Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monster Album well worth the wait.
This was the last Alice cooper album i bought my best friend before he died in 2000. im so glad my buddy got to here Alice going back to heavy metal. Raise your fist and yell was our favourite album, and we had given up all hope of hearing Alice screaming snarling vicious lyric's again. Alice on this occasion invites us to a brutal vision of the world with wicked young...
Published on 31 Mar. 2008 by Safensecure 1

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Cruel to Be Kind
Once again Alice ups the ante by changing from metal to industrial nu-metal - sort of. As always, he pulls it off to a degree as he has chops in this genre and a long history of adapting to trends, but it ultimately fails as the majority of the album is pretty weak. Although it does sound quite hefty.

The title track is one of the good tracks. It's a great...
Published on 24 Nov. 2010 by ratmonkey


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A snip, 27 Nov. 2005
This review is from: Brutal Planet (Audio CD)
£12.99 buys you the best Alice Cooper Album since Billion Dollar Babies. Don't beleive me? ... Buy the album and hear for yourself; there's no point in trying to describe genius, cerainly not at this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 14 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Brutal Planet (Audio CD)
This album is far better than basically all industrial albums and many other metal albums. I wouldn't say thatit was Alices best, as that award goes to love it to death. This was good, but different. I would say it was better than trash and last temptation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BRUTAL BY NAME BRUTAL BY NATURE, 13 Jun. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Brutal Planet (Audio CD)
I felt that with "the last temptation" Alice had produced his finest work since Billion dollar babies. Now six years on he has sunk to the abysmal depths of Constictor, his worst work. This album is just as bad. While Take it like a woman is an excellent song and pick up the bones has some merit, there is nothing to distiguish one song from the rest. There is no relief from the grinding tuneless guitars and monotone vocals as one song drifts into the next, impossible to tell the difference. This seems to be the influence of his co-writer much the same as Kane Roberts metalised the cooper sound on Constrictor. This is a real shame and the sooner Alice gets back to working with some decent songwriters the better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 19 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brutal Planet (Audio CD)
Excellent selection of songs with Alice at his best.
Highly recommended to everybody loving AC's style, music and the atmosphere it creates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good lyrics starved of tunes, 6 July 2000
By 
A. Thirsk (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brutal Planet (Audio CD)
It has been quite a few years we have all waited to hear Alice's new album but it wasn't really worth it. On 'Brutal Planet' we are subjected to an hour of grunge metal with Alice's lyrics being shouted over the top like a ranting rapper. It only really becomes bearable on the last three tracks where a tune almost breaks out. The problem seems to be the lack of musical direction that has plagued Alice albums since the start of the 80's. The lack of a permanent group such as the original band(Bruce,Buxton,Dunaway and Smith) means that no song writing partnership has a chance to develop to fruition before it's all change and onto the next project with a new band. This album sadly lacks music with feeling to match the words. Anyone can make a heavy metal noise but whats the point. Alice has spoiled us with great rock in the past and his current work pales in significance. Perhaps what he needs is to search out his roots. If not perform with, at least write with the likes of Bruce,Smith and Dunaway and capture some of the originality of the early days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Man Behind The Mask Is Back!, 9 Jun. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Brutal Planet (Audio CD)
Alice is back! True, he sounds like a 3rd generation copy of himself, really like Marilyn Manson mixed with Metallica with lots of Alice thrown in - but what the hell: We've been waiting for this album for six years now! So enjoy - even though there are rarely hymns anymore but easy-to-play-on-stage metal songs, some of which seem to be leftovers from THE LAST TEMPTATION. Get up and buy the CD now, because THE MAN CALLED ALICE is still THE ONE & ONLY, AND WE'RE NOT WORTHY! PS: I was inclined to rate 4 stars because nowadays an album of only 48 minutes seems a bit 70s-LP-style, but being an Alice fan since 72...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1 MILLION TIMES BETTER THAN MARYLIN MANSON!, 16 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Brutal Planet (Audio CD)
This is THE most amazing album of the year! Move over marylin and cower in fear cradle of filth because the coop is back AND THERE'S NO PLACE TO HIDE! This album WILL be a CLASSIC for years to come even in the year 2050 people will be BEGGING for more! The tunes are hard and heavy and they blow your mind away faster than a speeding bullet! WERE NOT WORTHY! WERE NOT WORTHY! Most definetely the album of the year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Cd, even better ...LIVE!, 25 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Brutal Planet (Audio CD)
Heard this CD, then heard the same tracks live, and can honestly say, it is the best CD of the year so far. It is destined to become a rock classic, as all of his work to date.A performing legend who just goes from strength to strength. After having heard this, I can`t wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Alice Masterwork, 11 Jun. 2000
This review is from: Brutal Planet (Audio CD)
This album is pure class, and it's not cos im biased or anything, but it truly is amazing. Top tracks must be Eat Some More, Cold Machines, Pessi-mystic.....actually they're all great! Alice is back, and you now have no reason to deny this man the true adulation he deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to his brutal best, 4 Dec. 2000
By 
m3oswick@aol.com (Thetford, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Brutal Planet (Audio CD)
after listening to this CD i have to say i was hooked from the first chords of brutal planet. Deffinately the Coop's finest material since Trash, and with a lively rock beat all the way through, till "take it like a woman" this is a must for all Cooper fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brutal Planet
Brutal Planet by Alice Cooper (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews