Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Christmas release
An excellent festive accompaniment to The Lancashire Hotpots' collection. This release also has 12 Karaoke tracks of some of their best song for you to sing to, perfect for mp3+g karaoke players. Don't forget about Jesus Christ guys, Hhhhh!
Published on 17 Dec 2009 by Paul Goodyear

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Satisfied again
Another batch of silly ditties, to many repeats of earlier issues.
Would still recommend to newcomers.
Published on 8 July 2010 by Bernie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Christmas release, 17 Dec 2009
By 
An excellent festive accompaniment to The Lancashire Hotpots' collection. This release also has 12 Karaoke tracks of some of their best song for you to sing to, perfect for mp3+g karaoke players. Don't forget about Jesus Christ guys, Hhhhh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hotpots come up trumps again, 2 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: The Lancashire Hotpot's Christmas Cracker (Audio CD)
Great Christmas album that isn't too festive so should be able to listen to it all year round. Happy Non-Denomination Winter Festival Celebration, Gaviscon Christmas and The Trafford Centre are my personal favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite Lancy Hotpots album!!, 11 July 2011
By 
Si "Mozzer's nuts" (Lancashire, England, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lancashire Hotpot's Christmas Cracker (Audio CD)
The appeal of this album hit me almost immediately and things like that tend to worry me, as what often happens is I go off them all too soon afterwards! I sincerely hope this doesn't happen with this gem of an album, as it really is a joy to listen to, from start to finish. Probably on a par with, or possibly slightly better than Never Mind The Hotpots, and definitely more consistently good than Pot Sounds (even though that is also very good obviously), this album contains so many of my now favourite Hotpot's songs. Phew, What A Scorcher ('It's hotter in Morecambe than it is in Majorca!'), It's Cliff-mas Time and Santa Eckerslike are all incredibly catchy and standout tracks, but my favourites have to be the Wham - Last Christmas parody Gaviscon Christmas (complete with some hilarious lines about eating and drinking way too much at Christmas, including 24 cans of ale before the Queen's speech even!), The Trafford Centre (which conjures up images of last minute panic Christmas shopping and features a very tuneful folk melody which sounds very like something I've heard before . . . but I can't quite put my finger on it!), and then the final 'proper' song Carry You Home, which to me sounds very like Show Of Hands, and is actually removed from the general 'humorous' feel of the rest of the album in that it is quite a heartfelt and poignant little song to finish proceedings. This, for me, works very well. I must admit, I was sceptical at first about the 12 Karaoke songs including on this disc, but I gave it a listen and it's a very welcome addition. Jolly fun too!!

As a fan of other (slightly) similar bands such as Half Man Half Biscuit, I would say The Lancashire Hotpots stand out and are the most 'fun' to listen to. Whereas HMHB tend to occasionally lean towards the wrong side of cynisism (whilst still being very witty, intelligent and often funny), The Hotpots keep things much more enjoyable, and in many ways simple, whilst still delivering some witty and memorable lines, together with some very good tunes.

This album is a must have for fans of The Hotpots, and also would appeal to many other people too (with a sense of humour). I am a serious music fan, and while this is laugh out loud funny, it is also for me a really good album musically. Buy it, it will make you happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Satisfied again, 8 July 2010
This review is from: The Lancashire Hotpot's Christmas Cracker (Audio CD)
Another batch of silly ditties, to many repeats of earlier issues.
Would still recommend to newcomers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lancashire Hotpot's Christmas Cracker (Audio CD)
hilarous
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lancashire Hotpot's Christmas Cracker (Audio CD)
So pleased with this album. Made me chuckle and gave me something different to play on Christmas day! Love the Hotpots anyway!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it just for Cliff-mas, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lancashire Hotpot's Christmas Cracker (Audio CD)
Forget about Nat King Cole this Christmas, this one's a cracker!
Once you've given this a listen there's also a karaoke album too. One for after the pub
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lancashire Hotpot's Christmas Cracker (Audio CD)
Good Fun - makes a nice change from normal christmas music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lancashire Hotpot's Christmas Cracker
The Lancashire Hotpot's Christmas Cracker by The Lancashire Hotpots (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews