Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT A VOICE!!
I have been a fan of John Owen-Jones for some time and a few weeks ago my Wife and I saw him live (for the first time) in "The Three Phantoms" concert in St David's Hall Cardiff.

The man has superb stage presence and the voice is just magnificent.

He sang a few tracks that are on the album. "Tell my Father" and "Bring him home" were real...
Published on 13 Dec. 2009 by Mr. P. Johnson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Competent Introductory Disc
Having heard the "Unmasked" disc first, this CD proved to be a disappointment, Some of the same songs as on the other disc are included. Enjoyed pacticularly the track "Anthem" from the musical Chess.
Published 18 months ago by Dave


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars unmasked cd, 26 April 2012
This review is from: John Owen-Jones (Audio CD)
Having listened to the album unmasked for several days/weeks now I have to say this is one of John Owen-Jones best, it has emotion in every song, the mix of musical theatre songs and has we say normal songs are perfect. Whether singing with the orchestra or just the guitar John's voice carries you away into a dream land with every note being pitch perfect.
This is definitely an album to be purchased, its is amazing and dare I say Phantastic.Unmasked
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars John Owen Jones CD, 25 Oct. 2011
This review is from: John Owen-Jones (Audio CD)
First heard JOJ sing Valjean in the 25th Anniversary touring production of Les Mis in Edinburgh. So enjoyed his performance & was so impressed by the quality of his singing that I searched out other examples of his work and came across this CD. On the face of it, an unexpected selection of songs, but the more you listen, the more you appreciate JOJ 's voice and the choice of material - all the songs tell a story. The CD has quickly become one of my favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 27 Jan. 2011
By 
J. Kelly "Judi" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Owen-Jones (Audio CD)
I have loved JOJ's voice since crying through the entire second act of Les Mis to his Jean Valjeans ( having already blubbed through the end of Act One! ). WHAT A VOICE and I second the other reviewer who pointed out track "New Words" in particular. Some of the tracks do not appeal to me - the use of voice in Myfanwy is a little harsh for my taste - but this is totally personal. Well worth the £ and overall a lovely listen - treat yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heart Stopping Voice, 8 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Owen-Jones (Audio CD)
John Owen-Jones has the most beautiful voice I have ever heard and I love Beautiful voices. The power in his voice just takes your breath away and then he comes back with the sweetest, clearest note that pulls your heart strings. Incredible, Wonderful, Awesome and just plain WOW!!!
I also have UNMASKED and am looking forward to anything else he will share with us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jones the Voice (not Tom), 16 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Owen-Jones (Audio CD)
Having seen John in Les Mis last year I was really pleased to hear this CD with songs from the musicals that are not usually heard. A beautiful voice with lovely renditions of Bring Him Home and Myfanwy. Some of the other songs will take a few listenings before they become familiar, but a CD for keeping in the player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 Nov. 2010
By 
Mrs. D. E. Neve (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Owen-Jones (Audio CD)
The brilliant John Owen Jones cd was delivered with no problems. As in many cases I don't think the website gives enough detail for those who might be unsure. However I knew exactly what I was buying & was as always pleased with prompt service & value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Competent Introductory Disc, 12 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Owen-Jones (Audio CD)
Having heard the "Unmasked" disc first, this CD proved to be a disappointment, Some of the same songs as on the other disc are included. Enjoyed pacticularly the track "Anthem" from the musical Chess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!, 12 Dec. 2011
By 
Karen (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: John Owen-Jones (Audio CD)
Title says it all...WOW, fantastic voice, beautiful songs, very emotive. Loved him in Phantom and looking forward to more of his music. Would love to see him in concert if he ever has the time, Encore John
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Singing from the heart, 23 Jan. 2015
By 
C. Wolstenholme "Raven" (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Owen-Jones (Audio CD)
Fabulous. John Owen Jones has a wonderful voice who definately sings from the heart. I have seen Les Miserables 3 times and John Owen Jones was just Brilliant. Really enjoyed this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top Of The Bill, 24 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Owen-Jones (Audio CD)
This Album Has A Few Less Well Known Songs .After A Few Plays You Really get To Appreciate Them .Alfie Boe Is a great Tenor But
For Me J.o.J.Is The Ultimate Stage Performer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

John Owen-Jones
John Owen-Jones by John Owen-Jones (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews