Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars J D Shaw
I bought this TV as a gift for my son. He tells mr that it took him only five minutes to set it up and that the quality of the picture is excellent both for TV and DVD.He also finds the sound quality very good.All in all he is very satisfied with the product.
Published on 4 Feb 2010 by Mr. J. D. Shaw

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Toshiba TV review
As per previous comments the delivery of thisitem was swift, and setting up took a few minutes. However I would say the sound isn't great, mainly due to the speakers being behind the TV therefore the sound doesn't naturally come forward. Hae used DVD, very nice to have this all in one but when playing you can hear the DVD is in use. Overall not bad, in future I will...
Published on 9 May 2010 by Anna Tolley


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TV, 18 Feb 2010
By 
C. R. Byrne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Toshiba 22DV665DB 22-inch Widescreen HD Ready LCD/DVD Combi with Freeview - Black (Electronics)
Excellent picture quality and ease of use. Fits perfectly into our daughter's bedroom and is being thoroughly enjoyed by her and all her friends!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent TV for bedroom or kitchen, 7 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. M. Turner "Ginsoakedboy" (bradford, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Toshiba 22DV665DB 22-inch Widescreen HD Ready LCD/DVD Combi with Freeview - Black (Electronics)
Bought this for the bedroom as we wanted an integrated DVD player in a 22" TV.

Firstly, this TV looks really nice.. nicer than the pictures on this page suggest, and much nicer than any of the no-name alternatives you can get in supermarkets or the high street for a similar price.

Setup was a breeze. The Analogue, digital and DVD menus do feel a little seperated from each other, but that is consistent with similar products I have used elsewhere.

Picture quality is really nice, the sound is adequate rather than good - however taking the advice of another reviewer I added some Creative T10 speakers (for only about 30) which improved the sound massively. (And match this TV quite nicely - they both have a high-gloss black finish) I would be surprised if any other TVs in this price and size bracket sounded much better to be honest, given the form factor.

One thing to add, the remote feels substantial and looks quite nice, which is not always the case, even on some higher-end TV equipment. (Hello Sony Blu-Ray players!)

There is a really nice feature that lets you flick between digital Television and digital radio, and set will remember what radio station you listened to last, very useful if like me you have a default radio station you listen to most of the time.

DVD multi-region would have been nice, although this plays Divx files burnt to disc with no trouble. (There is an odd quirk that the TV only displays the first few characters of the filename though, so think on before naming your files and burning to disc, otherwise telling them apart can be tricky.)

Given the size and price of this model, along with the integrated DVD, I don't think anyone will be looking to have this TV as the centrepiece of a home-cinema setup, but for a kitchen, bedroom or similar, I can't see how you'd get much better for the price... though if you plan to watch a lot of movies or listen to music radio, I'd seriously consider adding speakers or a soundbar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Replacement, 15 May 2010
By 
Alan Gifford (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toshiba 22DV665DB 22-inch Widescreen HD Ready LCD/DVD Combi with Freeview - Black (Electronics)
This 22" set replaced a 19" set which packed in without warning after about 2 months. From reading subsequent reviews it appears the 19" sets appeared to have an inherent problem. Anyway this set works well, excellent picture - DVD easy to operate. My only gripe, and this is personal, is the not-so-friendly remote control. Nothing particularly wrong with it but equally not so logical as my old samsung control. It isn't just familiarity, I have studied each carefully and just wonder why they did it in a particular way. However I am sure that others will say it is the way they like it. Very pleased with the set so far!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good picture, mediocre sound, abysmal software, 8 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toshiba 22DV665DB 22-inch Widescreen HD Ready LCD/DVD Combi with Freeview - Black (Electronics)
The picture is as good as you can reasonably expect. I reduced the backlight and increased the brightness.

The sound is fairly clear for speech but poor for music. There is a headphone socket at the back so adding powered speakers is an option (but I haven't tested this).

There's only one HDMI input and one SCART socket. If you're a gamer with an upscaling hard disk recorder, this may not be enough - the 26 inch model is more generous.

I live in a fringe area for Freeview but reception is better in all my other equipment. However, when I installed a mast-head amplifier (Labgear, four output) reception was much improved. If you live in a fringe area, this may not be a good choice.

The software is just plain awful, for instance...

1) The program guide seems to be intended for a 480 line 4:3 US TV, i.e. it uses about half the available screen area. Also, there is no option to permanently display full program description while navigating and worse than that, it changes TV channel when scrolling.
2) When changing channel, no program information is displayed.
3) There is no obvious way to display signal strength and quality information.
4) You can zoom DVDs but not the TV - this seems to be because the zoom button swaps the TV channel with the previous channel.

Finally, the design is left-handed - great if you're a lefty but otherwise a really stupid idea. However, it's only really an issue when using the DVD player or if the remote dies.

Overall, this is a good TV/DVD for the price but if you don't want an integrated DVD player, you can probably do better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - easy to set up, 19 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Toshiba 22DV665DB 22-inch Widescreen HD Ready LCD/DVD Combi with Freeview - Black (Electronics)
I bought this TV/DVD combi as an additional set for the house and caravan. Easy to set up with auto tuning taking no more than a couple of minutes. Built in Free view offers good range of TV programmes. Works well with indoor Thompson VHF/FM aerial. DVD function was additional reason for picking this product and very pleased with the easy of use and quality. I would recommend this product, and amazon offered it at a very competitive price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great price, good value, sound okayish, 14 April 2010
By 
M. Pilgrim "value tech addict" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toshiba 22DV665DB 22-inch Widescreen HD Ready LCD/DVD Combi with Freeview - Black (Electronics)
No one can doubt that this is a good buy from Amazon when compared with other retailers (it was when I bought it anyway). The size of the screen is still compact but more impressive than the more common 19 inch. Looks good on the wall, nice picture, ok control menus, good remote, attractive finish. Like all small tvs the sound leaves something to be desired (it is 'ok' - especially on lower volumes - but tends to grate on your ear drums if you have to turn it up). You good hook it up to better audio - but that depends on where you are using it and how. No regrets, just the thing for the Kitchen/diner....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality at low price, 2 April 2010
By 
C. Martin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Toshiba 22DV665DB 22-inch Widescreen HD Ready LCD/DVD Combi with Freeview - Black (Electronics)
This TV has a great quality picture, the colour and definition is as good as my Sony. The DVD player even plays my young son's very scratched DVDs.Toshiba 22DV665DB 22-inch Widescreen HD Ready LCD/DVD Combi with Freeview - Black
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Toshiba 22 inch combi, 3 July 2010
This review is from: Toshiba 22DV665DB 22-inch Widescreen HD Ready LCD/DVD Combi with Freeview - Black (Electronics)
Bought this TV for our bedroom, it has a good picture and sound quality. The DVD works well and is easy to use.
A lot of TVs come with the manual buttons on top of the TV and are hard to see if you have it on the wall, the buttons on this TV are along the side and are easy to use.
If there is a negative about the TV it has to be the remote control, the labeling on the buttons are hard to see, especially in low light conditions, otherwise it would be 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Toshiba TV review, 25 May 2010
By 
Biker John (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Toshiba 22DV665DB 22-inch Widescreen HD Ready LCD/DVD Combi with Freeview - Black (Electronics)
I purchased this TV for use in a kitchen and it has proved to be an ideal size for a small to medium room. The picture quality is very good although skin tones are a bit harsh (in my view a general shortcoming of LCD screens). Although the speakers are a bit puny they provide an acceptable sound quality for the room in which the TV is situated. Overall, a quality product at an acceptable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value, 30 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Toshiba 22DV665DB 22-inch Widescreen HD Ready LCD/DVD Combi with Freeview - Black (Electronics)
Purchased this tv for use in the bedroom. Happy with the picture quality and functionality, great value for the price and very easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaef45954)

This product

Only search this product's reviews