Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buy this lens.
i wasn't expecting any great shakes considering it was 18ish shipped. it's amazing. i had a kenro one i'd spent about 70 on that got dropped by a butterfingered assistant, needed this in a hurry and funds were tight. it's got very minimal vignetting even at the widest angle (using with a 17-50mm f2.8 sigma) the optical quality is clear and sharper than you'd expect,...
Published on 17 Oct 2010 by PeteLoaf

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 50% Useless
for ages i was considering getting one. reading reviews. and after getting it realised that i barely use it and just drag it around in the camera bag ( it's very heavy)
i used the micro ring part a few times and played around with the rest to get fun effects. now i know that it is not a replacement for a wish eye, or a super wide angle, or a micro. it is a fun tool...
Published on 20 Feb 2012 by ussf


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buy this lens., 17 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 67MM Wide Angle WIDEANGLE Fisheye 0.43X Lens for NIKON D90 D80 D50 D40 D40X D70 D70S 70-300mm 18-70mm 18-135mm CANON 70-200mm F4 IS USM 70-200mm 24-85mm 17-85mm (Electronics)
i wasn't expecting any great shakes considering it was 18ish shipped. it's amazing. i had a kenro one i'd spent about 70 on that got dropped by a butterfingered assistant, needed this in a hurry and funds were tight. it's got very minimal vignetting even at the widest angle (using with a 17-50mm f2.8 sigma) the optical quality is clear and sharper than you'd expect, the macro filter produces lovely results, colour reproduction is good and it feels sturdy. finish is good, basically i think this lens is worth a lot more than the price i paid.
as for the actual wide angle, it's deceptive. it does widen things a lot, but if you're looking for bulbous fisheye distorted pics, look elsewhere. this just widens your field of view, the distortion is relatively minimal.
the only thing i'll add is that it's a big heavy bit of glassware. if you have a lens that focuses internally, go nuts, buy one. if your lens focuses externally, like the entry level lenses on most digital slr's (nikon d60 for example) then you'll find over time this negativel affects the life and function of your autofocus cos it puts strain on the delicate teeny motors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for the price, 4 Jun 2010
By 
David (Shropshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 67MM Wide Angle WIDEANGLE Fisheye 0.43X Lens for NIKON D90 D80 D50 D40 D40X D70 D70S 70-300mm 18-70mm 18-135mm CANON 70-200mm F4 IS USM 70-200mm 24-85mm 17-85mm (Electronics)
I hadn't expected sparkling results from this adapter but was pleasantly surprised with its overall performance. I bought this as a stopgap to address the problem of DX sensor size introducing a 1.5x factor to the focal length of lenses. This adapter effectively puts the lens back towards its original coverage angle. I have tried it out on a 28-100mm zoom lens (62mm filter size so stepped up to the 67mm of the adapter - that, incidentally is how I suppose the seller can claim it fits all the lenses in the ad!)) and was also surprised to see it works quite well on a 28-105mm lens (using a step-down ring 72-67mm - usually not a good idea) with little vignetting. From other comments it looks as though use in combination with lenses of less than 28mm or so there is likely to be some fall-off towards the edges. Couldn't verify that properly myself - my 20mm lens diameter is too wide at 82mm to sensibly try it out. For the price - can't complain at all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 67mm Wide Angle Lens Converter, 3 Feb 2011
This review is from: 67MM Wide Angle WIDEANGLE Fisheye 0.43X Lens for NIKON D90 D80 D50 D40 D40X D70 D70S 70-300mm 18-70mm 18-135mm CANON 70-200mm F4 IS USM 70-200mm 24-85mm 17-85mm (Electronics)
Fitted onto the end of my Nikon D80 18-135mm lens without problems but does make the camera front heavy. At 18mm the lens does produce a slight fish-eye effect around the edges of the picture but also softens them with the corners darkening. Other zoom settings give a tunnel effect with blurring increasing towards the centre as you zoom in. Would more describe this as an effects filter than a lens but build quality is good and would recommend for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Neewar Wide Angle lens, 12 Feb 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 67MM Wide Angle WIDEANGLE Fisheye 0.43X Lens for NIKON D90 D80 D50 D40 D40X D70 D70S 70-300mm 18-70mm 18-135mm CANON 70-200mm F4 IS USM 70-200mm 24-85mm 17-85mm (Electronics)
lens is well finished.black anodised.coated lenses.With Nikon D90 surprisingly sharp,falling off a little at the extreme edges.Some cut-off at 4 corners
not a true fish eye but a wide angle adaptor.Macro lens is approx 10 dioptres and works quite well.
For the money represents good value.Well packed and rapid delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, considering the price, 15 Nov 2010
By 
Michael (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 67MM Wide Angle WIDEANGLE Fisheye 0.43X Lens for NIKON D90 D80 D50 D40 D40X D70 D70S 70-300mm 18-70mm 18-135mm CANON 70-200mm F4 IS USM 70-200mm 24-85mm 17-85mm (Electronics)
This is a fun accessory, and I'd recommend it if you're not keen to commit to spending a lot of money on a super wide-angle or fisheye lens. The 0.43x gives a wide angle with (relatively) little distortion, certainly compared to a true fisheye.

The optics aren't bad, certainly for the money - attached to my 18-105mm lens with a D90, the resulting images are a little bit soft, and there is a bit of chromatic aberration toward the edges, but you have to look for it and it's fine for web use or small prints i.e. for most peoples purposes. I lose a bit from the corners at 18mm to about 30mm, but Barrel Distortion Correction (in Paint Shop Pro) takes seconds and pretty much removes it all, still leaving a much wider angle image.

It's very heavy (260g, a little over 1/2 a pound) but since the 18-105 focuses internally I wouldn't worry overly, however I wouldn't want to walk around much with it attached.

All in all I think it's very good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars wide angle adaptor, 26 Feb 2010
This review is from: 67MM Wide Angle WIDEANGLE Fisheye 0.43X Lens for NIKON D90 D80 D50 D40 D40X D70 D70S 70-300mm 18-70mm 18-135mm CANON 70-200mm F4 IS USM 70-200mm 24-85mm 17-85mm (Electronics)
this wide angle adaptor works with my 18-105mm Nikon lens. However vignetting at all corners is visible at 18mm, but it's acceptable to me as for that price and there's no reason to complain. You can modify it slightly in photo editor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good for fun shots, 19 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 67MM Wide Angle WIDEANGLE Fisheye 0.43X Lens for NIKON D90 D80 D50 D40 D40X D70 D70S 70-300mm 18-70mm 18-135mm CANON 70-200mm F4 IS USM 70-200mm 24-85mm 17-85mm (Electronics)
For the price, this lens is great for a bit of fun and trying some new angles. It's never going to be of the quality of a Nikkor lens, but given those limitations, go for it! Bear in mind that it is heavy, so be careful when it's on the front of your camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality adapter, 30 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 67MM Wide Angle WIDEANGLE Fisheye 0.43X Lens for NIKON D90 D80 D50 D40 D40X D70 D70S 70-300mm 18-70mm 18-135mm CANON 70-200mm F4 IS USM 70-200mm 24-85mm 17-85mm (Electronics)
Previously I had bought a similar adapter (50mm wide angle + macro) with which I am very happy.
That's why I bought this adapter for my 18-105mm kit lens for my D90.

I did not expect to get perfect quality. But unfortunately, my 67mm wide angle+ macro adapter is of rather poor quality:
1. Until 35mm focus length one can see the limits of the adapter as a sharp vignetting effect.
2. Only the core of the photo is decently sharp, everything else is not focused (even at f/22 and above for a landscape shot).
3. The chromatic aberrations are quite strong especially for high contrast subjects.
4. All pictures taken appear as if I had used a soft filter.

I cannot recommend this adapter. Sure it's cheap but it really limits the fun since I can only use about 1/9th of a photo.

The package arrived within a very short time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Modest Price, Modest Performance, 24 Feb 2012
This review is from: 67MM Wide Angle WIDEANGLE Fisheye 0.43X Lens for NIKON D90 D80 D50 D40 D40X D70 D70S 70-300mm 18-70mm 18-135mm CANON 70-200mm F4 IS USM 70-200mm 24-85mm 17-85mm (Electronics)
In common with many of the other reviewers here I have been pleased with this 67mm Wide Angle lens adaptor.

I am using it on a Canon 50D body with EFS 17-85mm main lens. The x0.43 more than counteracts the x1.6 magnification produced by the small sensor size on the 50D.
So my best physical Wide Angle is 17 x 1.6 x 0.43 = ~12 mm. It is now possible to take indoor shots encompassing entire rooms while standing in a corner. As reported elsewhere the lens & adaptor together vignette at the corners, strangely more at the top of the image than the bottom (suggests the axis of my lens and backplane are not perfectly perpendicular). The focus is a little soft, so you will not be using your images at full resolution. Allowing for some post shoot cropping of the image to remove vignetting I would estimate I have a usable frame of 12MP down from the cameras 15 MP sensor and would then sample the image down to 6-8MP to improve the apparent focus.

All perfectly acceptable compromises, in my opinion, given the cost of the equipment.

I think the earlier reviews helped me understand what to expect from this adaptor, I agree with them, and I am happy with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 50% Useless, 20 Feb 2012
This review is from: 67MM Wide Angle WIDEANGLE Fisheye 0.43X Lens for NIKON D90 D80 D50 D40 D40X D70 D70S 70-300mm 18-70mm 18-135mm CANON 70-200mm F4 IS USM 70-200mm 24-85mm 17-85mm (Electronics)
for ages i was considering getting one. reading reviews. and after getting it realised that i barely use it and just drag it around in the camera bag ( it's very heavy)
i used the micro ring part a few times and played around with the rest to get fun effects. now i know that it is not a replacement for a wish eye, or a super wide angle, or a micro. it is a fun tool or a great paper weight.
picture quality was good, but you get big dark corners at 18mm DX format range
but what i do is some time hold it up with my 50mm prime when i need bit more field of view or a funky effect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb5bf4ee8)

This product

Only search this product's reviews