Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ENJOYABLE!
My daughter and myself love this film. We were both born after the sixties and found this film has a really great sixties feel. We have not been able to experience growing up in the sixties but enjoy watching sixties films. I agree with previous reviewer that this musical film is not as good as "Summer Holiday", but it is still a very enjoyable film.

There is a...
Published on 11 May 2010 by Vintage viewer

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CHEESY AND THEN SOME...!
First off,i'm being generous in giving this 3 stars as i'm not sure whether this film is so bad it's good,or whether it's
just bad!Ron Moody is always a welcome comedic presence and he gives the best performance here,which isn't surprising as a lot of the cast are there for the musical element.But that is where the main problem is!You can forgive non existant plot...
Published on 10 May 2010 by Juan Sheet


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ENJOYABLE!, 11 May 2010
This review is from: Every Day's A Holiday [DVD] [1965] (DVD)
My daughter and myself love this film. We were both born after the sixties and found this film has a really great sixties feel. We have not been able to experience growing up in the sixties but enjoy watching sixties films. I agree with previous reviewer that this musical film is not as good as "Summer Holiday", but it is still a very enjoyable film.

There is a great cast, John Leyton, Mike Sarne, Grazina Frame, Richard O'Sullivan, Freddie and the Dreamers, Liz Frazer, Charles Lloyd Pack, and Ron moody.

Some of the songs are not strong, but there are a couple of good ones including the title song, "Romeo Jones", Freddie and the Dreamers, "Don't do that me" and What's cookin' is an amusing number.

The plot is not strong either but then that can be said of most musical films that are not inspired from plays or true stories like "My Fair lady" and "Sound of music" for example.

The film is set at a holiday camp like Butlins, and the main characters meet there through there desire to earn extra cash and independance.

John Leyton is cute!, Mike Sarne is amusing, Freddie and the Dreamers are fantastic!, Grazina Frame gives a good performance, Liz Frazer and Ron Moody are great as always.

It is defineatly worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CHEESY AND THEN SOME...!, 10 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Every Day's A Holiday [DVD] [1965] (DVD)
First off,i'm being generous in giving this 3 stars as i'm not sure whether this film is so bad it's good,or whether it's
just bad!Ron Moody is always a welcome comedic presence and he gives the best performance here,which isn't surprising as a lot of the cast are there for the musical element.But that is where the main problem is!You can forgive non existant plot lines and sub standard acting if the musical numbers are memorable but they are woeful in this film,unforgivable when you consider John Leyton is among the cast who had a huge hit with the brilliant Johnny Remember Me.Although filmed in 1964,the musical ideas are from a decade earlier(but minus any quality).In the same year,A Hard Days Night was being made..'nuff said?But...I have given it three stars!Well,as a snapshot of an era,it's priceless.I was a nipper in 1964 and it's great to see some of the old cars I remember as a kid plus our family used to take our annual holiday at Jaywick and we used to walk past the complex where this was filmed.Also,the girls are wonderful eye candy!The Baker Twins are very fanciable and Grazina Frame is lovely & any film with Liz Fraser can't be all bad!In fact,fashion wise,nearly everyone looks great,particularly the girls.Clothes and hair wise,the early sixties has dated extremely well.As I said earlier,if you're looking for a snapshop of the era (and theres even a white E-Type)this is great but do not expect a great musical!For that,you need Summer Holiday or Hard Days Night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars This film is every bit as bad as I expected it to be, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Every Day's A Holiday [DVD] [1965] (DVD)
This film is every bit as bad as I expected it to be; the fleating highlight was Freddie and the Dreamers. I bought it because I went to school in the area at the time and frequently visited the pier and Butlins Holiday Camp, the latter now a housing estate. You need a good reason to buy this DVD and there must be many who holidayed at Butlins in Clacton who would enjoy a reminder of the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Every Day's A Holiday, 1 July 2014
This review is from: Every Day's A Holiday [DVD] [1965] (DVD)
Excellent service and brilliant film. A nostalgic trip back to the 60's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Every Day's A Holiday [DVD] [1965], 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Every Day's A Holiday [DVD] [1965] (DVD)
I gave this DVD a high rating because i enjoyed the film and would recommend this film to anyone because i would tell them they would enjoy watching it over and over again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Every Day's A Holiday [DVD] [1965] (DVD)
happy with product good quality viewing of this film .as good as expected .will still keep looking at dvds on amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars every days a holiday., 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Every Day's A Holiday [DVD] [1965] (DVD)
i watched this film in the early eighties with my daughter and she is now going to share this great film with her daughter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best films!, 5 Jan 2012
This review is from: Every Day's A Holiday [DVD] [1965] (DVD)
I'm so glad I bought this, it is a great film from the 60s that cheers you up whenever you need it to. Superb performances from the John Leyton and Michael Sarne, the Baker Twins, and a surprise cameo from Ron Moody (of Oliver! fame)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Every Day's A Holiday [DVD] [1965]
Every Day's A Holiday [DVD] [1965] by James Hill (DVD - 2009)
12.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews