Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a great but greusome summer read
I really enjoyed this book. I took it on holiday with me and by the end of the flight i was gripped and couldnt put it down. needless to say it didnt last long but it was a great read. all the characters are very belivable and although a little greusome in places it is well warrented when its used. This was a great summer read for those who like a little gore with their...
Published on 19 Jun 2011 by K. D. Squire

versus
29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slight but perfectly readable
This is the first book from the Amazon Encore programme that I have encountered. Set up to reprint books that might have missed their audience the first time round, it is a worthwhile attempt to give authors a second chance at finding new readers.

Daniel Annechino's thriller is not the most challenging read you will encounter. It is a fast-paced story of a...
Published on 7 April 2011 by Simon Tavener


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slight but perfectly readable, 7 April 2011
By 
Simon Tavener - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: They Never Die Quietly (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the first book from the Amazon Encore programme that I have encountered. Set up to reprint books that might have missed their audience the first time round, it is a worthwhile attempt to give authors a second chance at finding new readers.

Daniel Annechino's thriller is not the most challenging read you will encounter. It is a fast-paced story of a psychopath and the detective out to track him down - not particularly original but the writing zips along at a good speed and you are never bored.

There is a lot of violence in the book - described in some disturbing detail. So if that is not your kind of thing - probably best avoid it. However it doesn't feel gratuitous and it does add to the tension of the narrative.

I suspect this would be the sort of title you will pick up to take on holiday - undemanding and diverting enough to fill in an afternoon or two on the beach or by the pool.

Nothing substantially wrong with it - but nothing to really lift it above the many other books in this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars But this book should, 4 April 2011
By 
Michael Ward (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: They Never Die Quietly (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This first novel by a former book editor is a great disappointment. The plot is predictable, as are the characters, and the plot is not nearly as exciting as it needs to be to provide any interest in this somewhat overcrowded genre. The predictability of the characterisation is incredible; a single mother detective, fighting against sexual predjudice, is given the lead investigators position to hunt down a serial killer in the southern Californian city of San Diego, alongside her equally predictible hispanic, overweight assitant who is in love with her but too shy to tell her. How either of these characters could be so crass as to get themselves in the corners they manage to is asking the reader to set aside any good sense he/she might possess. If she really does suspect the tall, good looking, blue eyed, physiotherapist to be the sought serial killer, would she really have accepted his invitation out to dinner without any sort of back-up. And to ask us to believe that she picked his car out of the hospital parking lot as she drove through it as the perpetrator's car, well really. Sorry Daniel, but this one is just not good enough, back to the day job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit too fictionally aware!, 4 April 2011
By 
John W. Edelman - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: They Never Die Quietly (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I really wanted to like this book and the premise of the story promised to make for an exciting read. The story itself is good but the execution is, I am afraid, very poor. When I found myself laughing out loud at some of the dialogue uttered at what should have been the climax of the tensest part of the story, I had to wonder if I could have spent the time invested in this book more wisely.
The author seems to be unaware of how normal people speak. Some of the conversations give the impression of having been filtered through a mind that had only ever processed emotion or conversation through the medium of the comic book . The characters seem to be aware of the fact that they are fictional creations, calling the machinations and surprises that they experience and encounter "twists". Well, yes, they were, but I don't think I have ever heard anyone, real or fictional, refer to such events happening to themselves in this way.
As I say the story itself is good and when situations involving in-animate objects are described, perfectly readable but as soon as someone starts talking, interacting with another human being or thinking, realism makes a swift exit.
Maybe a co-writer would have helped this new author to realise what, as I say, is a good premise for an exciting story (Or an episode of TV's Criminal Minds).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Hand of an Inexperienced Author at the Keyboard, 4 Feb 2010
By 
Stephanie De Pue (Wilmington, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: They Never Die Quietly (Paperback)
"They Never Die Quietly," is the debut novel, a police procedural/ crime drama/thriller, of Daniel M. Annechino, a former book editor who spent over two years researching serial killer profiling, biographies, and novels before composing it. He is a native New Yorker who has relocated to the sunnier shores of Southern California where he has set his work, in the lovely navy town of San Diego.

His book tells us about homicide detective Sami Rizzo, a young, single mother who could stand to lose a few pounds, and has a testy relationship with her own mother, on whom she must rely for babysitting. She is ambitious, and is assigned to head a task force investigating the apparent appearance in the city of a serial killer, Simon, who is stalking, kidnapping, and murdering - in a particularly gruesome way - young mothers. Will she get too involved? Does the sun rise in the East and set in the West?

Annechino's plot is very linear, not particularly complex, and occasionally shows the presence of an inexperienced writer at the computer. The violent contents will sometimes make it tough going for the reader. Furthermore to judge by this work, Annechino is a lazy author. His narrative writing is serviceable enough, but he utilizes a lot of television-y plot shortcuts, and even more clichés; his characters are fifth- or sixth-generation photocopies, and he surely didn't lose much sleep crafting the killer's interior monologues with his dead mother. Nor does he render the State of California, or the lovely city of San Diego, with any fire or feeling. I think he'd better work harder on his projected sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Thrill-free cliche killer. Nothing new here, 27 Mar 2011
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: They Never Die Quietly (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The serial killer vs female detective niche is pretty congested and any new author who dives feet-first into this genre is taking a big risk. If you're treading in the slaughter-soaked footsteps of Clarice and Hannibal then you need to have some new tricks up your sleeve, or else be able to re-tell the same style of story with grit and verve and great characters.
Sadly, `They Never Die Quietly' has none of these attributes. It features an uninspired protagonist (female cop, battling the inherent sexism of the system, struggling to bring up her child without the support of her feckless ex-husband, can't stomach an autopsy without turning green, takes ludicrous and unnecessary risks which no real cop would ever consider), and a villain who felt like a tenth-generation faded Xerox copy of Norman Bates.
The writing is functional and gets you from page to page without any fuss, but it fails to inspire fear or any feelings of attachment. The plot is laid out for you in the back-cover blurb; once you've read that then you can pretty much fill in the other 250 pages for yourself. And there are a couple of descriptive sections - no doubt intended to impress us with background details of police infrastructure -- which feel like lists lifted straight out of Wikipedia.
It's a real shame: I relish being scared witless by taut serial killer stories which feature compelling, evil-and-attractive morally ambiguous characters. But there's nothing that sophisticated here. Just hammer in the nails and see if that'll shock people. I probably won't bother reading the follow-up book...
4/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a great but greusome summer read, 19 Jun 2011
By 
K. D. Squire (Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: They Never Die Quietly (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I really enjoyed this book. I took it on holiday with me and by the end of the flight i was gripped and couldnt put it down. needless to say it didnt last long but it was a great read. all the characters are very belivable and although a little greusome in places it is well warrented when its used. This was a great summer read for those who like a little gore with their crime novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The never die quietly -DM Annechino, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: They Never Die Quietly (Kindle Edition)
Started out better than I thought but then became cliche. How many times can you use the word onary ? It's North American English for painful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Simon says: Readable but unmemorable, 14 May 2011
By 
A. Chell "Avid reader" (Staffordshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: They Never Die Quietly (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
First, ignore the publisher's puff at the beginning of the book that claims "it stretches the limits of the serial killer genre". The only thing this book stretches is the number of cop story clichés it can squeeze into its 281 pages.

Single-parent cop? Check... Scumbag ex-husband sub-plot? Check... Unlikely coincidences? Check... Over-elaborate methods of killing? Check... Gung-ho approach to confronting the killer? Check... And so on.

Having said all that, it would be unfair to say I didn't enjoy the book. Despite the similarities to any number of detective novels, the pace of the story - no doubt aided by its relative brevity - never lets up and towards the end especially the desire to see what happens next is satisfyingly strong.

The characters, while stereotypical, are largely realistic and the emotional reactions of most of those involved in the killings ring true. Simon, the villain of the piece, is a religiously-motivated Norman Bates clone, however, and should really have been given a moustache to twirl while lying in wait for his next victim.

Ultimately, I would categorise this as a holiday book: an easy read that can be dispensed with in one go, or over a number of sessions, without too much concentration needed to avoid losing the plot threads. Should you leave it behind on the beach, though, you'll not shed too many tears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: They Never Die Quietly (Kindle Edition)
Wow what a book. For you people that are a little squeamish, then this is not for you. The plot involves a serial killer who believes that all women are sinners and need their souls saving. He targets women with small children and uses the child to get the mother to do what he wants, so that he can carry out his ritual. Sami and Al are the loveable detectives trying to solve the case. Even though half way through you knew was going to happen to Sami and Al, it did not stop me reading on as I needed to know how. The writer is very clever at leaving you with little cliff-hangers to keep you hooked. It was hard to put the book down and I found myself waking in the middle of the night to read more. An excellent book and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book. Kept me on the edge of my ..., 6 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: They Never Die Quietly (Kindle Edition)
Great book. Kept me on the edge of my seat all the way through. Very like a Graham Masterton book. It is a bit gory in places though, which might not appeal to some, but I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

They Never Die Quietly
They Never Die Quietly by D.M. Annechino
3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews