Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars86
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 July 2007
With no set UK release date for season 2 your only way to make life complete would be to buy the separate volume 1 & 2 mainland european release but why do that when the Dutch have season 2 available as one complete boxset.

For the obsessive like me:
The six disc set is nicely presented, the two volumes are packaged gatefold style.

The front cover of the boxset is in English as are the front covers of volumes one & two, the writing on the DVDs is also in English.

Only the backs' of the boxset, volumes one & two are in Dutch.

Once you insert the DVD, you are asked to choose your language, the menu loads up in your respective language & then finally you get to watch season 2 in all its digitally restored glory.
0Comment|99 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2007
I would reccommend this to anyone who, like me, has been waiting for EVER for a UK release of Season 2. Apart from a little bit of writing on the box, the disks are just the same as if it had been a UK release. The default on the disks is for English with no subtitles, and they contain all the extras of the US release. In fact, I prefer this to the Region 1 as the box art ties in better with that of the Season 1 release. So don't hang around for them to eventually release it in the UK in two seperate parts, grab this one! :)
11 comment|53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"Twin Peaks" was the ultimate cult TV show -- suspenseful, complex, wittily written and with hidden layers that casual channel-flippers might not catch.

And while the long-awaited second season is not quite the brilliant experience that the first was, it's still an astoundingly good and convoluted piece of storytelling. With more episodes to fill out, David Lynch continued his exploration of small-town America -- too bad it didn't last more than this second season.

As the second season opens, there is major unrest for the inhabitants of Twin Peaks -- and a badly-injured Cooper (Kyle McLachlan) has a vision that may have something to do with Laura Palmer's death. But the murder investigation is only getting more bizarre, as Cooper learns of Laura's diary -- and discovers a bizarre twist in an already-bizarre murder investigation.

The mystery is solved mid-season, and the foreshadowing reveals who it is (or rather, who it SEEMS to be). But that's not the only plotline in the second season -- Lynch bestows a psychopathic ex-Fed, parasitic demons, a disastrous beauty pageant, strange caves, and a twin pair of "Lodges" that seem to exist outside space and time... which Cooper's murderous ex-partner is searching for.

The second season of "Twin Peaks" is, admittedly, not quite as good as the first season. The first season was tight as a drum, while the second has some storylines that run away from the writers. But even mediocre "Twin Peaks" is simply brilliant and bizarrely entertaining.

In fact, this season gets even weirder than the first. Lynch's quirkiness grows into total weirdness, full of symbolism, surreality and dirty little secrets right up the end. The series is sprinkled with what seems to be random weirdness, but as the complicated storylines wind on, the true meaning of them becomes clear. Now THAT is great writing.

And Lynch and Co. maintained the strangeness, and actually increased. The second season relies heavily on mysticism and the supernatural, like that whole Black-White Lodge clash, and all the storylines circling around it. Just look at that soul-in-the-wooden-knob story. And Lynch's warped sense of humor is still in place ("I haven't felt this excited since I punctured Caroline's aorta!").

Perhaps the biggest problem is the ending. ABC canned the series before Lynch could wrap up the various plotlines, so it ends with a lot of cliffhangers and no resolution. Be prepared to yell, "What next? What next?"

Coop grows even more likable in this season, as he comes face-to-face with some of the nastier aspects of Twin Peaks -- not to mention his own past. He even gets a motivating love interest. Other characters (such as the Log Lady) get more attention as well, but Coop's personal journey is perhaps the most intriguing.

A series like "Twin Peaks" only comes along once in.... well, decades. It's influenced other weird series ("Wonderfalls," "Lost," "The X-Files"), but the original is the best -- a stunning, creepy, bizarre headtrip. Must-have!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
During his early years David Lynch spent a long time working on a piece of stop-motion animation only to find out, once the film was developed, that there must have been a fault with the camera leaving him with little more than a strange blur. However, rather than being angry or frustrated, he was pleased by this strange accident and the results.

It's fair to say that Twin Peaks fell apart after the revelation of Laura Palmer's murderer halfway through season 2. Lynch had intended the mystery that formed the hook of the show to remain unsolved indefinitely, but the network wanted answers and his co-creator was up for it so the case was concluded, the ratings plummeted and quality declined. Perhaps the show might have had a fighting chance if Lynch hadn't been busy with other projects, leaving his precious little dream-world in the hands of others who didn't really have the skill to do it justice. The newly introduced bad guy Windom Earle went from intriguing enigma to 60's Batman villain, a slowly developing story arc was abandoned due to cast quibbles, the sub-plots were boring, new characters were lame... Like a great band succumbing to every rock'n'roll cliché, this once brilliant show crashed and burned.

Perhaps there was no avoiding this. A murder mystery isn't the kind of hook that you can leave running forever. If they'd really wanted it to be more about the oddballs & misfits of this small town they should've worked harder to develop the peripheral characters. Or maybe they should've given FBI agent Dale Cooper (the unofficial main character) another proper case to solve. It doesn't matter. What they ended-up with was a soap opera spoof/homage in every way, right down to the inevitable melt-down. It might not be what they intended, as no network would ever deliberately start running a show into the ground as an artistic choice. But perhaps, looking back at it after all these years, the death of Twin Peaks was an accidental blessing. After all, it is possible to have too much of a good thing.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 May 2007
"Twin Peaks" has been unfairly criticized for jumping the shark early. That's simply not true. Lynch and his films have never had easy resolutions. It's also clear that Lynch and Frost weren't exactly sure where they where going with the second season. the first season of the show with its mixture of surrealism, soap opera situations, suspense and melodrama caught on unexpectedly and created unrealistic expectations for the second.

Sure there were a handful of second season episodes that stretched the patience of the audience but overall the second season holds up quite well when compared to the first. A pity that "Twin Peaks" never had a "true" resolution (I know a lot of folks dislike the way the series ended. Reportedly Lynch and Frost did this to try and keep the network on the hook for a third season or TV movie).

First up, the show looks great. Lynch went back and supervised the transfers and the colors are more accurate than on the first season set that came out from Aristan in 2001. We get all 22 second season episodes. We also get Log Lady introductions. We get a selection of interesting interviews with production staff including directors Caleb Deschanel, Tim Hunter, Stephen Gyllenhaal, Jennifer Lynch, Tim Holland and various cast members in an "Interview Gird". Sadly, Lynch is absent but he always is for the home video presentations of his films so its not a surprise. That's OK as he is ably represented by the show itself. The show has a huge influence that impacted other shows like "The X-Files" (Duchovny's role as an FBI agent here and his casting in "X-Files" couldn't have been an accident and although he lacks the zen-like quality of McLaughlan)to even recent shows such as "Lost" and "The Lost Room". Interestingly, each of of these series has had problems with their resolution. As in magic it's not the set up per se that matters as much as bringing back the object that you made disappear. The longer the magic act the more difficult it is to pull it off. In retrospect although I don't like the way the second season ends (and would like to have a better more positive resolution as that's what was always hinted at to me in Agent Cooper's demeanor and approach), I'm not surprised it ended the way it did. A pity that Lynch didn't choose to do a movie sequel instead of a prequel. Perhaps with the popularity of this set and the impeding re-release of the first set (with yeah! the pilot)we'll see that happen. While I didn't like the end of the second season (and from what I recall both Lynch and Frost knew it wasn't coming back for a third), the show still is an enjoyable ride for fans. The way I imagine the series (which makes me feel a bit better about the conclusion of this show)is that all the events from the second season AFTER we find out who Laura's killer is was just...a dream (hey, it worked for "Dallas" and it makes the conclusion work a bit better for me).

David Lynch's visually stunning compositions and the writing that he and Mark Frost concocted kept viewers on their toes with funny and often weird touches. When the second season premiered many critics (and fans to be fair) were frustrated with the slow resolution of the central mystery--who killed Laura Palmer and why? The slower resolution allowed the show to blossom with interesting side stories (where I'm sure J.J. Abrams got his idea for the approach for "Lost"). That's not a surprise though since we had more than twice as many episodes as the short first season to cover much of the same ground.

The only problem I had was that when it comes to the main page where you select previews (where an Easter egg for "Inland Empire" is located) or main menu it freezes before moving forward on its own (I assume that's because there are no previews since I didn't see any). It's an odd hiccup and I can only assume it's a flaw in the disc.

The first episode of season two opens with Agent Cooper (Kyle MacLachlan) shot, bleeding and unconcious on the floor of room 315 of his hotel. After he recovers Cooper and Sheriff Harry S. Truman (Michael Ontkean) continue to unravel the mystery of Laura Palmer and other related mysteries. We also meet a cross dressing FBI agent (David Duvochny), a dwarf and giant along with the usual cast of bizarre characters during seson two. Frost, Lynch and the other writer/directors continue to mine the dry, deadpan humor that made this series work so well.

This groundbreaking series still works because of Lynch's weird, off-beat style, Frost's writing and the deadpan humor that the terrific cast gets to dish out.
11 comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2012
Nobody would buy Season 2 if they haven't seen Season 1, would they ? If you have seen Season 1 and liked it, you must see Season 2, mustn't you ?
But unlike Season 1 which has 7 episodes, Season 2 has 22 episodes. And we go for a very long and increasingly strange and self-indulgent journey into the bizarre.
How much creative control ?? Lynch and Frost have over this material is questionable.
After 14 we largely depart from the Laura Palmer story thread and progress in a more or less linear trajectory into the arrival of Windom Earl on the scene and the brief return of the ridiculous Bob.
Meanwhile we journey through Ben Horne's spectacular mental breakdown pausing from time to time at Nadines regression and subsequent love affair, Coopers suspension from the Bureau and Andy, Dick and Lucy's odd love triangle.
I had never seen Season 2 until now, I realised at about 12. I am now at 16 on my second viewing - which is always the best because there is so much detail you miss following the story. Did I say story ?
It's great stuff - well worth the 12 quid or so - a gift that just keeps giving.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2008
If you live in the UK and want to get Twin Peaks Season 2 Region 2, I'd recommend that you get this.

Like some of the other reviewers here, I was getting pretty sick of waiting for a UK release of Season 2 Region 2, which looked ever more unlikely as time went on.

This boxed set is a perfectly adequate alternative, as only the packaging is in Dutch, and the most set-up you need to do is pick "English" upon playing the DVD.

It's nicely presented in a similar manner to the Season 1 boxed set as well.
22 comments|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 27 September 2007
Sure, everyone has his/hers favorite TV shows, and preferences shift with seasonal mood, age and experiences. However, THIS IS TELEVISION AT HER BEST!

Atmospheric, mysterious, intriguing, smart,...Words are just not capable to describe this prematurely terminated series! Every time I watch it I discover another moment, another gem I treasure. Too bad it got treated as filler material resulting in its eventual cancellation.

The quality of the second season set is not exactly at par with the first: much less extra material (I was hoping for the spin-off commercials, especially the Japanese ones!). Yet the episodes are beautifully treated: image and sound do them justice.
After all, it is the episodes we bought it for.

Luckily, there is an Ultimate GOLD BOX available that includes both seasons and has everything a true fan would want (save a true sequel...).
My advice, opt for that one.

Buy it and make weekends out of it. Once in a blue moon a certain magic manifests amongst us. One that never fades.
And there is always music in the air.

How do I know? A gentle giant told me.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Sure, everyone has his/hers favorite TV shows, and preferences shift with seasonal mood, age and experiences. However, THIS IS TELEVISION AT HER BEST!

Atmospheric, mysterious, intriguing, smart,...Words are just not capable to describe this prematurely terminated series! Every time I watch it I discover another moment, another gem I treasure. Too bad it got treated as filler material resulting in its eventual cancellation.

The quality of the second season set is not exactly at par with the first: much less extra material (I was hoping for the spin-off commercials, especially the Japanese ones!). Yet the episodes are beautifully treated: image and sound do them justice.
After all, it is the episodes we bought it for.

Buy it and make weekends out of it. Once in a blue moon a certain magic manifests amongst us. One that never fades.
And there is always music in the air.

How do I know? A gentle giant told me.

=======================================
UPDATE: There is now a GOLD EDITION release of both seasons - with all the extras one could desire! My advice: opt for that one.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2009
after waiting a long time for the uk release,I decided to buy the dutch release instead.It is well presented in a boxset similar to season 1 and contains all 22 episodes of the final season which starts at episode 8 following on from season 1.if you are a twin peaks fan you probably already own season 1,but if not i would recommend you watch that first since season 2 follows on otherwise you will miss half the story.I would recomend this season 2 boxset to anyone who is a twin peaks fan and is fed up of waiting for the uk release,why wait any longer,you could be waiting forever.get this instead.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.