Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three of the best James Bond continuation novels
This year saw the release of new adult Bond novel, Devil May Care, by the celebrated novelist Sebastian Faulks, and the press frequently said it was the first James Bond novel since Ian Fleming. Not true. There have be over a dozen "continuation novels", including six books by Raymond Benson (author of the The James Bond Bedside Companion).

All of Benson's Bond...
Published on 29 Dec 2008 by John Cox

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Flemming must be turning in his grave
I bought this to read during the summer, while my wife was reading the kindle. So far the summer has been good but the book is terrible.
If it were not for the sex, these stories would be more suitable for a "Boy's own paper."
Benson thinks that sex (too explicit) and action characterises Bond. Fleming's bond was a rounded and believable character;...
Published 26 days ago by rtrefuif


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three of the best James Bond continuation novels, 29 Dec 2008
By 
John Cox (Studio City, CA) - See all my reviews
This year saw the release of new adult Bond novel, Devil May Care, by the celebrated novelist Sebastian Faulks, and the press frequently said it was the first James Bond novel since Ian Fleming. Not true. There have be over a dozen "continuation novels", including six books by Raymond Benson (author of the The James Bond Bedside Companion).

All of Benson's Bond novels are terrific 007 adventures (all set in present day), and he really hit his stride with these three books, which are loosely connected and form a "trilogy" within his series (similar to Fleming's "Blofeld Trilogy"). High Time To Kill is, IMO, one of the very best James Bond novels ever written, taking Bond to Tibet for a high altitude mountaineering adventure. Doubleshot is a bold and experimental Bond novel which finds Bond mentally impaired (due to injuries in the last book) to the point of fearing he may be going insane. Never Dream of Dying is a fantastic book with Raymond's best female character and relationship.

With Benson's Bond novels now all out of print, it's great to have these novels collected. For those who read Devil May Care and are craving more post Fleming 007, this is the book for you.

But what's most exciting about this release for me is that it includes the full and uncut version of "Blast From The Past," Benson's first James Bond short story. This story was only ever published in Playboy, and this full version has never before been published in English.

Here's hoping Benson's remaining Bond novels (and short stories) will be collected as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Riveting Read!, 3 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. R. A. Jones "AL" (North Wales, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Union Trilogy is a terrific start for anybody interested in reading Bond. Just like the films, there's action, women, guns, baddies and intrigue!

In this stellar paperback collection, not only are we treated to a new forward by the author, the brilliant Raymond Benson, but also a marvellous, action-packed short story. But the main attraction are the three novels, placed sequentially, and chronicle 007's adventures against the freelance terrorist organisation "The Union", led by the enigmatic Le Gerant.

The first book "High Time to Kill" draws comparisons with the Sly Stallone flick Cliffhanger, and sees a secret formula made by the British military stolen by a traitor and wind up on the very top of Mount Kangchenjunga - the third highest mountain in the world. The Russian Mafia, the Chinese, the Belgian, and The Union are after it. And so is James Bond. "High Time to Kill" is a marvellous read, and is a thrill ride from the start and onwards.

The second novel, "Doubleshot", finds James Bond weary and wounded after the events in the previous book, and he wants revenge from The Union; and they want revenge from him too. Framed for the death of lady friend, and a searing head injury inducing frequent black outs, Bond goes rogue and follows the trail to Spain, where he meets the evil and deranged former matador Domingo Espada, who wants to see Gibraltar taken from Britain and returned to Spain. Under the vicious undercurrent of evil and the blistering Spanish sun, The Union are drawing 007 into a trap, and have also surgically crafted a double for Bond; who naturally wreaks havoc around Gibraltar, murdering innocent citizens and forcing M16 to believe that Bond is now working for the enemies.

The third novel in the trilogy, "Never Dream of Dying", begins with 007 and long-time ally Rene Mathis involved in a police raid on a film-making soundstage in Nice. It goes horribly wrong. Soon, Bond is enveloped in the world of show business, and is certain that the producer of a new potential blockbuster filmed on the waves of Corsica is somehow working for The Union. Bond winds up falling in love with the producer's estranged wife, and they begin a tempestuous relationship. It's worth pointing out that there's a page here which includes intimate details of their sexual relationship, which I found rather off-putting as there was nothing left to the imagination. Despite this one flaw, the book makes for a startling finale to the trilogy as Bond is reunited with his former father in law and finally meets the leader of The Union.

The Union Trilogy is a riveting read from start to finish, its 835 pages an incredible bargain, and a perfect reminder of how exciting and involving the James Bond novels really are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Flemming must be turning in his grave, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this to read during the summer, while my wife was reading the kindle. So far the summer has been good but the book is terrible.
If it were not for the sex, these stories would be more suitable for a "Boy's own paper."
Benson thinks that sex (too explicit) and action characterises Bond. Fleming's bond was a rounded and believable character; Benson's is, by comparison, a cardboard cut out.
Apart from Paris, I have not been to the locations described in the book and cannot say if Benson has done his research. He certainly has not researched the weaponry, I have detected several mistakes.
Bond does not live comfortably in the 21st century; he should have died with his creator .
If you want a good action yarn with a plot (in fact several interweaving plots) read Clive Cussler's "Ghost Ship"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a gift!, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My grandson was delighted with this book, he is a great 007 fan.. well worth the money and an excellent buyer to do business with I received good customer service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blast From The Past, 15 Jan 2013
I agree absolutely with the majority of reviewers here that these 3 novels are the best of Benson's 007 output. A more assured writer by his 3rd novel, the plots here are imaginative and the style more varied than simple Fleming pastiches, while Bond's character is both faithful to the originals and well developed. There hasn't been much said of Benson's 1st 007 fiction, Blast From The Past (1997), published in the UK for the 1st time.

For over a decade this short story was the holy grail for book Bond fans. Published only in Playboy and to allow Benson a warm up, it was made all the more tantalising by featuring not only Bond's son by Kissy Suzuki, but the return of a Fleming villain. Gardner always maintained he'd been barred from using James Suzuki, so maybe it was stipulated that Benson could only use them once and in this form? When the unedited story (the Playboy version was a 3rd shorter) finally appeared it could never have lived up to expectations. Hence the 5 star trilogy, but a 3 star short story.

Score: 6/10. At first sight it's a piece of adolescent fan fiction, but a welcome reaction to John Gardner's later Bond books. Gardner was a good writer, producing several great Bond novels in the 80s; but a more mixed bag in the 90s had proved overly dry and serious. Here, by contrast, Bond is the unreconstructed man from the original books. There's a focus on action in the form of chases and gunfights in line with the 90s films. The style is modelled on Fleming too: detached, clipped, detailed, loads of verbs and very readable.

On the other hand it's very much 'Fleming-light'- like hundreds of other thrillers. Don't count on much characterisation and there's no denying that the prose is pretty lacklustre. To be fair, this was also Benson's 1st ever published writing, but it's far from (as one critic put it) 'the smoky drawl of the Mayfair clubman' of the originals. But it's hard not to admire its sheer cheek. There's a wealth of continuity here, covering Fleming, Gardner and even John Pearson's `Authorised Biography'. The sex is very much in the letters to Penthouse/ Playboy league (I could've done without the final scene -too much information) but it's all pretty harmless and Benson's writing improved markedly over the years. As an audition piece it's singularly inauspicious, but it should be read in the spirit intended: after some very sombre 007 novels in the early 90s, things were going to be fun again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Benson's hidden Bond Gem, 28 Jan 2010
By 
D. Ward "Snowman2k" (Oakwood, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Blast from the Past was a story I have been waiting to read for over ten years and it didn't disappoint, with a good strong tie-in to previous Fleming characters. Shame it was only a short story but it works and makes purchasing this volume worth the price.

The Union trilogy is Bond at his best in Benson style, every part is fast paced, up to date (well late 90's anyway) and more graphic than what Fleming treated us to. I can't wait for the follow up volume later this year "Choice of Weapons" with two more extra hidden Benson Bond gems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of pace, chases and action, 12 Jan 2010
The other reviews give a nice overview of the stories so I'll just comment on my views of the trilogy itself.

The pacing is excellent and you're never left hoping for the chapter to hurry up at any stage. Benson's writing style or vocabulary isn't ground breaking, but he has a way of making any topic exciting - when I read the first story would involve a pursuit up a mountain I half rolled my eyes, figuring I'd be bored out of my brains, but when I read the story it was actually one of the best parts of the trilogy as Bond encounters Russians and exciting fight scenes within his own camp upon his ascent.

What I liked also about this trilogy was how mad the main bad guy came across, there's none of this Quantum of Solace (the film adaptation) business where the bad guy is a pathetic weed that ruins how believable the fundamental plot is. The way The Union brand their members with an 'eye tattoo' was another enjoyable touch - far fetched but physically possible, just how I like my Bond villains and gadgets.

I read the entire book in a couple of days that's how much I was hooked into it, each story flows neatly into one another and the way things come to a head at the Cannes Film Festival is fantastic. Never Dream of Dying would make for a great film IMO.

Negatives? Well one thing I could say is that Benson is *far* raunchier than Fleming or John Gardner with his description of Bond's female acquaintances. Where Gardner/Fleming would politely point out that a female was attractive, Benson borders on trashy teen novel with his build ups (and narrations to its "completion"!) of Bond's sexual encounters. It can become a little cheesy but it happens infrequently enough to not really be of concern and doesn't detract anything from the trilogy - it's ultimately no worse than the stuff you've seen in the film adaptations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bond is back, 17 Jun 2010
By 
G. M. Dobbs "gmdobbs" (wales, uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I originally read these novels when they first came out and loved them - the Mafi-like Union really is a sinister organisation. I fancied reading these again and this new collected edition offers great value for money. I can't wait for Choice of Weapons which collects the other three of Mr. Benson's original Bond novels - I have this on pre-order. Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Time to pension off 007, 1 Nov 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Raymond Benson took over the 007 'franchise' from John Gardner in the late 1990s before passing the baton to Sebastian Faulkes who has in turn passed it on to Jeffrey Deaver whose contribution we will see next year. This trilogy of Benson's has all the ingredients: fast pace, exotic locations (Gibraltar - exotic? Hmm!), nasty villains and plenty of thugs, plus a few hot babes of course! But, the mercenary outfit The Union is not quite in the same league as SPECTRE and their blind leader 'Le Gerant' lacks the 'wow' factor of Ernst Stavro Blofeld (who was better in the movies than in Fleming's books anyway).

Benson makes the sex more explicit than Fleming ever dared, but he gets the snobbery and the sadism pretty well on the button. These three stories are blatantly cinematic (Benson also wrote the 'novelizations' of three Pierce Brosnan Bond-films) with their hotel fights and helicopter shoot-outs, casino scenes and motorbike chases.

HIGH TIME TO KILL, the first of the trilogy, climaxes on Mount Kangchenjunga in the Himalayas and is as good as anything Gardner contributed. Sex and treachery at 7,9000 metres!

DOUBLE SHOT has Bond foiling a Union plot to assassinate the British and Spanish prime ministers in Gibraltar. Bull-fighting replaces mountaineering. Only so-so.

NEVER DREAM OF DYING has a Hollywood movie production in the South of France being used to camouflage an outrage at the Cannes Film Festival. Bond not only comes face to face with 'Le Gerant', at last, but is also reunited with Draco, the Corsican gangster whose daughter Tracy was - all too briefly - Mrs 007 in On Her Majesty's Secret Service. Bond falls heavily for a Hollywood actress, a high-IQ bimbo who would surely be dumbed down in a movie version. This one is pretty woeful.

But, we need to remind ourselves that Ian Fleming knocked off a few duds himself: The Spy Who Loved Me and Octopussy, to name but two (neither much improved by being filmed with Roger Moore). So far, none of his 'disciples' has come close to Fleming at his best: Casino Royale, From Russia With Love and Moonraker (two of them decently translated to the screen with Connery and then Craig, Moonraker representing a low point in the movie cycle recently matched by the dire Quantum of Solace.

If MGM can recover from their financial hiccups (or sell the franchise on), they should rethink their policy on Bond. Patchwork screenplays like Die Another Day and Quantum and the two written for Timothy Dalton (who in my view came the closest to capturing the essential 007 of the novels) need to be junked in favour of remaking the early Connery Bonds like From Russia and Dr No, which had strong plots and memorable characters.

Otherwise it may be time to lay James Bond to rest. In the 'real world' he'd have one of Ken Livingstone's Freedom Passes by now - and might also be boring the incontinence pants off the other residents in a twilight home!

Let's hope Jeffrey Deaver can breathe fresh life into our hero.

[Reviewer is the author of SHAIKH-DOWN]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews