain a big following. Fans of the above should really enjoy this album.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2013
'Silent Scream' has been criticised for not bringing anything new to the genre, for repetitive lyrics, for whatever. But really, I can't understand why.
This band is incredibly stylish: while some new symphonic metal bands just copy existing music in the genre, Elysion has a strikingly individual style. This album is dark, but not depressing - Elysion use 'dark' as their style, meaning brooding, menacing, stylish, electronic, with a lot of cool-blue sounds and powerful, memorable melodies. There's a variety of subject matter, even with a mixture of moods (for example, 'Dreamer' is an inspiring anthem for those who dream, 'The Rules' is about breaking free and breaking rules when you've been held down, and 'Walk Away' is about being strong enough to turn and walk away from fights), though Elysion writes about all of them with their signature style of passionate but elegant menace.
The instrumentals and the voice are both flawless and perfectly balanced, with a really strong female vocalist whose voice carries all the emotion and attitude of the songs.
A tremendous album, perfect for fans of Evanescence, Delain, Unsun, Xandria and Nemesea.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2012
Love this so much, listened to the short intro's and was hooked. I have listened to other female vocalists in a rock music setting and they can become a little too heavy. This is a fantastic blend, a wonderful voice the songs I want to hear again and satisfies my love of rock. Perfect! Will look out for Elysion in future.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2014
This album has everything that I like - amazing female vocals, talented musicians, no growls, and not a ballad in sight! I think Elysion would appeal to a wide range of musical tastes. Definitely worth a listen!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2012
If you like Delain or Within Temptation then this will be right up your street. Good vocals combined with polished musical performance make this a very listenable album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
I have wanted this Album ever since I first heard it, and to say it is BRILLIANT is an understatement! Assuming of course, you like the Metal Genre :) The only gripe I have, which is not actually a gripe, is that the track "Never Forever" is just too short!! If you like Metal, this is a MUST HAVE.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2014
a really great album a mix of rock and pop lifts your mood try this album even if your not into rock i think you will enjoy it like me
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2010
Supposedly founded in 2006 but I can only find this recent release-are there any previous albums because this is excellent & haven't stopped listening to it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)