Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Angellic Masterpiece
The St Philips Boys Choir - better know these days as 'Libera' - have a unique sound. Inspired by the genius of Robert Prizeman, these seven to fourteen year olds have the ability to reduce the strongest of upper lips to jelly with a single chord. Play this CD and you will tap your foot, sing along or weep whenever they wish you to. As an example, in consecutive tracks,...
Published on 27 Mar 2004 by Jeff Carter

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars More from St Philips Choir
Very ' nice' - but not a lot of new tracks. Don't care for rehashed tracks from previous albums! But OK.
Published 9 months ago by V. Hatzfeld


Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Angellic Masterpiece, 27 Mar 2004
By 
Jeff Carter (Newport Pagnell, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angel Voices 2 (Audio CD)
The St Philips Boys Choir - better know these days as 'Libera' - have a unique sound. Inspired by the genius of Robert Prizeman, these seven to fourteen year olds have the ability to reduce the strongest of upper lips to jelly with a single chord. Play this CD and you will tap your foot, sing along or weep whenever they wish you to. As an example, in consecutive tracks, you will hear the most moving version of 'Abide With Me' followed immediately by the most stirring version of 'Jerusalem'. The use of a 'close-mike' with Liam's breathtaking voice makes Andrew Lloyd Webber's 'Close Every Door' my favourite track but it's a close call. Each and every track is a masterpiece which leave the listener begging for more. Buy this CD and I guarantee that, like me, you will listen to little else for months!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtakingly Beautiful, 2 Dec 2003
This review is from: Angel Voices 2 (Audio CD)
Some of these songs are just wonderful. I am an 18 year old guy, so choral music is not usually my thing, but this is an exception. The voice quality on this CD I cannot describe as anything other than breathtaking. You will not find better voices anywhere for sheer raw voice quality than this. I cannot praise these guys, and their conductor enough. The track "I vow to thee my country" is particularly good. Its a shame that Amazon doesn't have some samples of the songs online. Even if you think you don't really like this type of music this CD is still worth trying. For those that are fans of this genre anyway; it is truly phenominal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful boychoir music, with some modern touches, 21 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Angel Voices 2 (Audio CD)
I very much recommend this disc to those who enjoy the beautiful sounds of a superb boys' choir. It mixes the familiar with the not-so-familiar; modern with very old.
The recording appears to be very close-miked, with reverb added (perhaps too much). The voices are EXCELLENT!
Accompaniment is primarily by synthesizer, sounding mostly like church organ, with considerable use of deep base tones to balance the high treble voices, but also uses the sound of strings and even handbells. All of the synth work is done with subtlty.
Many of the songs are familiar hymns or carols. Standouts include "Amazing Grace" and "Abide With Me". There's a very good rendition of "You Are The New Day", a song popularized by the King's Singers a while back. A rolicking Gregorian chant (how's that for an oxymoron?) called "Gaudette" finishes things off, with accompaniment by deep drumbeats and tamborine. I've just ordered Volume 1 and have high hopes for it. By the way, if you are familiar with "Libera", a new-age-style disc, it's the same boys - from St Philips Church in London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous hymn renditions and Heavenly voices, 8 Mar 2003
By 
Jesse Carnes "Major Carnes" (Baton Rouge, LA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Angel Voices 2 (Audio CD)
I found this CD, Angel Voices 2, if anything---even BETTER than its predecessor. Once more, Robert Prizeman indicates his intuitive sense of music theory in some of the finest arrangements of hymns, classic fares, and patriotic charts that I have yet to come across. This is a fine montage, as it were, of 2 to 3 forms of vocal classics, and to make it better, the boys in this Treble ensemble perform even better than in their first recording. They gave 110 per cent. The renditions of "Pie Jesu," "Amazing Grace, and "Abide With Me," are ALONE worth the price of this recording. I was stunned by the rich, ethereal PRESENCE in "Abide With Me." Heaven MUST be like that! Simply classic in performance, well-arranged charts by Robert Prizeman, and very well recorded. Again, microphone placement was nicely done, and presence was HIGH. This is simply a smashing recording--it's that good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 10 May 2010
By 
J. Rea "Jodie" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Angel Voices 2 (Audio CD)
Play this with your eyes closed, it is truly magical. If you want to feel freed of all the stresses and strains of life, surely these voices are able to accomodate. It is truly beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet memories, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angel Voices 2 (Audio CD)
I bought it as my parents - who died lately - used to listen to it. I found out that Mother listened to it a lot after Father died...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars More from St Philips Choir, 22 Sep 2013
By 
V. Hatzfeld "ebooker" (SE England UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angel Voices 2 (MP3 Download)
Very ' nice' - but not a lot of new tracks. Don't care for rehashed tracks from previous albums! But OK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful music for the spirit, 3 July 2010
By 
Fernando Franco Blu "FDO FRANCO" (Rancagua, CHILE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Angel Voices 2 (Audio CD)
I was listened this CD, from Libera. Is the magic music, to relax and keep is alpha state. I would like other records and video record about the first time of this group. A recopilation of videos from you tube, with quality. Congratulations for Libera and his director Robert Prizemann. Fernando.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 27 Jun 2010
This review is from: Angel Voices 2 (Audio CD)
This DVD truly showcases the talent of these incredible young people. I found the dvd to be moving and a delight to watch and listen to. Some of the read dialouge was pretty wanky and a waste of time, but the singing was supberb. My view is that rarely do I spend my money so well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent, 22 April 2009
By 
Fred C. Wilkerson "Fred Wilkerson" (Vermont, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Angel Voices 2 (Audio CD)
Libera continues to marvel with their vibrant, harmonious, "angelic" voices. Robert Prizeman has shown even brighter than his "angels" with his ability to arrange & orchestrate. WOW! Their concert DVD and ALL of their CDs are a must for the music library. Magnificent! Fred
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Angel Voices 2
Angel Voices 2 by The St Philips Boy's Choir
Buy MP3 Album4.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews