Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well made and effective.
Imagine a normal British film, or even a soap opera (it was shot on the old Brookside (TV show) set) with naturalistic lighting and family arguments, all very kitchen sink, then 15 minutes in a group of black-clad SAS/SWAT guys suddenly appear and people start dying mysteriously and bloodily.

It's well shot, very claustrophobic (even at the start) and the cast...
Published on 11 July 2010 by Steve

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so Merry Christmas
Got to agree with Debbie B, this is a film to rent not buy, you won't want to see it again. It all takes place over Christmas Eve in a suburban cul-de-sac when the season is ruined by a squad of special forces soldiers moving in and ordering everyone indoors after shooting dead the local gp who is definitely not having a good day. The build up is long and slow and even...
Published on 30 April 2010 by PJ Rankine


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well made and effective., 11 July 2010
This review is from: Salvage [DVD] (DVD)
Imagine a normal British film, or even a soap opera (it was shot on the old Brookside (TV show) set) with naturalistic lighting and family arguments, all very kitchen sink, then 15 minutes in a group of black-clad SAS/SWAT guys suddenly appear and people start dying mysteriously and bloodily.

It's well shot, very claustrophobic (even at the start) and the cast are very good as they have to be without a lot of FX etc. help them carry the movie.

The advertising sells it as much more of a monster movie that it really is. This is a film about small rooms and fear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so Merry Christmas, 30 April 2010
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Salvage [DVD] (DVD)
Got to agree with Debbie B, this is a film to rent not buy, you won't want to see it again. It all takes place over Christmas Eve in a suburban cul-de-sac when the season is ruined by a squad of special forces soldiers moving in and ordering everyone indoors after shooting dead the local gp who is definitely not having a good day. The build up is long and slow and even the action is paced out considering the film is only an hour and a quarter long. What the director does do well however is sow seeds of doubt in your mind as to just what is going on. Is it a virus ala '28 days later', a terrorist attack or a monster. You never get a real feel for who the bad guy/s is/are and that keeps you on the edge of your seat. The denouement when it comes however is somewhat disappointing. The cast all do a good job although having spent so much time setting up young Jodie as a main character she then disappears till the end. There is nothing here that suffers from the low budget but it just isn't that great a film. Rent it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Salvage Savage., 29 Oct 2013
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Salvage [DVD] (DVD)
Salvage is directed by Lawrence Gough and written by Colin O'Donnell and Alan Patterson. It stars Neve McIntosh, Shaun Dooley and Linzey Cocker.

It's Christmas Eve, The Wirral, Merseyside, and 14 year old Jodie is reluctantly spending Christmas with her estranged mother, Beth. But family strife is to be the last of their worries, for soon this small cul-de-sac in the North West of England will become a battle for survival as something is loose and on the kill, and the army has got itchy trigger fingers...

It's perfectly understandable that some horror lovers come out of watching Salvage immensely disappointed at getting yet another spin on the "creature/infected human/zombie on the loose" formula. There's nothing exactly fresh here in terms of plotting, but considering the minimalist budget and sparsity of production aids, first time director Lawrence Gough has done a bang up job with this picture. The suspense factor is high, where McIntosh's (excellent) frantic mother tries to stay alive long enough to rescue her daughter from a house just across the road. Something which sounds simple in premise, but as the film unfolds, this proves to be a tense, fraught and nail biting mission. While the fact that the two main characters have been humanised, deep flaws and all, puts added spice to the survivalist horror.

As Mcintosh and Dooley (very good), the latter a one night stand liaison forced into the battle for survival along with some self examination, prowl around with fear and stoic bravado, themes of paranoia, prejudice and military over-kill slide easily alongside the jolts and blood. Nothing is crowbarred in here, the gore is kept in check and the politico rumblings remain just that, rumblings and not vociferous lectures over the loud speakers. The mystery element remains strong as well, where it's so nice to see a fledgling director not playing the hand too early. Once the "reveal" comes we are in frantic territory as we literally hurtle through stalk the prey land and finish with a finale that is bleak and deserves credit for having the audacity.

It's badly under valued on the big internet movie sites, which is a crying shame, because it is damned by familiarity of other genre pieces, where the low budget skill in the film making process doesn't appear to be taken into consideration. No this is not a terrifying and breakneck paced picture, but it has its moments without doubt and certainly deserves better appraisal notices than those afforded the likes of Creep and the recently awful Storage 24. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Worth salvaging, 19 Aug 2010
This review is from: Salvage [DVD] (DVD)
One of the better low budget horror films that I have seen in a while. The director builds the tension nicely and avoids going overboard with the gore. It draws you in not knowing what is going on or where is safe. Well worth seeing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Unwatchable, 19 Oct 2014
By 
Peter (hampshire, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Salvage (DVD)
For me this was completely unwatchable due to the camera giggling around all the time. I suffer from motion sickness when watching films like this - I could only watch it for a few minutes and had to stop it. No idea if the film is any good or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cull-de-sac, 26 April 2010
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Salvage [DVD] (DVD)
This British horror, filmed on the set of Brookside Close, may be low on budget, but its high on tension, as the story follows a mothers frantic attempts to rescue her estranged daughter from the house across the street once the housing estate they are on becomes the setting for a deadly game of cat and mouse between a small group of soldiers and something far more horrible than Sinbad's underpants, an escapee from a top secret military experiment.
It makes very good use of its locations, as the housing estate becomes a dark, claustrophobic hunting ground for the creature on the loose. Beth, the mother, is an interesting character, who finds hidden strengths in adversity. She is reluctantly aided by her lover Keiran, who also digs deep to find his courage. Neve McIntosh and Shaun Dooley are both very good in these roles. Despite its short running time, the film can meander at times, but it is punctuated by scenes of great tension. All in all another very fine addition to the modern British horror renaissance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 16 April 2010
By 
Debbie Jane "DebbieB" (Bedfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Salvage [DVD] (DVD)
i was expecting a lot from this after reading the reviews, but I found it very disappointing.
the acting is excellent, granted, but the build up went on and on until the very end when (it's difficult not to give too much away)you see who/what is responsible for the murders. I thought it/he looked ridiculous.
I suggest you rent before buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing - especially as it had potential., 24 Nov 2012
This review is from: Salvage [DVD] (DVD)
As I was watching Salvage - a movie that could easily have been tag-lined: Something Virulent This Way Comes! - I was reminded of a 4-part TV mini-series I watched in 1981: The Nightmare Man.
By age 13, I had long grown out of my `Dr. Who' stage, and The Nightmare Man kept me gripped. After seeing the TV show, I read the re-issued novel, originally titled: Child Of Vodyanoi, by David Wiltshire.
Salvage has some similar themes to The Nightmare Man: a military secret, soldiers struggling to wipe out that which is prowling and killing indiscriminately, with the locals fearing if they are dealing with either a psychopath or a savage creature. Salvage was filmed on the same Merseyside TV set as the old and now cancelled British TV soap: Brookside. The plot is simple: a container found on a beach during Christmas Eve makes the news due to dead bodies also discovered at the scene. Soon the inhabitants of a cul-de-sac are contained in their homes by a team of soldiers ready to shoot anything they see moving. Among the chaos, a troubled mother fights to save her estranged daughter who is trapped in a nearby house. Can she get to her daughter without falling victim to either a soldier's bullet, or the deadly `something' that is stalking the area ... which, disappointingly just turns out to be a guy with a gunky face!
A pity about Salvage; I wanted to like it. It was okay compared with so many other low-budget movies, but it ultimately lacked the way so many smaller-scale movies do: poor script, insufficient budget, some incoherent dialogue, and, despite the running around, a lot of screaming, and large helpings of blood and gore - there is a distinct lack of suspense. The actors (notably Neve McIntosh) do the best they can with the material they have, which sadly isn't enough to lift the movie above mediocre. What could have been a welcome addition to the Dawn of the Dead / 28 Days Later genre finally came across as a bargain-basement offering that failed to deliver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY low-budget, but also very well-executed., 25 Mar 2010
By 
David Graham - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Salvage [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this at Frightfest too, dodging a bigger movie that I can't remember now, and was glad I did. It is breathlessly tense, and very well-written and acted. It achieves maximum impact with minimal means.
Some people will be disappointed by its ambiguity, but this keeps it exciting and frightening. Anyone with half a brain should get a real kick out of this, as long as they can live without the usual gloss and high budget of many recent Brit horrors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best British horror of the year, 16 Mar 2010
By 
M. Hewitt "Mike H" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Salvage [DVD] (DVD)
There's been a huge increase in British horror over the last couple of years - both in quality and quantity. We've had Mum & Dad, Eden Lake, The Children, Tony - all great films, but Salvage tops them all and gives us a new talented director - Lawrence Gough - who is definitely going to be someone to watch.

Screening at London's FrightFest last year, Salvage gripped a rabid horror crowd with a fantastic concept of terror invading a quiet British cul-de-sac (actually it was the last production to be filmed on the set of Brookside Close).

Whilst one mother (Beth - an outstanding an Award-winning performance from Neve McIntosh) is desperate to heal wounds with her daughter Jodie, the whole street is suddenly thrown into turmoil by a group of heavily armed soldiers ordering the residents back into their homes. Is the threat from some terrorist organisation, or something much worse...

Brilliantly written (the sense of dread increases in a perfectly pitched escalation) and directed and with terrific performances, Salvage really is the real deal and further establishes the UK as a forefront of horror film production. Do not miss this film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Salvage [DVD]
Salvage [DVD] by Lawrence Gough (DVD - 2010)
£5.11
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews