Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Honest Review from a huge fan of Britney Spears
To the long term hardcore fan this boxset is a lost oppertunity, its nothing like the multi disc 'unreleased' music collection many of us hoped for - especially with the 'Original Doll' unreleased album reduced to scratchy and echoed demo's and bootlegs. However reviewing the product for what it could have been is unfair.

The Ultimate Fans boxset is a perfect...
Published on 21 Nov 2009 by Pamela Wright

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A question of worth
I don't see much point in going on too much about the music in this collection - it's all Britney's previously released singles with some remixes and b-sides. You'll have heard all these songs before and either you like Britney enough by now to consider buying a greatest hits package or you don't. The girl's been around 10 years, we know what she's about by now...
Published on 20 Nov 2009 by H


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Honest Review from a huge fan of Britney Spears, 21 Nov 2009
By 
Pamela Wright "Marc Wright" (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Singles Collection (Audio CD)
To the long term hardcore fan this boxset is a lost oppertunity, its nothing like the multi disc 'unreleased' music collection many of us hoped for - especially with the 'Original Doll' unreleased album reduced to scratchy and echoed demo's and bootlegs. However reviewing the product for what it could have been is unfair.

The Ultimate Fans boxset is a perfect present for any Britney fan, possibly even more so for the casual fan who won't have many of the B sides and remixes. I'm a hardcore fan and don't have about 13 of the tracks as they are the AMERICAN b sides / remixes many of which haven't been released in the UK. The real money shot for the hardcore fan is the DVD which has pretty much all of Britneys music videos on it bar '3' 'boys' and the european version of 'Overprotected' thats still about 25 though.

For those that have followed Britney her whole career or jumped in the band wagon half way this is a journey through you're musical life over the last 10 years, being 23 this collection is the soundtrack to the highlights of my life so far and I know many many people who feel the same way...

Although not the extravanganza we wanted this is arguably the ultimate present for any Britney fan young or old, go on treat someone for xmas with it...go on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy anniversary, 6 Oct 2009
By 
AyJay (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Singles Collection (Audio CD)
2009 mark's Britney Spears' first decade as a recording artist and to celebrate she's releasing a new single (entitled '3') and a new greatest hits collection this November, which will be released in two formats; this Ultimate box set and a 17 track standard CD (tracklisting TBC).

While the standard edition will satisfy the casual fan, the Britney enthusiast needs more than one new song on the disc and this edition will fulfill those needs...

What we'll be getting in the Ultimate edition:

All of her singles
(including US only 'From The Bottom Of My Broken Heart', Japan only 'Outragous', promotional only 'Someday (I'll Understand)' and latest release `3')

[Each single will be individually packaged in its own slip sleeve case with original single artwork, and will include an additional b-side or a remix of the track].

A DVD of all Britney's music videos.

A booklet featuring iconic images and trivia about each
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for truly fans!, 6 May 2011
This review is from: The Singles Collection (Audio CD)
I already had some of the singles, but some of them were missed! The DVD doesn't have ALL the videos, which is really BAD! Also I think it should have the CD version with the top singles, including "3" in just one CD, it is annoying having to change CD everytime you want to listen to some songs all at once! Also, the booklet was a bit damaged...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A question of worth, 20 Nov 2009
By 
H (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Singles Collection (Audio CD)
I don't see much point in going on too much about the music in this collection - it's all Britney's previously released singles with some remixes and b-sides. You'll have heard all these songs before and either you like Britney enough by now to consider buying a greatest hits package or you don't. The girl's been around 10 years, we know what she's about by now!

The issue, I feel, is that although this is a nice way to repackage everything it's a pretty expensive one, particularly if you're a long term Britney fan who is more than likely going to already own these songs. While I don't think that's much of a barrier to a standard Greatest Hits CD, when it's a big expensive package like this it's a problem.

Namely, I think the problem is who they're aiming at. The best market for GH packages is the casual fan - they don't own every album, but like the songs they hear on the radio so to have a Greatest Hits which cuts out the filler is ideal for them. These fans, however, are unlikely to pay through the nose to own an artist's stuff and so this boxset is unlikely to move them (unless they're canny enough to ask for it as a Christmas gift). The kind of fans who are likely to pay a lot for an artist are the hardcore ones... but then these are precisely the fans who will already own everything she's put out and don't really need to spend so much on a boxset for the sake of a solitary new track. They'll already have the b-sides and remixes from the individual single releases.

Some people will always want to have every release for the sake of a full collection - if that's how you're looking at it, then this really isn't a bad package and if you tot up how much you'd spend on buying every single release individually, it probably works. But it's a lot of money to drop in one go and to be honest, if you're not a hardcore fan looking to complete the collection then I'd suggest you're far better off buying the standard edition than this box set. I love Britney, but this really isn't the most economical way of buying her stuff.

So in conclusion - I would suggest to most people that this boxset isn't the best way for you to buy this and you'll be better off buying the standard CD & DVD edition. You'll get fewer tracks, but it'll be more value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Satisfied, 4 Jan 2010
By 
Bakonyi Gábor (Bbudapest, Hungary) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Singles Collection (Audio CD)
Generally this product only for the fans. It looks great, but it has a few minor problems. The DVD is in 4:3 aspect ratio, though most of the videoclips are in 16:9. The box and the paper cases are not for regular use, just for 'showing-off'. The B-Sides are generally good.
As I said, it is a must have collection for the fans, but for the others probably, it may not worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Britney b***h!, 19 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singles Collection (Audio CD)
Ok going to start by saying the Girls Aloud boxset easily much better than this!!! I love Britney alot. this boxset groups the singles from her first 10 yrs. You'll find the singles on there on disc complte with b sides and remixes a dvd with 20+ videos on the dvd and a booklet full of facts and trivia!!!
its a great boxset!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 17 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singles Collection (Audio CD)
Maybe this is more for the casual fan who wants to own all of the singles for the first time, rather than the really hardcore fan though? I can understand people being disappointed that it doesn't offer much new for them, but personally I had a great time listening to all of the B sides and remixes, most of which I hadn't heard before. The disc with her music video's on is also fantastic to watch

My one complaint is that, while the presentation of the boxset looks fabulous, the box turned out to be very flimsy. Flimsy as in it was already torn a little at the hinges when I first received it, and within the first day it had snapped even more which is a bit disappointing. A metal boxset would have been a sturdier choice, especially for the money that it costs.

But that's my only complaint, otherwise I give five starts for the content
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GRESTEST COLLECTION EVER!!!, 14 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: The Singles Collection (Audio CD)
What can i say? This collection is amazing! It has so much stuff inside it. Including a DVD a trivia booklet of Britney's work from years ago, It has every single she has taken out and also the singles come with B-Sides Demo Songs and Remixes. I think if your going to buy this don't sit and think about it Just do it! you WON'T regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Something Kinda... Ooooh, is that IT?, 14 Jan 2010
By 
D. Martin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Singles Collection (Audio CD)
Myself and my partner both splashed out on Singles box Sets in the last 6 months. I bought The Girls Aloud Singles Box Set while he settled for this "excuse" for a Britney Box Set.

Let's compare the stats... :)

GIRLS ALOUD:
22 Discs (each disc having it's original artwork printed on it)
150 Tracks (a total of 13 hours of music) - approx 7/8 tracks on each disc (4 the least and 10 the most)
64 Page Booklet
Sturdy Metal Carry-Case Box
£45 when released

BRITTERS:
29 Discs (all discs carrying the same artwork printed on them)
58 Tracks (a total of 4, yes... a whole 4 hours!) - 2 tracks on each disc (Carbon footprint anybody?)
32 Page Booklet
Flimsy Cardboard Box (that incidentally got mullered in the post)
£70 (approx) when released

I WIN, I WIN, I WIIIIIN! :)

I have to say I do feel sorry for you Britney fans as this was such a wasted opportunity. Considering she's been around alot longer than the Aloud Girls the stats should have surely been the other way around. Oh well... you so know they're gonna re-release this with all the missing stuff when Britters hits 40 and milk you all again haha!

Over and out peeps :)

DESPERATE DAN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Britney Rocks!!!, 3 Dec 2009
This review is from: The Singles Collection (Audio CD)
love my singles collection box it amazing!!!! one problem the last single 3, it says on the cover u get the single itself, donni hotwheel megamix and groove police club mix, but it only plays the single and the club mix and on the cd itself it says 3 and the donni hotwheel remix, wot tht all about lol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Singles Collection
The Singles Collection by Britney Spears
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews