Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic A-side, B-sides are less than superb
As a Hardcore Monkeys fan, I had to get this single to complete my collection. And it was the right choice because the A-side is worth the entry price alone. It has a catchy tune and retains the same high-quality song-writing of all their previously released songs. It even tells an amusing story, something that a very few songs do. Sadly, the B-sides on this album aren't...
Published on 23 Aug 2006 by A. Bryan

versus
1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good song
i may be a bit harsh but its not their best but still worth getting. is it just me or are they doing a bit of money grabbing by not putting it on the album or EP? because theres no way its from a new album. still buy it if buying singles is your thing.
Published on 8 Sep 2006 by C. Devine


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic A-side, B-sides are less than superb, 23 Aug 2006
By 
A. Bryan (Tunbridge Wells, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a Hardcore Monkeys fan, I had to get this single to complete my collection. And it was the right choice because the A-side is worth the entry price alone. It has a catchy tune and retains the same high-quality song-writing of all their previously released songs. It even tells an amusing story, something that a very few songs do. Sadly, the B-sides on this album aren't quite as good as other Monkeys songs, even the B-sides on the other singles. The problem is, they are both covers by other bands. Put Your Dukes Up, John originally by The Little Flames is a VERY average song in the first place. The lyrics aren't amazing and it doesn't suit the style of AMs either. The second B-side, Baby, I'm Yours is a cover of the Barabara Lewis song. It's a collaboration with the 747s, a band the Monkeys met when working in a London studio. (The 747s are amazing if you ever get around to listening to them.) The song is an amazing cover with a superb harmony, but it just isn't Arctic Monkeys. It would have been better as a 747 B-side with Arctic Monkeys listed as the collaborators.

Overall, the single is a must-buy for any Arctic Monkeys fan, but if you're not an avid collector, just wait until the inevitable "Whatever You Say I Am, That's What I'm Not: Special Edition" which will have the single on. Don't let my misgivings about the B-sides put you off however, they are still good listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant album by a brilliant band. I highly recommend it to any Arctic Monkeys fan, or just anyone in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Leave Before The Lights Come On!!! xxxxxx, 31 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Only bought single for 1.01 !!!!!! The packaging cost more :( !!!!! CD contains 3 songs - Leave Before The Lights Come On, Put Your Dukes Up John, Baby I'm Yours. All songs are brilliently sung by the brillient Alex Turner!! xxxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 21 May 2007
By 
G. L. Williams "simplygregguk" (South West England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the first song to be made by the monkeys since their debut album and it is a cracker!

This should have been on the album and is fantastic live.

The B-sides are not as good but still worth a few listens. Buy this for the title track alone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REALLY SUPER DOOPER, YEH!, 22 Aug 2006
By 
WILL Barber "WILL" (ENGLAND CANTERBURY) - See all my reviews
After releasing a great album, hailed by critics as the best debut since "Definitely Maybe". Two terrific no1 singles, and "who the f**k are arctic monkeys" an EP which saw an interesting change in direction for the band, it was as if the nations new favourite group could do no wrong!

This single strengthens my belief that the Arctic Monkeys are the best band to come out of England since Britpop died! The new single "Leave Before The Lights Come On" is a lyrically brilliant, poignant, sometimes moving song, about meeting someone one night who you then regret ever meeting the morning after. The second song "Put Your Dukes up John" is interesting, and the final song "Baby I'm Yours" took me by surprise most of all, a song which sounds as if it could have jumped off an old 50s record. I recommend this single strongly to anyone who enjoys listening to the arctic monkeys, in fact anyone who likes music buy this single as you will be doing you're self a favour, I assure you. BRING ON ALBUM NUMBER 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool song, 23 Aug 2006
this is a good song. not quite as good as the ones on the album but good none the less. i bought it mostly for the b-sides which are very good. BUY IT NOW!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good song, 8 Sep 2006
By 
C. Devine - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i may be a bit harsh but its not their best but still worth getting. is it just me or are they doing a bit of money grabbing by not putting it on the album or EP? because theres no way its from a new album. still buy it if buying singles is your thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews