Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SEE AS WELL AS HEAR THE FORCES SWEETHEART
This is a very welcome 3 DVD set of films released in 1943 and 1945. There is much to be enjoyed in this collection. Anyone who loves the voice of Vera Lynn will be well satisfied with her vocal contributions. For a lady whose career was in the music business, she handled the acting roles well and held her own against the solid line up of British supporting actors. She...
Published on 29 Dec 2009 by P. J. Wallace

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars in the mood of the times
These are wartime films and they don't intend to be anything else. Uncomplicated, straight-minded pictures, which seem to be quickly made with a limited budget, aimed to keep spirits up and help with the wartime morale objectives, while the scattered songs provide entertainment. The three are centered in the home front. Vera Lynn plays women contributing one way or...
Published 21 months ago by BSK


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SEE AS WELL AS HEAR THE FORCES SWEETHEART, 29 Dec 2009
By 
P. J. Wallace "Peter Wallace" (East Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Vera Lynn Film Collection [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This is a very welcome 3 DVD set of films released in 1943 and 1945. There is much to be enjoyed in this collection. Anyone who loves the voice of Vera Lynn will be well satisfied with her vocal contributions. For a lady whose career was in the music business, she handled the acting roles well and held her own against the solid line up of British supporting actors. She definitely had the X Factor long before the expression was coined!

The one disappointing film is "Rhythm Serenade". The title gives no clue to the weak story line and rather undistinguished score. It was nice to get a glimpse of the musical director, Harry Bidgood, and see a young Jimmy Clitheroe, but the humour of Jewel and Warriss didn't raise a smile. Even Vera doesn't look entirely comfortable.

Vera did seem to enjoy her part in "We'll Meet Again" and she is on excellent form. The pace of the plot is good, the songs are excellent, and the 81 minutes are entertaining. However some of the events in the film don't stand up to much scrutiny; e.g. when the songwriter just happens to switch on the radio at the very moment his song is being played and yet it was never scheduled to be broadcast! This particular film will be of interest to those interested the history of the BBC as several well-known BBC figures make brief appearances including Alvar Liddell, John Watt and John Sharman. The great Geraldo Orchestra, also contracted for a period to the BBC, is featured. Len Camber and Geraldo's vocal sextet are given the pleasant number "You Never Knew" to sing and then the famous band back Vera in "After The Rain".

In "One Exciting Night" (the print is actually the film under its alternative title "You Can't Do Without Love"), Vera gets accidentally caught up in a robbery in a fast-moving plot. Vera gets some great songs to sing along the way including "My Prayer", "There's A New World Over The Skyline" and "Seems Like Old Times" (erroneously named "It's Like Old Times" in the accompanying notes), which some may remember as the theme tune on the warmly remembered ITV series "Looks Familiar". In addition there is a number showcasing the RAF Dance Orchestra, better known as The Squadronaires. According to the notes, the Ambrose Orchestra backs Vera, but this is not acknowledged in the credits and Ambrose himself is nowhere to be seen.

The picture quality in these films is excellent, sound quality likewise. "Rhythm Serenade" is responsible for the loss of a star in my rating, but otherwise I thoroughly recommend this beautifully presented DVD set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vera Lynn Box Set, 21 Oct 2010
By 
David Welford (Essex England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vera Lynn Film Collection [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
A wartime comedian joked that `World War II was started by Vera Lynn's agent!' There is a grain of truth in this quip, for if it was not for her wartime role of `Forces Sweetheart' she would by now be a mostly forgotten singer of the 30's & 40's. `We'll Meet Again' was her incredibly popular wartime radio programme with songs and personal messages to those serving abroad. Her gruelling visits to the Far East to entertain the troops also considerably enhanced her popularity. She has of course has never quite been out of the news and such is her popularity that her songs are still regularly heard on air. In August 2009 she became the oldest person to have a Nos1 chart-topping disc called `We'll Meet Again-The Very Best of Vera Lynn'. This September the BBC showed an excellent one-hour documentary on her life and times, mention was made of the three films she made during the wartime.
A search on Amazon found this box set having done my research, I found that surprisingly she only made four films during her career; the fourth film was a Danish film in which she had a cameo role.
The best of the films is `We'll Meet Again' (1942) Humble chorus line dancer Peggy Brown (Vera Lynn) is discovered by the BBC and gets her own radio show but she proves unlucky in love when the soldier she hopes loves her (Donald Gray) falls for her best friend Ruth (Patricia Roc) instead... Songs: Be Like The Kettle And Sing, Ave Maria, All The World Sings A Lullaby, I'm Yours Sincerely, We'll Meet Again, After The Rain (With Geraldo & His Orchestra). There is lots of amusing situations/dialogue set against a backcloth of London in the Blitz and of course plenty of excuses for a song!
Nearly as good is `One Exciting Night' (1944) In wartime London, Vera Gets mistaken for the girlfriend of a famous composer and invited to sing at a charity gala--but criminals chasing a precious Rembrandt painting might just spoil her big night! Songs: It's Like Old Times, There's A New World Over The Skyline, One Love My Prayer, You Can't Do Without Love, It's So Easy To Say Good Morning (with Bert Ambrose)
The last title' Rhythm Serenade' (1943) is somewhat disappointing though the appearance of Jimmy Clitheroe is welcome, Vera does not seem to enjoy this film nearly as much as she obviously enjoyed the others. I properly will not bother to watch again this disc again. While converting a big empty house for evacuee children, Ann Martin (Vera Lynn) Ann stumbles upon a mysterious stranger who may be a conscientious objector--or a German spy! Songs: The Sunshine Of Your Smile, Home Sweet Home Again, I love To Sing, Bye And Bye, So It Goes On, With All My Heart, It Doesn't Cost A Dime.
Overall the sound quality on all three discs was really excellent and the picture quality very good for the period, there was very little evidence of wear and tear/ damage on the masters used, however on `Rhythm Serenade' title there was a period of about 15mins where the picture was a little unsteady/wobbly. No extras so I have put one of the discs in a double case and added the very good BBC documentary on her. If you like Vera Lynn and her songs a very worthwhile buy for Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great chance to own Vera's movies!, 8 July 2010
By 
R. Houghton (West Midlands England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Vera Lynn Film Collection [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
These movies are a 'must-have' for any film buff, or anyone interested in film musicals. they are also interesting in that they show many aspects of life in WWII. Vera's voice is clear and strong in these movies, and it's easy to see why she was so popular. Her acting may not be that good, but it seems to improve as each film progresses. I would highly recommend these films, as they've been a long time out of the public view, and who knows how long before they appear again, if ever?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A LOVELY SOUVENIR, 31 May 2010
By 
Dogpaddle (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Vera Lynn Film Collection [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
What a nice surprise to see these rarely seen (or even talked about) films available for viewing again. Turns out Vera Lynn wasn't just a great - and very distinctive - singer. She's also a charming screen presence. What she lacks in conventional movie star glamour, the lady more than makes up for in sheer likeability. It seems clear that, in their day, these films provided yet more reasons for Brits to love Vera. And all three pictures are loaded with fascinating details re day to day life on the homefront during the war years. Production values are modest but quite okay. "Rhythm Serenade"'s probably the weak sister on the set - but even it's not without its charms. Frederick Leister and Betty Jardine are hilarious in "We'll Meet Again", as Vera's BBC boss and his nervous wreck of a secretary. And Vera herself shows fine comic chops in the thoroughly endearing "One Exciting Night". Plus, of course, there's that wonderfully distinctive clarion singing voice that separates Vera Lynn from all the rest. Each film provides the star with plenty of chances to vocalize. I was particularly taken with her marvelous version of "Seems Like Old Times" in "One Exciting Night". If you have any affection at all for either Vera - or for old black and white musicals - I think you'll be happy with this set. The price is more than reasonable. And "We'll Meet Again" even provides additional icing on the cake with an appearance by ravishing Patricia Roc. Always a plus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars in the mood of the times, 23 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vera Lynn Film Collection [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
These are wartime films and they don't intend to be anything else. Uncomplicated, straight-minded pictures, which seem to be quickly made with a limited budget, aimed to keep spirits up and help with the wartime morale objectives, while the scattered songs provide entertainment. The three are centered in the home front. Vera Lynn plays women contributing one way or another to the war effort who have moderate trouble and adventure in their way : an artist in a theatre spontaneusly cheering the bombing-retained audience who will become a radio singing star, a volunteer caring for children and troubled soldiers alike while she is having a moral conflict between home front and military service, an unwillingly "demobilised" girl in search of an opportunity as a singer fighting an unexpected complot against a musical producer.
These are English movies, so one musn't expect ravishing adventures, gallant leading men, intense love affairs or luxurious night clubs as one should do in an American picture of the same period like the Betty Grable ones. And this turns to be a good choice, because they don't pretend to be more nor less than they are.
I bought them because I knew and liked Vera Lynn and Geraldo's music and this was an opportunity to see them performing. Yet the three titles have nicely surprised me as I had no further expectations, and maybe this is the best way to watch them and appreciate their uncomplicated charm and freshness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Congratulations In Order!, 26 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Vera Lynn Film Collection [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I have to consider that congratulations are definitely in order when a customer in the United States orders an item from Amazon UK and the item arrives as fast - or faster - than an items ordered from a vendor here within the United States. That is remarkable, and I congratulate Amazon UK for this type of customer service! It has happened more than once.

As for the item, itself, it is a treasure having the only three films made by this marvelous entertainer during the WW-II era together in a boxed set!

:-)
The Forestmeister
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Down Memory Lane, 13 Aug 2010
By 
J. Wise "John" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vera Lynn Film Collection [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Having just read her book I found this a complementary item. It might be very much of it's period, it's environment & made to cheer people up in very frightening circumstances, and not made for self acheivement & an Oscar. Having lived through this period myself I can only too well appreciate the good work they were doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Forces Sweetheart, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vera Lynn Film Collection [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I like all three DVD's but We'll Meet Again is my favourite. It must have meant so much to Our Troops during the war that young lady risked her life to sing to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings back memories, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vera Lynn Film Collection [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Hello;

Fantastic Film Collection by the Sweetheart of many a WWII Solder.
Brought back memories of listening to my parents talk about Vera Lynn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brill Vera, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vera Lynn Film Collection [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
My mum adores Vera Lynn and has enjoyed many of her CDs and DVDs. Another good buy for mum of 85.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Vera Lynn Film Collection [DVD] [2009]
The Vera Lynn Film Collection [DVD] [2009] by Walter Forde (DVD - 2009)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews