Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect
Why do Canon charge so much for one piece of plastic? This compatible hood is half the price and appears to do the job just as well. It fits on a bayonet type quarter a turn mounting, and there's a reassuring click at the end of its travel so I'm sure in normal use it wont come off.

I bought it for my 17-85 IS USM lens and it parks on the lens in reverse for...
Published on 20 Mar 2010 by Maz

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Tends to jam on lens
It tend to jam on the lens in both the normal and storage (i.e. reversed) positions and can be difficult to both fit and remove. Once on, however, haven't noticed any issues - no vignetting at 17mm.
Published 18 months ago by BTRL


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 20 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maxsima - EW-73B Compatible Lens Hood for Canon EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM, EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS, for STM version also. (Electronics)
Why do Canon charge so much for one piece of plastic? This compatible hood is half the price and appears to do the job just as well. It fits on a bayonet type quarter a turn mounting, and there's a reassuring click at the end of its travel so I'm sure in normal use it wont come off.

I bought it for my 17-85 IS USM lens and it parks on the lens in reverse for storage if required, if the hood does fit other lenses I assume it would do the same.

The initial reason for buying was was only really for 'show' to be honest, but having the hood I've realised that it's benefits are two fold; a small amount of protection for the lens glass from the weather but more importantly physical protection. Having a battery grip causes the body/lens to tip forward when put down; the hood acts as a cushion or shock absorber, especially if the largest part of the petals are on the top and bottom. The plastic is fairly flexible so I think it adds protection to my investment.

A worthwhile addition to the camera bag. Leave it on all the time and this ten pound circle of plastic should make you sleep easy at night. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost as good for half the price., 28 Jun 2010
By 
F41 (Worcestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maxsima - EW-73B Compatible Lens Hood for Canon EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM, EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS, for STM version also. (Electronics)
This hood was purchased as a direct replacement to a lost Canon hood for my EF-S 17-85 so I was able to make a direct comparison. For the price, I wasn't expecting much, but the quality is right up there with Canon's. The hood has a similar shiny plastic finish, perhaps slightly shinier, with the furry inner to stop reflections. My only criticism which stops this being a 5* review is that it doesn't lock into place with quite the secure fit that the original part does. It's not loose by any means, but it frees up on the thread with a lot less turning force so may be more prone to coming off if knocked. Can't argue for the price, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lens hood, 25 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maxsima - EW-73B Compatible Lens Hood for Canon EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM, EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS, for STM version also. (Electronics)
Why buy a makers lens hood when this fits looks and works exactly the same for half the price. delivery was next day, great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good price, 18 Mar 2012
This review is from: Maxsima - EW-73B Compatible Lens Hood for Canon EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM, EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS, for STM version also. (Electronics)
Does what its supposed to for a lot less than the Canon version. Using it on Canon 18-135mm and fits fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dozyal, 28 Oct 2011
This review is from: Maxsima - EW-73B Compatible Lens Hood for Canon EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM, EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS, for STM version also. (Electronics)
It arrived earlier than expected. Fits well and works as well and fits as well as the Canon version but much cheaper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maxsima - EW-73B Compatible Lens Hood for Canon EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM, EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS, for STM version also. (Electronics)
Fits very (to) tight on my Canon EFS18-135mm and does exactly what it suppose to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value, 16 May 2014
By 
Frank WILLIAMS (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maxsima - EW-73B Compatible Lens Hood for Canon EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM, EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS, for STM version also. (Electronics)
Reasonable price and does the job, which in the main is, to protect the rim of the lenses (as well as making the photographer look flash)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Cheap copy, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maxsima - EW-73B Compatible Lens Hood for Canon EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM, EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS, for STM version also. (Electronics)
I would agree that the real Canon product is over priced but at least it fits properly. This hood does not and I would not recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great value for money, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maxsima - EW-73B Compatible Lens Hood for Canon EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM, EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS, for STM version also. (Electronics)
Much, much cheaper than the official Canon product - fits easily to the lens and seems to do a good job of reducing flare, although I got it mainly to protect the font element from knocks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maxsima - EW-73B Compatible Lens Hood for Canon EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM, EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS, for STM version also. (Electronics)
Fits fine and does the job well! This is as good as a Canon hood and I would recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews