Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


118 of 123 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A smorgasbord of common sense
There are many good science writers presenting us with challenging and informative material. Paraphrasing Newton's famous disclaimer, however, Richard Dawkins seems to stand on the shoulders of the rest. This collection of essays rebutting the miasma of Romantic Era complaints about science is more timely now than when first published. The myth that science curtails -...
Published on 9 Oct 2006 by Stephen A. Haines

versus
44 of 56 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A worthy goal... unfulfilled
Dawkins tends to set up a dialectic in his books - its always science versus religion and if I had to choose a side I would be on the former whole heartedly which I feel I should make clear first of all.
The idea of this book is to show that there is more wonder in the reality of science than there is in mysticism and delusion. I believe in that wholeheartedly as do...
Published on 6 Jun 2004 by M. Wilkinson


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

118 of 123 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A smorgasbord of common sense, 9 Oct 2006
By 
Stephen A. Haines (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
There are many good science writers presenting us with challenging and informative material. Paraphrasing Newton's famous disclaimer, however, Richard Dawkins seems to stand on the shoulders of the rest. This collection of essays rebutting the miasma of Romantic Era complaints about science is more timely now than when first published. The myth that science curtails - instead of enlarging - our sense of wonder, still persists. A Keats' poem, the inspiration of this title, typifies not only the world of poetry and prose writing, but also our dominant religions, our educational curricula and even, as he points out devastatingly, our favourite entertainments. Dawkins, in this superbly crafted collection of essays, refutes the Romantics and their legacy. He ably demonstrates how science enhances our knowledge, our values and our sense of being.

Dawkins cites Thomas Huxley's ["Darwin's Bulldog"] assessment of science as "organised common sense" as but a first step in explaining what science reveals. Expanding on Huxley, the American Lewis Wolpert, argues that Nature is full of surprises and paradoxes. A glass of water may contain a molecule of Shakespeare's last cup of tea. Our credulity at seemingly inexplicable coincidences, our "gasps of awe" at the tricks "psychics" and other charlatans play on us, and our adherence to the teachings of "mystics" and other mountebanks may lie in the habits developed when we lived on the savannah. Dawkins urges us to recognise that science, unlike religion or quack medicine, does not aim to deceive us. Quite the reverse. Science, in stripping away mythologies, reveals new forms of stunning beauty.

It may seem paradoxical that Nature's wonders can be explained through barcodes, but Dawkins manages it with his usual panache. In this case, he demonstrates how the familiar stripes on commercial products have natural equivalents. "Barcodes in the Stars" are the analytical tools known as Fraunhofer lines which impart so much information about those distant nuclear furnaces. Many experiments we cannot stage on this planet are taking place within distant stellar globes. The forces, temperatures and atomic reactions exceed anything we can duplicate, but the "barcodes" are precise records of these events. These "barcodes" are the result of Newton's early discovery of sunshine being "unwoven" into a spectrum. We've also learned how the elements making up our bodies come from those pinpricks in the darkness.

Part of Dawkins' role as a conveyor of "Public Understanding of Science" is the contending with mis-applications and abuses of science. Dawkins has long campaigned against the "hijacking" of science to confuse and distract the public from what science really does. He's firmly set against the notion that "science destroys beauty", but he's equally adamant against "bad poetry of science". He's rightfully scornful of Teilhard de Chardin's fumbling mysticism of early in the last century. Anyone thinking the Jesuit's approach is "ancient history" need only glance at some of the recent submissions on these pages. A more advanced, if less innocuous thesis, according to Dawkins, is the transmutation of James Lovelock's Gaia concept by "New Age" advocates. Dawkins concedes the Gaia concept is appealing in that it grants all life validity. Destruction of habitats and ecosystems is appallingly wasteful. However, he argues, until we abandon "wishy-washy" views of how species interact, we will never approach the solutions to our exterminations of life realistically.

There are solid reasons for advocating this as the best of Dawkins' efforts. He addresses many issues of deep concern to us all. Is there a solution to the destruction of the environment by our species? How does life truly operate and must we all tramp back to university to learn its arcane mechanisms? What do we truly know about our world and the universe it occupies? More important to many, will learning what makes up the rainbow remove our feeling of its beauty? While it's tempting to answer those questions here, it's far better for you to pick up this book and derive the answers yourself. You won't be disappointed by what you read. [stephen a. haines - Ottawa, Canada]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The poetry of Nature, 20 Nov 2002
By 
Amazon Customer "Bones" (Newcastle-on-Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Not many people have the gift of taking some common event and deconstructing it to the nth degree, while making it all seem quite normal. As in his other books (Blind Watchmaker, Climbing Mount Improbable, etc.) Mr. Dawkins makes your mind boggle at the way nature use very simple (?) building blocks to fashion something extraordinary ... like us. You are set back on your heels when you realise that your body is largely composed of modified bacteria, without which we could not exist. He goes on to expound on how we see and from there how our brain interprets the world, comparing it to Virtual Reality (no comparison!) - anyone who has experienced any form of VR will understand the immense computing power it takes to present even a half-decent rendition, but the brain does this continuously AND has time to dream, imagine, remember past events and places all in real-time - I doubt if enough teraflops of computer power exist in the world even now to do that.
The main thrust of the book is the poetry of science; how, by understanding more about the way the universe works, we can appreciate the wonder of it all the better - open our minds to something more beautiful than just the outward appearance of a beautiful object - even make us see the beauty in some not-so-pleasant sights!
In this book he uses well thought-out, easy-to-grasp concepts to explode myths, de-bunk charlatans, and de-mystify magic - all with the intention of opening our minds to the concept of evolution (specifically Darwinism). He takes us from rainbows to barcodes to DNA in easy stages, explaining in graphic (but never tedious) detail just how nature can (and will) evolve all its wonders.
Sometimes I had to put the book on one side just to let the enormity of it all sink in. I still find it hard to grasp the vastness of time it required for nature to accomplish all that it has - yes, I can imagine a thousand years; a million? ... I'm struggling now; a billion? ... overload!
But that's what you need to do to come to grips with the evolutionary process. I suspect it's this lack of comprehension / imagination that is behind the beliefs of many Creationists, or maybe a refusal to accept that evolution can happen without some 'intervention'.
Having laid myself open to attack, I can only recommend that you read what Mr. Dawkins has to say and make up your own mind who has the right of it. *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not his best, but does it's job, 29 Jan 2009
This is a strong and lucid book, although it is nowhere near Dawkins' best work. It covers a wide range of topics and is useful for the layperson.

Dawkins is obviously not a physicist, but he does not pretend to be. That said, there is a noticeable differnce when he is writing about topics of physics. He is less prosaic, most likely due to a lesser confidence in this area of science.

Perhaps the most important thing to say about this book is that it contains one of the best opening paragraphs in recent literary history. It is extremely powerful, insightful and moving and has become a staple of Dawkins' live readings. I would recommend this book for that alone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written, full of wonderment and curiosity, 21 April 2011
By 
Geoff Mather (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Discovering THIS Richard Dawkins is like finding gold. For those who read his books AFTER reading The God Delusion it must be something of a surprise to find that Scientific Wonder is his real strength (particularly Evolutionary Biology of course). He really is at his best when he sticks to science (much as I enjoyed his foray into religion - I knew that Christianity/Islam were Iron Age myths anyway).

This book takes us, the reader, by the hand and leads us through a veritable gallery of wonders, questioning asides, and tales of individual endeavour, all recounted with clear-headed wit and sagacity.

If I hear another Christian say that "Dawkins thinks Life is Empty" - I will scream! The sheer joy, excitement and fulfilment that are obvious in his writings - they knock "faith" out of the ballpark, really. Evidenced Truth wins hands-down over religion every time - even when it comes to Joy. So Keats did get it wrong when he accused science of trying to "unweave the rainbow". Science writing like this brings the rainbow into the realm of Understanding - but that only enhances its beauty.

I heartily recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read it!, 31 Dec 1998
By A Customer
It's sad that it needs saying today that science can be fascinating and enriching, and indeed no one without a basic understanding of how scientists think and the basic material they think about can count themselves cultured. Dawkins says it in this book, and demonstrates it through a wide survey of many areas of modern science. Unlike many science writers, Dawkins understands and often contributes to the topics of which he writes - this gives his writing an authority usually lacking from "popular science" writing. On the way, he takes a few sideswipes at his "betes noires" such as religion and the anti-science movement - his message is that a scientific world view is an essential part of our culture because, despite its problems and failures, science works better than any other approach we have found. Read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweetness and Light, 20 Jan 1999
By A Customer
If, like me, you've ever thought science too cold and clever and have been secretly glad that other people also don't trouble to understand it, this book will unfold as such an exhilarating shock. Science is magnificent!
It can show you how to think - and clearly too - in ways you'd never imagine and disarm you in moments when you least expect it. This is not the laboratory, this is life.
And Mr Dawkins' passion for it is thoroughly infectious, because sincere. He writes effortlessly and is irresistibly stylish. For his poetry there is no other name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Science as an Aesthetic Experience, 4 Jun 2011
By 
Andy (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Richard Dawkins demonstrates that the aesthetic appeal of the natural world is not diminished by actually understanding it. So, the rainbow is a delight to behold, as is the physics that explains it.

Purveyors of mysticism, astrology and similar pseudo-science receive their inevitable approbrium. This isn't over-emphasised, although personally, I find that thinking about such nonsense to be somewhat of a trial.

The chapters are largely independent, and can be read in any order. Many fields of science are covered, with a bias towards his own field. Short extracts from poetry are introduced at regular intervals - he's obviously a devotee - which many will enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A smorgasbord of common sense, 28 April 2005
By 
Stephen A. Haines (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
There are many good science writers presenting us with challenging ideas and informative material. Paraphrasing Newton's famous disclaimer, however, Richard Dawkins seems to stand on the shoulders of the rest. This collection of essays rebutting the miasma of Romantic Era complaints about science is more timely now than when first published. The myth that science curtails - instead of enlarging - our sense of wonder, still persists. A Keats' poem, the inspiration of this title, typifies not only the world of poetry and prose writing, but also our dominant religions, our educational curricula and even, as he points out devastatingly, our favourite entertainments. Dawkins, in this superbly crafted collection of essays, refutes the Romantics and their legacy. He ably demonstrates how science enhances our knowledge, our values and our sense of being.
Dawkins cites Thomas Huxley's ["Darwin's Bulldog"] assessment of science as "organised common sense" as but a first step in explaining what science reveals. Expanding on Huxley, the American Lewis Wolpert, argues that Nature is full of surprises and paradoxes. A glass of water may contain a molecule of Shakespeare's last cup of tea. Our credulity at seemingly inexplicable coincidences, our "gasps of awe" at the tricks "psychics" and other charlatans play on us, and our adherence to the teachings of "mystics" and other mountebanks may lie in the habits developed when we lived on the savannah. Dawkins urges us to recognise that science, unlike religion or quack medicine, does not aim to deceive us. Quite the reverse. Science, in stripping away mythologies, reveals new forms of stunning beauty.
It may seem paradoxical that Nature's wonders can be explained through barcodes, but Dawkins manages it with his usual panache. In this case, he demonstrates how the familiar stripes on commercial products have natural equivalents. "Barcodes in the Stars" are the analytical tools known as Fraunhofer lines which impart so much information about those distant nuclear furnaces. Many experiments we cannot stage on this planet are taking place within distant stellar globes. The forces, temperatures and atomic reactions exceed anything we can duplicate, but the "barcodes" are precise records of these events. These "barcodes" are the result of Newton's early discovery of sunshine being "unwoven" into a spectrum. We've also learned how the elements making up our bodies come from those pinpricks in the darkness.
Part of Dawkins' role as a conveyor of "Public Understanding of Science" is the contending with mis-applications and abuses of science. Dawkins has long campaigned against the "hijacking" of science to confuse and distract the public from what science really does. He's firmly set against the notion that "science destroys beauty", but he's equally adamant against "bad poetry of science". He's rightfully scornful of Teilhard de Chardin's fumbling mysticism of early in the last century. Anyone thinking the Jesuit's approach is "ancient history" need only glance at some of the recent submissions on these pages. A more advanced, if less innocuous thesis, according to Dawkins, is the transmutation of James Lovelock's Gaia concept by "New Age" advocates. Dawkins concedes the Gaia concept is appealing in that it grants all life validity. Destruction of habitats and ecosystems is appallingly wasteful. However, he argues, until we abandon "wishy-washy" views of how species interact, we will never approach the solutions to our exterminations of life realistically.
There are solid reasons for advocating this as the best of Dawkins' efforts. He addresses many issues of deep concern to us all. Is there a solution to the destruction of the environment by our species? How does life truly operate and must we all tramp back to university to learn its arcane mechanisms? What do we truly know about our world and the universe it occupies? More important to many, will learning what makes up the rainbow remove our feeling of its beauty? While it's tempting to answer those questions here, it's far better for you to pick up this book and derive the answers yourself. You won't be disappointed by what you read. [stephen a. haines - Ottawa, Canada]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read the God Delusion? Now read this one!, 3 Dec 2008
This book is a good choice for anyone who has read The God Delusion and is interested in reading more by Dawkins. Written a few years prior to TGD, it remains up-to-date (arguably more relevant than ever) and may serve as a useful bridge for anyone eventually looking to delve into Dawkins' more scientific titles.

Critics of Dawkins often like to portray him as arrogant, hectoring (or that other old chestnut: 'shrill') and overly absorbed with the cold clinical application of the scientific method. On the contrary, Dawkins comes across as genial, honorable and good-natured, and this book - essentially a non-religious celebration of life and the scientific method - displays his warmth and humanity in bucketloads as it reveals how a greater understanding of science enlarges - rather than diminishes - our sense of wonder.

Truly enlightening, beautifully written and highly recommended - especially to his detractors!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fun read with a good world view, 12 Dec 2012
A well written book that shows how beautiful reality actually is, just in case you needed reminding but especially if you never realised. The book is designed to show you just how much more pleasing it can be to hear a truth than to hear a lie; in a sense the book could be the basis for a truly objective view of aesthetics. Dawkins seeks to dispel the myth that truth and science (as a process of achieving truth) are cold and uninteresting; he also explains why this myth can be so damaging especially in light of the fact that this myth is so obviously false.

The first chapter `The Anaesthetic of Familiarity' shows us how and why it is so easy for us to miss the beauty of things around us: Sometimes it is because we fail to really look at things which we see constantly everyday in this respect science can help us; a tree which we pass everyday may become so boring that we don't even look at it anymore (which is sad when you think about it) science offers us the chance to look at that tree as if for the first time. Suddenly a whole new world is opened up to us, the enchanting process of photosynthesis (a fascinating process which has huge potential applications for us if we can master it), the diversity of creatures living on or in the tree, the stunning view of a leaf under a microscope. Science helps us to become even closer to nature.

Chapter 5 `Barcodes in the Stars' Takes us to the science of a rainbow, knowledge that when understood serves to increase the beauty and awe inspired by the sight, it really does make your mind reel with the magnificence of it all; for proof of this you must read this chapter and embrace the barcode.

`Hoodwinked with Fairy Fancy' shows the danger of poor poetical representation of science and the ease with which it can be abused, as Dawkins notes; astrology books sell more than astronomy books, which is a sad and depressing state of affairs.

This book is well worth a read and the world would be a better place if more people thought like this. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unweaving The Rainbow :
Unweaving The Rainbow : by Richard Dawkins (Hardcover - 2009)
Used & New from: £14.90
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews