Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A top 5 hit, and an awesome cover of a '60s classic
As an avid Arctic Monkeys fan, I collect just about anything by them anyway, but this single is well worth having to all lovers of good music. 'Leave Before The Lights Come On' was the first song released after the debut album, a top 5 hit, and a cracking tune. As it's never appeared on any of their albums, this CD is a must.

As great as this song is, this is...
Published 18 days ago by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good song
i may be a bit harsh but its not their best but still worth getting. is it just me or are they doing a bit of money grabbing by not putting it on the album or EP? because theres no way its from a new album. still buy it if buying singles is your thing.
Published on 8 Sept. 2006 by C. Devine


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A top 5 hit, and an awesome cover of a '60s classic, 17 April 2015
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
As an avid Arctic Monkeys fan, I collect just about anything by them anyway, but this single is well worth having to all lovers of good music. 'Leave Before The Lights Come On' was the first song released after the debut album, a top 5 hit, and a cracking tune. As it's never appeared on any of their albums, this CD is a must.

As great as this song is, this is the Arctic Monkeys we're talking about, so chances are the B sides were also going to worth a listen, and they are. The cover of an old '60s R+B hit 'Baby I'm Yours', was not an obvious song for these guys to sing, but it works. This tender track is perfect for Alex's gorgeous vocals and showcases the group's versatility. If any band deserved to be compared to The Beatles - surely it must be the Arctics. The other song, 'Put Your Dukes Up John', another cover, is much more in the style of what we'd associate with these guys, but although I do like it, it's the weakest track of the three.

Housed in a cardboard sleeve, 'Leave Before The Lights Come On' is classic Arctic Monkeys, and the 'Baby I'm Yours' track is equally worthwhile. Buy this single, it belongs next to the studio albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb single - essential track and two very worthy others., 31 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Got this because I had the vinyl single some years back, which contained two of the songs on this... all three were not included on their brilliant debut album. The 'title' track is a very favourite AM track and I HAD to have it again.

Baby I'm Yours is a track that I couldn't get my head round at first. LOL "Is this their new direction?" I thought at the time! Well... not really, but it's a nice version and works well - if it's meant to be tongue-in-cheek then it doesn't at all to me. Or maybe I'm looking for a hidden meaning that's not there? ;) The 'extra' on here - Put Your Dukes Up, John is of usual high standard though maybe doesn't reach the heights of 'Leave' or the tracks on their debut album.

If you're a fan, you need this but one word of warning; this came in a cardboard sleeve that is quite difficult to get the disc in and out without finger contact on the shiny surface! So maybe for occasions like this, it would be best to leave the disc out and pop it into a clear plastic sleeve instead - these you can get in bulk for very cheap and save some headaches. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic B-sides. Definitely Arctic Monkeys at their best, 27 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I could listen to this single all day. If your an Arctic Monkeys this is a must have. This disc wasn't scratched and it arrived quickly. Fantastic B-sides. Definitely Arctic Monkeys at their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic A-side, B-sides are less than superb, 23 Aug. 2006
By 
A. Bryan (Tunbridge Wells, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a Hardcore Monkeys fan, I had to get this single to complete my collection. And it was the right choice because the A-side is worth the entry price alone. It has a catchy tune and retains the same high-quality song-writing of all their previously released songs. It even tells an amusing story, something that a very few songs do. Sadly, the B-sides on this album aren't quite as good as other Monkeys songs, even the B-sides on the other singles. The problem is, they are both covers by other bands. Put Your Dukes Up, John originally by The Little Flames is a VERY average song in the first place. The lyrics aren't amazing and it doesn't suit the style of AMs either. The second B-side, Baby, I'm Yours is a cover of the Barabara Lewis song. It's a collaboration with the 747s, a band the Monkeys met when working in a London studio. (The 747s are amazing if you ever get around to listening to them.) The song is an amazing cover with a superb harmony, but it just isn't Arctic Monkeys. It would have been better as a 747 B-side with Arctic Monkeys listed as the collaborators.

Overall, the single is a must-buy for any Arctic Monkeys fan, but if you're not an avid collector, just wait until the inevitable "Whatever You Say I Am, That's What I'm Not: Special Edition" which will have the single on. Don't let my misgivings about the B-sides put you off however, they are still good listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just what I was expecting, well packaged product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 21 May 2007
By 
G. L. Williams "simplygregguk" (South West England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the first song to be made by the monkeys since their debut album and it is a cracker!

This should have been on the album and is fantastic live.

The B-sides are not as good but still worth a few listens. Buy this for the title track alone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leave Before The Lights Come On!!! xxxxxx, 31 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Only bought single for £1.01 !!!!!! The packaging cost more :( !!!!! CD contains 3 songs - Leave Before The Lights Come On, Put Your Dukes Up John, Baby I'm Yours. All songs are brilliently sung by the brillient Alex Turner!! xxxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 29 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant album by a brilliant band. I highly recommend it to any Arctic Monkeys fan, or just anyone in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good product. Delivery without any problems. Can't ask for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REALLY SUPER DOOPER, YEH!, 22 Aug. 2006
By 
WILL Barber "WILL" (ENGLAND CANTERBURY) - See all my reviews
After releasing a great album, hailed by critics as the best debut since "Definitely Maybe". Two terrific no1 singles, and "who the f**k are arctic monkeys" an EP which saw an interesting change in direction for the band, it was as if the nations new favourite group could do no wrong!

This single strengthens my belief that the Arctic Monkeys are the best band to come out of England since Britpop died! The new single "Leave Before The Lights Come On" is a lyrically brilliant, poignant, sometimes moving song, about meeting someone one night who you then regret ever meeting the morning after. The second song "Put Your Dukes up John" is interesting, and the final song "Baby I'm Yours" took me by surprise most of all, a song which sounds as if it could have jumped off an old 50s record. I recommend this single strongly to anyone who enjoys listening to the arctic monkeys, in fact anyone who likes music buy this single as you will be doing you're self a favour, I assure you. BRING ON ALBUM NUMBER 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Leave Before The Lights Come On
Buy MP3 Album£2.07
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews