Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars18
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
16
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.53+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 March 2010
I've never written a review before. However, I enjoyed this serious so much that I felt motivated to say a few words. Jimmy dreams for his farm appear to know no bounds but he delivers through hard work and perseverance. For anyone interested in setting up a rural business this is a must see program. Good wholesome viewing for all the family and a refreshing insight into farming and the challenges it presents. But equally the program captures the simple joys that this way of life provides. I'll look out for series 2. Thank you - first class program and glad you decided to film your adventure. Good luck for the future.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 April 2010
Jimmy who as a rule is not one who sticks to anything for long, packs up and buys a derelict farm. In the first series we follow all his trials and tribulations. A total novice he makes mistake after mistake and learns from the errors. Constantly looking for new ways to build up his business, as we leave him we are left thinking that he might just make it.
I am looking forward to Season 2.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2011
Jimmy Doherty could have taken an easy option and not becoming a Pig Farmer...yet despite the odds he went into the business and had early success and also some heartache in his first trading year, not that the next few years would be wholly sucess laden...
Jimmy decided to do Pig farming a different way and away from the mainstay of what is seen as normal way of doing things...he has a love for rare breeds and was aware that the meat from these rare breeds would be more tastier and also healthier as a product for us...but realising that he needed to sell his pork products away from the mainstay operations of supermarkets and began to sell direct to the public at both his own farm and also farmers markets.
This first season of Jimmy's farm will take you through his early period...thankfully he doesn't give up and yet he must have had the thought in the back of his mind to do so...the relationship with his girlfriend (who would eventually become his wife) is also there for all to see and with her in the background and a backbone to his endeavours Jimmy sticks with it...
Loved it...will soon be getting the second season.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
Jimmys greatest wish is to be lord of the pigs, live with his wife on a farm, raise rare breed free range pigs and turn them into high quality meat products. There are just a few problems. He doesn't have a farm or any Money with which to buy or rent one. He knows nothing about business, even less about pigs and hasn't a clue about how to turn the pigs into sausages, hams and bacon. Most people would leave it at that, but Jimmy isn't most people. He's convinced it'll be fine and that come what may, he'll be lord of the pigs one way or another.As it happens, Jamie Oliver and Peter Gott are quite willing to help, and so Jimmy gets his wish fulfilled. Just not quite the way he expected or hoped. He, his wife and their friend Mr. Spriggs and his Family are blasted to pigdom come in an agricultural armageddon of derelict buildings, little or no infrastructure, near fatal electrical accidents, fires, traffic jams, production, marketing and staff problems, not to mention desperate accountants and arrogant local civil servants of the jobsworth variety. Adding to the problems are dozens of pigs who joined jimmy on his trip to pigdom come. Initially his only succes comes in the form of Jasper, a little boar piglet rejected by his mother. Jimmy raises the little boar by hand, and its touch and go for a while as Jasper struggles to survive. He also develops a close relationship with Ethel the sow and Porridge, a boar he buys from a prison farm of all places. This particular boar helps him take first prize in a pig show. Things however do not go quite as smoothly with the rest of the pigs, and jimmy soon realises that they have his measure. Being lord of the pigs is not easy. The pigs do not breed as planned and spend their time asleep in huge mud pools, emerging only to glut themselves on mountains of pig food, carrots and fruit. Then they help themselves to the meagre crops on the farm before helping themselves in the food stores. Their main activity is organizing mass escapes, rampaging through the surrounding country side and demolishinhg the farm and the equipment. Jimmy is continuously fighting a losing battle with the pigs, but he refuses to give in. It it all very entertaining and the pigs are most enjoyable to watch. Only the first 4 episodes have been released so far which is a shame. If you like pigs this dvd is one for you.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2013
This series takes a look at a city boy deciding he wants to be a farmer. He takes a short lease on a very dilapidated farm and has a dream of farming free-range, rare-breed pigs to provide top-end products. He is literally starting from scratch with the farm, and wanting to put a farm shop etc. where there is nothing but tumbledown buildings and weeds. And, he has by his own admission, zero experience of farming.

I found the series enthralling - I would have loved it to be several more episodes long. I would have liked more detail of the actual learning process (although they do give quite a bit), and would have liked it to have gone a little slower through the seasons - but I suppose that's television. Did Jimmy manage to become a farmer and make a success of it? Well of course - it wouldn't have made a successful series and book deal if he hadn't I suppose. But nevertheless, I still found my heart sinking with every new pitfall and disappointment and found myself cheering when things went well!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2016
This DVD set consists of 2 DVDs in a standard sized box. Total running time is about 5 hours consisting of 5 episodes of just under 1 hour each
The first 4 episodes chronicle the first year of Jimmy's Farm, while the 5th episode is called 'Back on Jimmy's Farm' and is set in the second year or so of the farms operation but is similar in format the the other 4 episodes
Much of the series focuses on the difficulties and challenges faced by Jimmy and his friends as they try to build a working and profitable farm from a derelict peace of land. The episodes are enjoyable and engaging and good family viewing. Whether old or young, there is something of interest there. There is a good variety things shown. From the clearing of land, animal husbandry, living arrangements and fence building to the party when Jimmy asks friends to help for a day in exchange for beer and a barbecue but things go wrong when the stubble catches fire and gets out of control.
Jimmy is helped by his family, his long term girlfriend and his pal from University, an unemployed mature student from the Midlands with a wife and kids to look after.
He is also helped by his friend Jamie Oliver (although Jamie only features briefly on the show) and his old flatmate, a former soldier who likes to have a laugh.
Jimmy, who is not unlikeable, is perhaps rather stressed most of the time. However there are enough engaging and likeable characters to ensure the atmosphere remains light hearted and upbeat even when Jimmy is struggling with the pressure and responsibilities. The animals are lively and varied and we get to see quite a few special animal moments which keep us involved in Jimmy's project. The filming is high quality and well done on the whole (too many unnecessary close-ups aside), and the pace is good. One cant help wanting the series to continue or have had more episodes and there are few farming shows as good as this on sale.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2010
I found his irreverent attitude a bit frustrating to start with, but his enthusiasm is infectious. This really should be how not to start a farming venture, but then you just want it to work!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2012
this is such a marvellous series!!! i really enjoyed watching it and would have longed to see a second series - but nothing seems to be available on dvd.
i admire jimmy for his very unvane presentation of himself and his efforts to learn how to run a farm. it also helped me to become convinced that mass-produced meat never comes from a responsible production and how important it is to take care of the things you eat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2012
Great fun, I could not pull myself away from the TV. I missed it when it was shown on TV the first time, and bought this after Amazon recommended it, after I had bought "On the farm". I must say that my wife and I visited the farm earlier this year and were quite amazed at the change and the hard work that Jimmy and his staff have put in.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2012
Ordered this for my daughter who has become interested with Jimmy Dogherty for her birthday however it was lost in the post as I didnt received it in time. I contacted Amazon and they sent me one which I received today 2 weeks later and although delayed was much appreciated. How times have changed for Jimmy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)