Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars51
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.73+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 February 2011
American Dad! is one of those shows that just keeps getting better. The show got off to a rocky start in its first series, definitely being born into its older brother Family Guy's shadow, but since then it has slowly turned into its own show, with its own style of comedy.

Now, here we are with Season 5, and I'm glad this show made it out of the early season danger zone, where animated shows always seem to be canceled. And this set has some of the best parts of the series yet. If you liked the previous seasons, then this should do the trick nicely. If you haven't seen them yet, buy them first, and see if you want to continue.

Overall, this show is not perfect. There are some little irritating character aspects, and they often have trouble filling the episode with a good B plot (although this is something that is brilliantly referenced), but at this stage, I feel that it has surpassed Family Guy in quality and now stands out on its own as one of the better current animated shows.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2010
If you like Family Guy, you should like this.It's created by the same guy but i find this funnier and cleverer and they don't seem to feel the need to refer to crude humour as much, which appeals to me.
While i think Family Guy has gone downhill, this is at least as good if not better than it was in the first 2 seasons which were the best so far, imo, although seasons 3 and 4 were good too.... Great characters, especially Roger the alien, Stan, Francine, Steve, and Stan's boss, Bullock (excellently voiced by Patrick Stewart)...... Yes the plots are sometimes a bit daft and don't always make much sense and the goldfish, Klaus, and Stan and Francine's annoyingly left wing daughter, Hayley, are a bit boring and humourless (they are the dead wood of the show,imo) but the other characters are so funny it really doesn't matter.
Quality animated entertainment.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2010
American Dad, like Family Guy, is a series with a 'marmite' sense of humour - if you watch one episode and like it then chances are you'll LOVE the series. The 5th series is better than ever and even on repeat viewings will continue to make you smile!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2010
I have always loved US cartoon shows, I.e simpsons/futurama/american dad

And they are always full with loads of laughts and great episodes, They never get old and they are always fresh in my mind, They could make 500 series and I would still love watching it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2010
Where family guy seems to be fading a bit these days in my opinion american dad just goes from strength to strength. My copy arrived in the post today and watched a good chunk of it already. People are going to quibble its not season 5, it isn't. Its volume 5, and the artwork is different to that advertised by amazon, but it states on the package it is volume five, but dont let that get in the way of a really enjoyable dvd. 14 episodes on 3 discs. Its great stuff. Enjoy
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2010
Without a doubt this is now the best animation comedy show on televison, surpassing south park and the simpsons by far and even family guy. The show is hallarious, every episode makes you laugh. American dad is amazing, watch it. Roger is so funny its unbelievable.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2010
This is by far the best Season of American Dad, the funniest and most entertaining season. Its disappointing that they don't release entire series at once, and only give half a series at a time.

But for its price 14 Episodes is Definitely worth it!

MUST BUY for all American Dad Fans!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2010
American Dad is clearly going from strength to strength, a clear indication that true comedy lasts longer with more emphasis on the importance of excellent & consistant witty dialogue, solid characterisation, and satirical humour which always borders on " they can't say that!??". This season is hilarious ( lucky to have caught much of it in the States ) and is an essential purchase for any fan. The episode " May the best Stan Win " in which we see the script writers fuse a Stan cyborg, Steve and his friends remaking the 80s classic Mannequin with a sex doll and Roger getting on in the act to remake The Goonies, is a CLASSIC!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2010
This is one of the best series so far! Loads of laugh out loud moments and it was delivered on time in perfect condition. Top trumps!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2015
Just like all the other American Dad series this one is great. I have been a fan of family guy for years and have now moved onto this. The series has 18 cracking episodes that I have watched back to back. They are spread out over three discs and I would recommend this to any Seth McFarlane fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)