Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Great American Dad!
American Dad! is one of those shows that just keeps getting better. The show got off to a rocky start in its first series, definitely being born into its older brother Family Guy's shadow, but since then it has slowly turned into its own show, with its own style of comedy.

Now, here we are with Season 5, and I'm glad this show made it out of the early season...
Published on 23 Feb. 2011 by Zombie Kermit

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Trying to hard
I love AD but it was just too try hard and in your face, I know it gets better so I stick with it.
Published 16 months ago by M. Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Great American Dad!, 23 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American Dad! - Volume 5 [DVD] (DVD)
American Dad! is one of those shows that just keeps getting better. The show got off to a rocky start in its first series, definitely being born into its older brother Family Guy's shadow, but since then it has slowly turned into its own show, with its own style of comedy.

Now, here we are with Season 5, and I'm glad this show made it out of the early season danger zone, where animated shows always seem to be canceled. And this set has some of the best parts of the series yet. If you liked the previous seasons, then this should do the trick nicely. If you haven't seen them yet, buy them first, and see if you want to continue.

Overall, this show is not perfect. There are some little irritating character aspects, and they often have trouble filling the episode with a good B plot (although this is something that is brilliantly referenced), but at this stage, I feel that it has surpassed Family Guy in quality and now stands out on its own as one of the better current animated shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Good., 15 Jun. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American Dad! - Volume 5 [DVD] (DVD)
If you like Family Guy, you should like this.It's created by the same guy but i find this funnier and cleverer and they don't seem to feel the need to refer to crude humour as much, which appeals to me.
While i think Family Guy has gone downhill, this is at least as good if not better than it was in the first 2 seasons which were the best so far, imo, although seasons 3 and 4 were good too.... Great characters, especially Roger the alien, Stan, Francine, Steve, and Stan's boss, Bullock (excellently voiced by Patrick Stewart)...... Yes the plots are sometimes a bit daft and don't always make much sense and the goldfish, Klaus, and Stan and Francine's annoyingly left wing daughter, Hayley, are a bit boring and humourless (they are the dead wood of the show,imo) but the other characters are so funny it really doesn't matter.
Quality animated entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeps getting better!, 24 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American Dad! - Volume 5 [DVD] (DVD)
American Dad, like Family Guy, is a series with a 'marmite' sense of humour - if you watch one episode and like it then chances are you'll LOVE the series. The 5th series is better than ever and even on repeat viewings will continue to make you smile!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great show, 20 Jun. 2010
By 
Jordan Mclean (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: American Dad! - Volume 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I have always loved US cartoon shows, I.e simpsons/futurama/american dad

And they are always full with loads of laughts and great episodes, They never get old and they are always fresh in my mind, They could make 500 series and I would still love watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Funniest Thing On Tv, 28 July 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: American Dad! - Volume 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Without a doubt this is now the best animation comedy show on televison, surpassing south park and the simpsons by far and even family guy. The show is hallarious, every episode makes you laugh. American dad is amazing, watch it. Roger is so funny its unbelievable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 11 Jun. 2010
By 
Shaun Brearley "owd amos" (derbyshire england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: American Dad! - Volume 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Where family guy seems to be fading a bit these days in my opinion american dad just goes from strength to strength. My copy arrived in the post today and watched a good chunk of it already. People are going to quibble its not season 5, it isn't. Its volume 5, and the artwork is different to that advertised by amazon, but it states on the package it is volume five, but dont let that get in the way of a really enjoyable dvd. 14 episodes on 3 discs. Its great stuff. Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Season Yet!, 11 July 2010
By 
D Bagdi - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American Dad! - Volume 5 [DVD] (DVD)
This is by far the best Season of American Dad, the funniest and most entertaining season. Its disappointing that they don't release entire series at once, and only give half a series at a time.

But for its price 14 Episodes is Definitely worth it!

MUST BUY for all American Dad Fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best yet!, 5 July 2010
This review is from: American Dad! - Volume 5 [DVD] (DVD)
American Dad is clearly going from strength to strength, a clear indication that true comedy lasts longer with more emphasis on the importance of excellent & consistant witty dialogue, solid characterisation, and satirical humour which always borders on " they can't say that!??". This season is hilarious ( lucky to have caught much of it in the States ) and is an essential purchase for any fan. The episode " May the best Stan Win " in which we see the script writers fuse a Stan cyborg, Steve and his friends remaking the 80s classic Mannequin with a sex doll and Roger getting on in the act to remake The Goonies, is a CLASSIC!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Amazon, 18 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American Dad! - Volume 5 [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the best series so far! Loads of laugh out loud moments and it was delivered on time in perfect condition. Top trumps!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!, 2 July 2010
This review is from: American Dad! - Volume 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Awesome!! just as good as the previous series. American Dad is slightly less controversial than Family Guy and is more about the crazy adventures and the family than making shocking jokes Family Guy - Season 1 [1999] [DVD].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

American Dad! - Volume 5 [DVD]
American Dad! - Volume 5 [DVD] by Seth MacFarlane (DVD - 2010)
£9.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews