Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 23 Dec 2009
By 
Charles Miller "objective clarity" (Baltimore, Maryland U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Plastic Box (Audio CD)
There is no way this set could receive anything less than 5 stars, if nothing else, because the material is as good and as important as it is. That said, there are some significant omissions. This is not the fault of the band members, but rather that of the record label. In fact, John Lydon and Martin Atkins both stated their desire to have more in the way of rare material contained on this 4-CD boxed set; however, and as is usually the case, the record company had the final say.

The first giant ommission is the album Commercial Zone (the last studio album to feature Keith Levene, but never officially released). Unfortunately, its inclusion was never a possibility. Besides the bad blood that exists between the band members, there are licensing issues involved that will keep this title forever in unofficial bootleg or download world. It does appear (along with outtakes) on a long out-of-print Japanese issue: Never Mind the Public Image. Amazon.com lists it as 'currently unavailable' but you might have some luck if you Google the title and find a Japanese site that still has it available.

The remaining tracks from the vaults that could have appeared, but didn't, are another matter. These include:
- 7" version of Memories, which is completely different from the album version
- Albatross (complete Monitor Mix), Death Disco (complete Monitor Mix) and Albatross (the Melodrama Mix); all available as bonus tracks on John Lydon's DVD
- Vampire (a famous outtake from the Flowers of Romance album)
- Flowers of Romance (instrumental version from 12" single)
- Rise (instrumental B-side from Single)
- Religion '87 & The Suit '87 (tracks from the unrealized Renovations project, which is just as well... these attempts to reinvent previous versions featuring Keith Levene and Jah Wobble were not very sucessful)
- various Happy and Warrior 12" remixes
- Live At The Ritz (a full live album and once intended for release)

Despite missing much, it has plenty, to include outtakes, unreleased one-off tracks, two Peel Sessions and various remixes. This is a reissue of a long out-of-print set, which up until now has commanded very high prices for new and used copies. That alone says a lot about this set's value. Previously, much of its contents were never available before on CD.

Despite some overlap with official albums still available, this set is certainly worth it for completists due to the sheer volume of unique tracks, and it is the best possible introduction to the music of Public Image Limited for newcomers. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pil in a box, 6 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plastic Box (Audio CD)
A must have if you want an introduction to Pil. Contains nearly all the important tracks, only a few missing really. A bit difficult to listen to this all the way through though, a bit of a muchness. The first two CD's are the better, before the introduction of the 80's production sound, i.e sharp drums with little reverb -grating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NEVER MIND THE ADVERTS, 1 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plastic Box (Audio CD)
A few thoughts on this brillantly priced Public Image Ltd boxset...
1.Johnny Rotten,John Lydon....with time even the most obnoxious rebels seem to cuddle up to the bosom of mainstream acceptance.
Over the years i do kind of feel embarrassed for Lydon as he is wheeled out in interviews as a rent a gob,at times it borders on the drunk uncle dancing at a wedding scenario.
I don't begrudge his blooming status as a national treasure of sorts,lordy knows he has earnt it i just don't know about the butter adverts,the interviews where Lydon addresses the state of a country he no longer lives in and hasn't for a long time.
Believe it or not Lydon,however he presents it lives in relative affluence,is married to a millionaire heiress and has an extensive property portfolio.
2.The first cd of this box set is simply awesome.I think it covers tracks off the first albums and a few live cuts.The absolute epitome of post punk music as i believe to know it.Public Image,Religion,Theme,Death Disco...immense,brilliant music that cuts,grooves,screams....iconoclastic,visceral stuff.
3.When i read Lydon's autobiography i remember coming away thinking there is so much more to the guy then the belching,boozed up persona.It in fact became very clear Lydon hides behind this persona.He is rather sensitive and insecure to be honest.
Its a shame i think this over shadows his work and the innovation of it.
4.You have another three discs containing further tracks off such albums as Flowers Of Romance,Album,Happy?Its a stonking set though i know albums aren't in full so i may have to purchase actual albums individually.Never the less its a good introductory set at great price.
5.I am now very much looking forward to the new album out later this month.
6.Bless John Lydon,sod all the faults the guys a king amongst men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fascinating, 10 Sep 2010
This review is from: Plastic Box (Audio CD)
This is an astonishing collection that as a whole does some justice to some of it`s individual parts.lets face it,some of PIL`s albums are unfathomable rubbish with an odd decent track thrown in here and there.
this collection takes you from "Public image" and "flowers of romance" through the more obscure blue peter period to "album" and then further on to "9" and "that what is not" with some Miami vice style remixes thrown in for added fun.
I paid about £12 for my copy which is a bargain for those like myself replacing aged vinyl or for those new to PIL the whole story in one cheap box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The best of king size, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plastic Box (Audio CD)
For guys that is learning about PIL, I do believe it is a good choice.
Lots of good songs that remind me 80 and 90's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars so plastic box is a great replacement. PIL still sound like a new band ..., 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plastic Box (Audio CD)
Metal box getting rusty, so plastic box is a great replacement. PIL still sound like a new band amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive PiL collection, 4 Nov 2000
By A Customer
Now this is really worth putting your hand in your wallet for. Four cd's, 68 tracks and a little book containing the history of Pil to add to the bundle. All the best PiL tunes are included such as 'Rise', 'Seattle' and 'Order of Death'. This cd is unbelievable value for money, not just for the amount of CD's included but for the quality and talent of one of the 80's most original and pioneering bands. Much respect due to John Lydon and his cronies for over 2 decades of foot tappin', head noddin damn good tunes ! If you like PiL then this is the only Album/collection you will ever need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for new and old PIL fans alike, 24 Jan 2010
By 
P A Turner "P T" (YORK, North Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Plastic Box (Audio CD)
Plastic box exellent value from Amazon containing 4 CDs spanning the whole of their career inclusive of many alternative tracks. Supprised how much I've been listening to this set. If you are vaguely interested in PIL or have returned having owned tapes and vinyl, recommend buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The very definition of bargain, 28 Aug 2012
By 
A. Skudder (Crawley, West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plastic Box (Audio CD)
I had a few of the early PiL albums on vinyl or cassette. Loved them and lost them over the years but somehow never got round to replacing them on CD. This replaces all the stuff I had and then more for about the same price as a single CD 'best of' album you get not only the hit singles (as far as PiL ever had hits) but most of the album tracks too.

Could be my best purchase of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Plastic Box
Plastic Box by Public Image Limited (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews