Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great collection of mostly familiar songs
As with several of their earlier double CD's, this collection mixes new recordings with tracks they've previously recorded. Here, about half the tracks are new recordings and most of them are on the first CD. The theme this time is loosely defined, as some of the songs sold a million in America, some sold a million in Britain and some ... did they really sell a million...
Published on 10 Mar 2010 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Relaxation Music
What can I say? Foster and Allen are in a class of their own. This CD is no exception
Published 1 month ago by Baboon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great collection of mostly familiar songs, 10 Mar 2010
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
As with several of their earlier double CD's, this collection mixes new recordings with tracks they've previously recorded. Here, about half the tracks are new recordings and most of them are on the first CD. The theme this time is loosely defined, as some of the songs sold a million in America, some sold a million in Britain and some ... did they really sell a million? OK, I accept that if total world sales were a million or more, inclusion here is justified, but I was most surprised that they included Crystal chandeliers. This is a very popular song among country music fans in Britain, Australia and elsewhere - but not America, where its success was limited to say the least. I love the song, and Foster and Allen do a fine cover of it, but no comments are provided, so I am left to wonder how the song qualifies for this compilation, although I'd be very pleased if it does.

I have absolutely no doubt that the vast majority of tracks not only qualified for this set, but did so with ease. The set opens with You'll never walk alone, originally from Carousel, but covered by Gerry and the Pacemakers and adopted by both Celtic and Liverpool football clubs as their anthem. Foster and Allen do a fine cover of this song but my favorite version of this song is the one by Tammy Wynette. That opener sets a high standard that is maintained, for the most part, all the way through to the cling cover of the Seekers classic The carnival is over. In between, there are plenty of pop classics interspersed with a few country and folk songs.

Whereas previous double CD's by Foster and Allen have avoided duplicating tracks already included on earlier double CD's, I spotted that this one includes Unchained melody and Good luck charm. Both of them previously appeared on Sing the Number 1's, while several other tracks here previously appeared on Foster & Allen Sing The 60's. Fans may also have some of the other previously released tracks, as I do. Still, I don't mind too much as I knew that if they were going to keep putting out 40-track doubles, duplication would occur eventually.

Fans of Foster and Allen will enjoy this compilation, of course. Being typical of their style and breaking no new ground, it won't attract them to a wider audience, but they have such a massive fan base that they don't need to worry about that. Nevertheless, it will be interesting to see what they come up with next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Foster and Allen, 20 Oct 2012
By 
W. A. Clayton "will" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Another set which is overflowing with nostalgia for times when songs were singable or could be whistled. It has already given us great pleasure and brought back many memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE IRISH TROUBADOURS AT THE TOP OF THEIR FORM, 3 Feb 2010
By 
elceeem "musicman" (COLOMBO---05, WESTERN PROVINCE Sri Lanka) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I always have a penchant for this duo and was not sorry I purchased this latest double album by them.It has a wide range of MILLION SELLERS from "IL SILENZIO" to "FROM A JACK TO A KING", all gems in their own right, and a must for all their fans.Go get it without any further delay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars easy listening, 7 Sep 2010
By 
K. P. Trott "book heaven" (chard) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this cd to be very good and entertaining . It was so nice to hear many of the songs that I had given up hope of every hearing again ,such as ," You raise me up ","Candle in the wind" and "Deck of cards".To name but a few on this excellant buy .Ican thoughly recommend this cd to any one who is interested in songs of yesterday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sing the Million, 31 Dec 2009
By 
my nephew who has Downs Syndrone loved his new record of the Foster and Allen.
my second CD of this record was a gift to a lady who is blind and 90 yrs old. It gave her great pleasure to hear the new and old songs by Foster and Allen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 20 Jan 2010
By 
Ms. S. I. Brooks (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this Foster and Allen CD for my dad for a christmas present as he really likes them. He listened to the CD over christmas and absolutely loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Tony and Mick at their best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought for my mum she was reaaly pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Relaxation Music, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can I say? Foster and Allen are in a class of their own. This CD is no exception
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The cd, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is another very good Foster and Allen CD a pleasure to listen to recommend any one to buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sing The Million Sellers
Sing The Million Sellers by Foster & Allen
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews