Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
30
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 September 2010
Excellent. Looking at a group of service men and women who get less attention than front-line soldiers, logistics personnel, but are still very much on the front-line themselves. We see upfront the dangers they face, and get to know a number of soldiers during their tour-of-duty. A good collection of extras with additional footage. It takes no political stand for or against the conflict, just shows us what these brave men and women face in Afghanistan.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 17 August 2013
Road Warriors in Afghanistan is an excellent documentary
and insight into the work of those members of the British
Army who operate the supplies life-line that keeps our
troops fed, watered and armed with all the equipment
required to keep them going in hostile territory.

On 2 discs, with 4 episodes originally shown on ITV,
plus 4 additional episodes titled The Extra Mile, we
follow these courageous men and women of the Royal
Logistics Corps, Mercian Regiment, REME, Royal Artillery
and others as they battle against desert conditions and
the Taliban to drive their trucks in unbelievably long
convoys to their destination facing terrifying odds.

Whilst not as much in the public eye, these soldiers
are as important as any of our frontline troops, who
could not function at all without the bravery and sheer
determination of this intrepid supplies team.

Filmed in Helmand Province, Afghanistan in 2009,
this is compulsive viewing for all those who admire
the courage of our military and wish to see how supply
and logistics are brought together.

2 DVD's 360 minutes viewing time.
With Subtitles.
Worth watching.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2010
I proudly wear The Armed Services Veteran's badge, I have lost a friend in every conflict since N.Ireland. I record programmes about Afghanistan.The Road Warriors,being close to my heart.as my Father served during both world wars in the then The Royal Army Service Corps( 40 years) 30 of which in The Indian Army.I myself served 23 years in The Royal Engineers ( 3years with EOD) and worked closely with The Logistic Corps.
I was more than pleased that this DVD was available so soon.
Ivor N. Smith.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 February 2011
We all know about the frontline troops, but most of us probably forget about support troops; the cooks, the medics, and of course the logistics units this DVD focusses on.

This follows a number of convoys ferrying food, water, ammo and other equipment across the deserts of Afghanistan, and shows - like many other British TV shows of the last few years - what being a soldier nowadays is really like. It's fascinating viewing, and well worth watching for anyone who's interested in the less combative side of war.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2015
Absolutely amazing insight to the courage and braveness of troops. This DVD is about getting supplies to our front line, how the have to overcome deadly hazards in Afghanistan. If you love anything to do with the army, this is a great DVD. Also a well deserved contribution to Help for Heroes . My and my husband were hooked, hats off to these brave soldiers!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2010
Very very brilliant first hand stories of a dirty "minor" war, made of sun, hot, sand, dust and ambushes. Warrior may be an exagerated definition for logystics personnel, but not in Afghanistan, where at any moment a suicide bomber or a IED may destroy the trucks loaded of vital equipment and food, water, ammunition and all the needs of the combat troops. Enjoy these DVD at a very bargain price.

Italian extended review.
Un prodotto interessantissimo che mostra un lato "minore" della guerra. Da sempre i riflettori sono puntati sui cambattenti di prima linea, ma carristi, parà e "operativi vari", soprattutto nei moderni scenari, potrebbero fare ben poco e per pochissimo tempo, se non avessero dietro una complessa ed efficientissima macchina logistica. Come diceva Patton "I miei uomini possono anche non mangiare, ma i miei carri hanno bisogno della benzina per muoversi". In Afghanistan, come in altri scenari passati (dal Vietnam alla campagna di Russia), i "logistici" devono affrontare non solo le problematiche intrinseche del proprio lavoro, ma devono attrezzarsi per difendere e proteggere se stessi e i rifornimenti trasportati fino alle basi avanzate.
Questo documentario combat racconta in presa diretta e molto realisticamente cosa voglia dire oggi, in Afghanistan, tra IED e natura ostile, rifornire le truppe sul campo. Se un domani vi capitasse di incontrare uno di questi "trasportatori di scatolette" dopo aver visto il DVD, NON lo guarderete certo con sufficienza .. anzi ...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2012
I received the DVD very quickly. The actual product was well described and lived up to expectations. It is a great insight to what role the Royal Logistic Corps do now. They have definitely changed perspectives.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2010
One of the best documentary I've seen A+++
Road Warriors In Afghanistan [DVD] [2009]
review image
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2010
A very good acount of the people behind the the baynets, but as one of the RAMC medics there was no coverage of us on the video but was on the program on TV
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2010
A good production with excellent photography and action sequences spoilt by the excessive on-camera attention to a female driver whose constant use of foul language did her or the Army no favours. I would have preferred to see (and hear) more from other personnel who made up these highly dangerous convoys.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.00

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)