Customer Reviews


112 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars World's first Atheist movie?
In the book The Atheist's Guide to Christmas, David Baddiel does a chapter on how there has never been an Atheist movie. He has a point as it is difficult to plot a fictional film, without some kind of 'epiphany' moment and, as this film demonstrates, good stories require imagination and, ultimately, lying.

This film dispenses with the need for a religious...
Published on 13 Jun 2011 by Magic Lemur

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Weak and poorly thought out
Like most reviewers giving this one star, I am a Gervais fan. This is because of The Office, which was a sharp and keenly considered idea that changed the comedy arena. Here, one feels very little thought was put into the work. The whole plot is weak. He comes up with the idea of being the only person able to lie, and what that could enable him to do. Great, I thought...
Published 10 months ago by B. L. J. Webb


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money., 30 Dec 2009
By 
S. Houghton (ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Invention of Lying [DVD] (DVD)
This film could have been good. The idea is great but the execution is so incredibly poor. They seemed to have combined (and confused) lying with speaking out aloud. Maybe that decision was taken because they could get a few cheap laughs from it - who knows? It didn't work for me.

The acting felt stiff, there was no chemistry between the leads and there wasn't a single kiss or implied sex scene to make it slightly romantic. The only believable bit of acting was when Ricky's characters mother was on her deathbed. Ricky Gervais's last film with Tea Leoni was very similar to this - i.e. stiff and completely missing the mark.

I think what annoys me is Gervais is actually quite capable of being a good actor, but he seems to have convinced himself he can only play the part of a fat, little loser. I can't be the only one sick of this can I? I'd like to see him for once, do a movie that was outside his comfort zone. I think he may surprise himself and actually be quite good.

Don't waste your money on this film. I almost didn't persevere with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars THE WORST FILM EVER MADE, 13 Mar 2010
This review is from: The Invention of Lying [DVD] (DVD)
After watching ricky gervais in ghost town , i thought yes he has made a great film , funny with a bit of honest human sadness , but this film is just so bad , it makes watching kerry kantano good this film lacks any real story i just think the entire cast just ad libbed each day beacuse the story if there was one is so daft i cant belive any film company actully finnaced this complete rubbish , as for jennifer garner has she ever done any sort of acting , if she got any salary for this film she should have sent it back.
PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE STAY AWAY FROM THIS FILM IT WILL MAKE YOU CROSS YOU PAID FOR IT
I GAVE MINE TO A CHARITY SHOP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars bland dumb and fairly obnoxious, 2 Feb 2010
By 
simon gurney (london United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Invention of Lying [DVD] (DVD)
Having been a big fan of Ricky Gervais since the early days of the Office its disappointing to see him in this absolutely awful movie. From the first scenes its apparent this is one of the worst movies you will ever see, even Rickies self-efacing comedy becomes irritating, the whole concept of people being unable to lie has been miseed by the writers who seem to think that this would result in the worlds population being completely shallow and obnoxious simpletons, there is no wit or charm whatsoever just a string of charmless characters being obnoxious and stupid, then comes some nonsense about religion but by that point why anyone would care is beyond me.
Badly acted, incredibly badly directed and written this must be a contender for one of the worst movies of all time, avoid at all costs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stick to TV, Ricky, 2 Dec 2011
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Invention of Lying [DVD] (DVD)
I must admit I was quite surprised to see the amount of controversy that this film seems to have attracted. OK - there are those who can't take (or understand) a 'joke' in terms of the existence of a god, but really the film (whilst based on a moderately amusing concept) is nothing more than a slightly above par Hollywood comedy (hence the two stars).

I suppose Ricky Gervais is regarded as something of a love him or hate him character. However, whilst I consider The Office and Extras to be two of the outstanding TV comedies of the last 10 years, here Gervais (as a Hollywood compromise I guess) has lost any of the cutting edge he displayed in the aforementioned works.

Rather like Steve Coogan and many others before (and no doubt after) Gervais should stick to TV - albeit his current Life's Too Short appears to indicate a (near-terminal?) decline for him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What were they thinking?, 28 Dec 2009
This review is from: The Invention of Lying [DVD] (DVD)
Unless Ricky Gervais wants to wave his career goodbye, he might want to consider not wasting his time with mainstream, hit-and-miss American comedy films, and put his talent to better use by creating another TV series to rival the classics which are The Office and Extras.

The logic behind this film is flawed from practically the first words uttered. Just because an alternate reality has people unable to lie, doesn't mean everyone should be unable to keep their thoughts to themselves. Here we do. Hence, conversations as stilted and as ridiculous as the following (and I paraphrase):

"Hi. You're very good looking and I'm way out of my league."
"Yes, you are fat, unattractive and I know I am way out of your league."

"Hello, Mark. I'm glad you have been sacked because I always hated you."
"Oh, I didn't know that."
"Well, everyone here knows it but you, then."

"I'm threatened by you."

Good, grief. And so it goes on. How would a society like that function, exactly? There has to be an audience connection through a kernel of truth to a story for its main conceit to work, or the charade crumbles. The idea isn't a bad one, but the execution is a bit lazy.

Still, it does get better about halfway through, and nothing with Gervais in is terrible. Also, Gervais and his love interest Jennifer Garner are very likeable. The twist is clever, and then there is Ricky's warmth, which is one of his most underrated strengths. Great cameos from Stephen and Shaun, too.

Three out of five for the best bits, then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I love Gervais but...., 2 Feb 2010
By 
R. PLAISTER "Rob P" (Birmingham, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Invention of Lying [DVD] (DVD)
I spent 10 quid on this in Asda today, and couldnt wait to settle down to watch it. Within 10 minutes I was regretting it. Gervais is my favourite comedian, I loved the Office and Extras, and his series of live shows, but this is terrible. Dont waste two hours of your life on this...the part when Merchant and Barry from Eastenders is just bizarre as well as worrying, and sums up the whole film to be honest.

Even the Beatles wrote a bad song, Wayne Rooney has been known to get a shot off target, dont make a habit of making terrible films like this Ricky?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gervais' "When the Whistle Blows", 12 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: The Invention of Lying [DVD] (DVD)
Ricky Gervais is a comic genius, his stand up is brilliant The Office was great, Extras good- but whether Gervais dumbs down for the American audience I dont know, but one thing for sure is The Invention of Lying could only be described as pure trash. The script is painful and unfunny with characters living not in a world where everyone must tell the truth, but where everyone is rude to each other and incredibly stupid, when watching the film you can't help but think 'some things are just best kept to yourself?'. The acting is wooden, theres no chemistry between any of the characters apart from maybe Gervais' character and his mum, but shes American and he's English so I don't know what that's all about.
Now I know it's unfair to compare all of Gervais' work to 'The Office' because its so great, but even if it was written by and starred someone else it would still be rubbish, don't watch it because you will never look at Ricky Gervais again without feeling mildly annoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid!, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Invention of Lying [DVD] (DVD)
Absolute waste of time effort and money. Worse than having teeth pulled without anaesthesia. If I could have, I'd have marked it zero star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dull and inconsistent - more effort with appearance than ideas, 4 Feb 2012
By 
Rerevisionist (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Invention of Lying [DVD] (DVD)
Most of the reviewers here have missed part of the point: the scene-setting was intended to say the film's set in an alternative world, in which lying had never been discovered - lies are genetically impossible. The 'bonus' material shows conventionalised (i.e. grunting, fur-clad, unknown to anthropologists) 'cavemen', which were understandably dropped in favour of a voiceover. A lot of attention has been paid to the look of the film - it's Spielbergesque small town manicured-lawn no immigrant USA, and each scene and background is carefully framed - for example with large flower background displays. There is painfully obvious product placement. The film in a sense is its own product - there's careful note of the surprisingly large number of producers, the title is repeated, and all the rest. I've never been able to see any great value in Gervais - there are vast numbers of out-of-work actors and I personally don't like anything about him, including his voice and appearance. Anyway this film is based on an alternative non-lying world where all the films are non-fiction; this of course in itself is something like a bad joke.

Gervais' character is a scriptwriter (with a small office) sacked by someone who presumably resembles the typical producer/ overseer type (with a big office). Some of the plot revolves around the dislike between the 'loser' character, and his love and/or sex rival, who is presented as 'successful' in this tiny peabrained microworld. When he discovers lying, there's one of many inept plot moves, probably to make filming easier. He could just go around saying he is owed a billion dollars, for example, or owns a street of mansions - if ownership could be proven in such a world. Instead, he goes to a casino. I can think of several films (e.g. in 'Back to the Future' which use this device, possibly designed to appeal to the average lottery ticket buyer). Another cinematic repeat is the interrupted wedding scene.

There's some unintentionally amusing stuff which aficionados of Hollywood will pick up - eugenics and genetics, some parts of Christianity, the aforementioned non-immigration, mass market magazine publications - as part of the Jewish agenda. A far more challenging film would be the invention of intra-group treachery against outgroups, though this will not happen. The bonus material is more interesting than the film, though of course the full stories of films never seem to emerge: the sausage machinery is mostly undisclosed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Worst Movie of All Time!, 9 Dec 2012
By 
SE Timmins "Steve Timmins" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Invention of Lying [DVD] (DVD)
In my opinion this must be the worst movie of all time. With a very poor story, and a cardboard cast of worthless wanna-be's.

I watched it on TV, and would never buy this junk!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Invention of Lying [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
The Invention of Lying [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Ricky Gervais (Blu-ray - 2010)
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews