Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally...
I would reccommend this to anyone who, like me, has been waiting for EVER for a UK release of Season 2. Apart from a little bit of writing on the box, the disks are just the same as if it had been a UK release. The default on the disks is for English with no subtitles, and they contain all the extras of the US release. In fact, I prefer this to the Region 1 as the box art...
Published on 17 Sept. 2007 by Henry Dalton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A bridge too far...
The second season starts off well with supernatural elements being thrown into the mystery and humour we enjoyed from the first season. Upon a major story arc reveal and around episode 10 the series starts to faulter as some main characters disappear for obvious reasons. Guest stars keep the series fresh such as Miguel as Agent Albert, David Duchovny as Denise and Lynch...
Published 2 months ago by Naomi_B


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars A bridge too far..., 5 Nov. 2014
By 
Naomi_B (southport,england) - See all my reviews
The second season starts off well with supernatural elements being thrown into the mystery and humour we enjoyed from the first season. Upon a major story arc reveal and around episode 10 the series starts to faulter as some main characters disappear for obvious reasons. Guest stars keep the series fresh such as Miguel as Agent Albert, David Duchovny as Denise and Lynch as the lovable hard of hearing Gordon who is so sweet. However for me the show did not pick up again from 10 until the episode ' variations on relations' ( episode 19 on Amazon instant video) when we learn more of the lodges and the role they have been playing throughout the entire series. The supernatural plots really intrigue whereas the mystery we loved in season 1 and until the killer is revealed is sadly lacking in later episodes of season 2 and the side mystery plots of the mill and James involved in a film noir style murder plot just don't intrigue enough to keep the story going through 21 episodes (Amazon instant video). To be honest for me episodes 11-19 could have been condensed into one or two. Twin peaks suited being a mini series length rather than the longer second series. The ending isn't to everyone's taste but I like it and it certainly intrigues for the third season which has been announced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DELICIOUSLY WEIRD!, 27 Sept. 2007
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Sure, everyone has his/hers favorite TV shows, and preferences shift with seasonal mood, age and experiences. However, THIS IS TELEVISION AT HER BEST!

Atmospheric, mysterious, intriguing, smart,...Words are just not capable to describe this prematurely terminated series! Every time I watch it I discover another moment, another gem I treasure. Too bad it got treated as filler material resulting in its eventual cancellation.

The quality of the second season set is not exactly at par with the first: much less extra material (I was hoping for the spin-off commercials, especially the Japanese ones!). Yet the episodes are beautifully treated: image and sound do them justice.
After all, it is the episodes we bought it for.

Luckily, there is an Ultimate GOLD BOX available that includes both seasons and has everything a true fan would want (save a true sequel...).
My advice, opt for that one.

Buy it and make weekends out of it. Once in a blue moon a certain magic manifests amongst us. One that never fades.
And there is always music in the air.

How do I know? A gentle giant told me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DELICIOUSLY WEIRD!, 17 Mar. 2008
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Sure, everyone has his/hers favorite TV shows, and preferences shift with seasonal mood, age and experiences. However, THIS IS TELEVISION AT HER BEST!

Atmospheric, mysterious, intriguing, smart,...Words are just not capable to describe this prematurely terminated series! Every time I watch it I discover another moment, another gem I treasure. Too bad it got treated as filler material resulting in its eventual cancellation.

The quality of the second season set is not exactly at par with the first: much less extra material (I was hoping for the spin-off commercials, especially the Japanese ones!). Yet the episodes are beautifully treated: image and sound do them justice.
After all, it is the episodes we bought it for.

Buy it and make weekends out of it. Once in a blue moon a certain magic manifests amongst us. One that never fades.
And there is always music in the air.

How do I know? A gentle giant told me.

=======================================
UPDATE: There is now a GOLD EDITION release of both seasons - with all the extras one could desire! My advice: opt for that one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harry, you're all right, 31 Dec. 2009
By 
PD Waite "pauldwaite" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Plays just fine on English DVD players (or at least it does on my Mac), even in English by default.

As for the show, great stuff. Would have been better with fewer episodes, but it's still miles ahead of most things on TV nowadays, let alone back in 1991.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless Classic, 4 Oct. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
David Lynch was always a favourite of ours, but this DVD set is just out of this world. Thought provoking, multi-layered, genius TV. This one's in a league of its own. Unmissable. Sure, it's wierd at times and totally leftfield, but it is also touching, creepy, hilariously funny and an unadulterated feast of eye candy. Few series have such a variety of characterisation - some are soap-opera shallow, some are psychotically deep. Lynch's willingness to let go of the director's reins and let a bunch of other talents in on the action just adds to the texture in this dstunning tapestry. And David Lynch's own appearances are quite wonderful.

Waited a long time for this, as I was abroad when it was first shown on telly. It's priceless.

THANKS MR LYNCH!! LOVE YA!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Twin Peaks Complete Season 2, 6 April 2009
By 
Melvin Witt (Canterbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
4 stars - I too was eager to get twin peaks series 2 on DVD and took heart from other reviews saying that this it is much better to get this one than wait for any possible British release. As commented other than some dutch writing on the box, theres nothing to distinguish this from a regular UK release. No extras for the first 3 discs, but there are on the last 3. Very glad I made this purchase. Required purchase if you have the first box set. I think I purchased this through Amazon and best_of_dvd and it arrived comfortably under a week from purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just fabulous, 5 Sept. 2009
By 
A. Freegard (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I waited and waited for Season 2 to come out in England, years and years!!!! I was always a bit scared of buying the Dutch import....how silly was I? Finally fed up with the waiting I did it. Watching the season through was really good. You would not know it was a foreign import, apart from the back of the box, which is in Dutch, all the rest is English and the discs are default English too. So you just pop them in and play, simple.
Fabulous, if you enjoyed Twin Peaks and are fed up waiting...wait no more.....enjoy :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twin Peaks revisited, 31 Oct. 2009
By 
M. Smith (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent quality and fast delivery with no problems. Highly recommended for all Twin Peaks fans and those who have yet to enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars brings back memories, 15 Aug. 2009
Really enjoyed the dvd,brought back memories of when I first watched Twin Peaks on tv all those years ago! But importantly I had forgotten who killed Laura Palmer so really enjoyed that storyline! Once that is revealed the story brings in more characters and side stories.Its a shame the series was axed cause there was alot of those side stories left unfinished.Ive just started to watch the Fire Walk with me movie, so looking forward to see what thats like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth waiting for, 1 Dec. 2009
By 
C. Burton (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The original series was fantastic. Been waiting a long time for this second season boxed set. It has been well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Twin Peaks: Season 2 (UK Version) [DVD]
Twin Peaks: Season 2 (UK Version) [DVD] by Kyle MacLachlan (DVD - 2010)
£13.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews