Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bagpipes for the 21st Century !
An album that finally puts bagpipes on the map - and not just the Scottish map. This band has artfully crafted the bagpipes with incredibly powerful percussion sounds, pounding base guitar, haunting vocals and incredibly rhythmic keyboard backing. An unusual and instantly engaging compilation of traditional Scottish tunes mixed with more modern pop classics all given a...
Published on 14 Dec 2007 by John K. Armstrong

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars foot tapping
heard some of their music before and liked it. this is one that will grow on you the more you listen.
Published 17 months ago by andrew bell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bagpipes for the 21st Century !, 14 Dec 2007
By 
John K. Armstrong "Joker0603" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bagrock to the Masses (Audio CD)
An album that finally puts bagpipes on the map - and not just the Scottish map. This band has artfully crafted the bagpipes with incredibly powerful percussion sounds, pounding base guitar, haunting vocals and incredibly rhythmic keyboard backing. An unusual and instantly engaging compilation of traditional Scottish tunes mixed with more modern pop classics all given a distinctive Celtic twist. Never a fan of traditional pipe band music I have seen pipe music in a whole new light and can finally turn up the volume on this new and exciting evolution of an instrument that dates back at least 2,000 years. This album will rekindle everyones "Celtic heart" and leave you breathless as you get swept along on the sheer energy and enthusiasm of the music. Can't wait to see this band live!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chilli pipers red hot in winter., 23 Nov 2007
This review is from: Bagrock to the Masses (Audio CD)
If you are a piping or traditional music purist I can guarantee this album is NOT for you. If you have the Chilli's first album( I do!) then you are in for something completely different.
A rich mixture of rock classics as you have never heard them before and arrangements that really work. The recording itself is technically perfect with bigh deep basses and high pitches of the pipes. There is of course something for everyone and there is a wee extra track at the end, just what you need for a Hogmanay party. A couple of Scottish classics are also provided.
I admit this album may not be to everyone's taste but then you just can't please them all. How they will top this with their next album remains to be seen.
Have you oredered your copy??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bringing Tradition into the Now....with style., 21 Nov 2007
By 
J. Teale (Isle of Gigha, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bagrock to the Masses (Audio CD)
An exciting, innovative piece of work from a group of enthusiastic instrumentalists, bringing together the old and new from the worlds of scottish traditional and contempory folk and that of rock/power ballad.

Sure to bring bagpipes and scottish music in general into the forefront of the minds of the general public and keen music enthusiasts alike.

Top Class
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 27 April 2009
By 
Ms Rebecca C. Skinner (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bagrock to the Masses (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic cd, the only thing better is seeing them live. I heard about it through word of mouth and then saw them when they did a free concert in Tobermory, Isle of Mull. They were so good I bought the cd the next day. When I went to my parents my dad nicked off with my cd so we had to buy him their collection of cds for his Christmas to get mine back. They are brilliant musicians and this cd is a must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 22 Nov 2007
By 
This review is from: Bagrock to the Masses (Audio CD)
Fantastic CD. Brings new life to the world of piping, innovative, uplifting and really enjoyable. Some excellent Rock classics and traditional sounds with a twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album., 17 Nov 2008
By 
Colin Barnes (Belfast) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bagrock to the Masses (Audio CD)
The title of this album "Bagrock to the masses" is certiantly appropriate. The Red Hot Chilli Pipers have brought piping from a niche market out to a much wider audience.
Even those who aren't keen on pipe music will enjoy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT, 28 April 2009
By 
J. McDonald (Argyll) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bagrock to the Masses (Audio CD)
BRILLIANT, THE BAND IS EVEN BETTER LIVE.THE WAY TO GO WITH THE PIPES IN THE 21ST CENTURY.EVEN MY ENGLISH FRIENDS RAVE ABOUT THIS BAND.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars CD, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bagrock to the Masses (Audio CD)
I found this CD not to my liking as it was not as good as they said it was, half the time you could not make out what was being played, sorry its not for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Red Hot Chilli Pipers, 15 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. R. Thorp "the bigyin" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bagrock to the Masses (Audio CD)
Guarantee you will have not heard the pipes played like this before! Being a big fan of the Chilli Pipers it has to be a five star purchase along with all their other CD's and the guys sound just as good live!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb..!!, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bagrock to the Masses (Audio CD)
I was introduced to the "chilli pipers" sound by a friend, and I just loved it! I had to buy this CD to really appreciate the genius behind this modern take on bagpipes. It is quite extraordinary to hear rock music played like this, but it does work..!! It is superb..!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bagrock To The Masses
Bagrock To The Masses by Red Hot Chilli Pipers
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews