Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No foul ups, 8 sheets at a time and at least 15 mins continuous use!
Upgrading from a typical consumer shredder to this bad boy is like upgrading from a 20 year old Ford Fiesta to a 2011 Aston Martin. The difference is indescribable.

Before, with our consumer shredder, we could maybe shred 3 sheets at a time for about 1 minute before encountering the usual clog ups and over heats. This shredder can HAPPILY take 8 sheets at a...
Published on 8 Sept. 2011 by The Archer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Does the Job, fast and efficient, no clogging or jamming. But a lot noisier than rated
Published 5 months ago by sultan


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No foul ups, 8 sheets at a time and at least 15 mins continuous use!, 8 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swordfish 800XXC 8 Sheet Micro Cut Paper/Document Shredder ref: 40158 (Office Product)
Upgrading from a typical consumer shredder to this bad boy is like upgrading from a 20 year old Ford Fiesta to a 2011 Aston Martin. The difference is indescribable.

Before, with our consumer shredder, we could maybe shred 3 sheets at a time for about 1 minute before encountering the usual clog ups and over heats. This shredder can HAPPILY take 8 sheets at a time (with a few staples thrown in for good measure), will run for at least 15 mins pretty much continuously and in several hundred uses has yet to foul or clog once.

When looking for a new shredder it was hard to tell from the reviews if there was any real difference between models. Well, there is, this item is superb and easily handles small office use. Get some of the oil sheets or the stuff in a bottle, throw some on once a month and you'll be in shredding heaven for many many months!

In terms of capacity, you can probably shred between 50-100 sheets before emptying (depending how much you compact things as you go).

Things you can shred: Paper, cardboard (not to thick though!), staples, credit cards, post-its (glue is fine) and similar stuff.

You can't shred CD's so don't try it!

Overall, highly recommended and a huge step up fro the usual consumer tat you get. Take a leap of faith and you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Swordfish Shredder, 29 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Swordfish 800XXC 8 Sheet Micro Cut Paper/Document Shredder ref: 40158 (Office Product)
In the past I have been thoroughly disappointed with small shredders in the past so I decided to search for one that could be a home or small office item. This Swordfish shredder really fits the bill - it's quiet, it is on castoring wheels, it has a window in the waste box so that you can see when it's filling up, and it has an overheat warning. I find it ideal for someone working from home who needs to securely shred documents. The only negative point I can see is the lack of waste hopper for shredding credit cards into. It is important to follow the instructions regarding oiling the cutters after you have had a bin full of shreddings. I am really pleased with this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Shredder.....and very quiet!!, 15 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Swordfish 800XXC 8 Sheet Micro Cut Paper/Document Shredder ref: 40158 (Office Product)
I've had this Shredder for around 4 months now and all I can say is - it's fantastic! It's very quiet and shreds the paper into really tiny little pieces. If you intend to shred a fair bit on a monthly basis make sure you get some shredder oil lubrication Swordfish 240ml Shredder Lubricant Bottle or Swordfish One-A-Month Shredder Lubrication Sachets - this helps to maintain the machine. Overall, I'm totally impressed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent shredder -so quiet, 22 April 2012
By 
The Prof (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swordfish 800XXC 8 Sheet Micro Cut Paper/Document Shredder ref: 40158 (Office Product)
We have had a shredder for years for our home office. The last one lasted just long enough to be out of guarantee and was so noisy that you couldn't use it when someone was on the phone. This one is quite different - I can't imagine that you could shred paper any quieter than this shredder is - it's great. It remains to be seen how long it lasts but we are very happy with it at present!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars :What a smasher:, 7 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swordfish 800XXC 8 Sheet Micro Cut Paper/Document Shredder ref: 40158 (Office Product)
It took me quite awhile before buying a shredder- really a little hesitant in case i bought one that was not up to the mark,i think i must have read hundreds of reviews-so the reviews on the Swordfish 800xxc Micro Cut Shredder-8 sheet capacity were excellent so at last i took the plunge and bought it through Amazon.I was not dissapointed in fact i,m over the moon with my shredder.Ideal for the small office and home-good to look at and oh so quiet the wheels are great if you need to keep changing it's position. My life is a lot easier with this wonderful shedder which i bought for the home and well worth the extra in money to get a decent shredder which i am sure it will last a very long time-I feel very secure now when shredding confidential documents as it shreds so very fine. I highly recommend this smashing shredder you will not be disappointed.I also bought the Aurora sp1000 shredder lubrication and sharpening sheets which are a very resonable price to keep the shredder in tip top condition- Just one a month and you get 12 in a pack bought through Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works very well, though not "whisper quiet", 29 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swordfish 800XXC 8 Sheet Micro Cut Paper/Document Shredder ref: 40158 (Office Product)
Works very effectively, hasn't jammed on me yet and coped with a year's worth of receipts that took over 15 minutes to shred without pause - though it was quite hot by the end. It's not fast but not frustratingly slow either.

Shreds into small pieces that pack well into the bin and would be extremely difficult to reassemble. It's quite difficult to empty though without small shreds of paper escaping everywhere.

The paper sensor works well, no need to be careful about paper position when inserting. It uses power though so you'll want to switch the shredder off if not using it for a while.

It's quiet relative to other shredders, but "whisper quiet" is definitely an exaggeration. I wouldn't want to use it in a room next to someone sleeping or in the same room as someone on the phone, for example.

It's a fairly large shredder overall but at least the bin doesn't have to be emptied often. It fits under a desk but can't really be used in that position because there' not enough clearance above it.

I wish it was a bit cheaper but it's worth it for something that actually works reliably. I bought some shredder oil for it but I'm not sure if that's really necessary - if it was, I would have hoped the manufacturers would include some.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good buy., 2 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swordfish 800XXC 8 Sheet Micro Cut Paper/Document Shredder ref: 40158 (Office Product)
Solid build, quiet operation (for a shredder) and the ability to keep chugging away shredding documents again and again. This is the best shredder that my wife and I have owned, our first made by Swordfish. I also like that the box of shredded paper can be emptied simply by sliding it out the front, rather than by taking the top off. Much easier.

We have now had this shredder for six months and it has had a lot of use. We are about to move home and have been going through old papers deciding what to take with us and what to shred. Usual stuff. We have filled dozens of plastic bin bags with the shredded paper, and this machine has taken it all in its stride. Very occasionally we have caused the temperature cut-off to engage as the machine has got hot, but for the most part it has effortlessly eaten everything we have fed it. A great product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection, 7 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swordfish 800XXC 8 Sheet Micro Cut Paper/Document Shredder ref: 40158 (Office Product)
This is a great shredder, so far. It cuts documents into extremely small pieces and the operation is very quiet. This is perfect for the office.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Shredder., 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swordfish 800XXC 8 Sheet Micro Cut Paper/Document Shredder ref: 40158 (Office Product)
I wanted to buy a shredder that was reliable despite the high workload it would get and the occasional bit of abuse and not pay several hundred pounds for the privilege. The shredder has happily munched through many bins of paper and has hardly complained unless I have put more than 1 large bin bag of paper through it at a time. It will then take a short break while it cools, and then continues. I have now managed to convince my autistic daughter to use it. She is over-sensitive to noise and would not go in the same room with any of our old shredders. This shredder is very quiet. The paper is shredded very finely however this does cause a cloud of dust to form when emptying the bin if it is done without due care.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great quality shredder, 26 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swordfish 800XXC 8 Sheet Micro Cut Paper/Document Shredder ref: 40158 (Office Product)
This is for people who want that extra piece of mind for the disposal of their important documents. It costs more than your average shredder, but is definitely worth the extra.
It has a decent sized bin and cuts up paper very fine, so you don't end up with the paper trying to force its way back up through the shredder. Cut speed is pretty good and you can keep feeding documents in, if you run it for too long though, it has an over temp cutoff. It's much quieter than my previous shredder too, it makes a nice low humming sound and you could hold a phone conversation whilst shredding too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews