Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Auchentoshan Classic (American Oak) Review!, 31 July 2014
By 
MrE (E Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Auchentoshan Classic Whisky 70 cl (Grocery)
Delicate and Light in nature, Auchentoshan Classic is a very pleasant and easy to drink whisky which has been solely matured in ex-bourbon casks. It has very recently (June 2014) been relabelled as "American Oak" as opposed to "Classic" , all you need to know is they are the same, just in case you see them both on a supermarket shelf!

This is a triple distilled Whisky (as opposed to most being distilled only twice) which naturally creates a more refined (smooth) experience both nosing and tasting. This is a whisky that won't intimidate you and doesn't burn at all. Bottled at 40% abv.. this is a 70cl bottle and comes in a presentation box.

My own Personal Tasting notes:

Nose (neat): immediate vanilla along with lemon zest, very faint floral notes

Palate (Neat): Very similar in the mouth to the nose, although the lemon zest is more noticeable

After adding a few drops of water and waiting 10 minutes:

Nose: The vanilla notes along with the slight alcoholic nip have receded, the lemon really comes through along with a grassy note

Palate: Bourbon vanilla and a pineapple note, almost has a Madeira wine taste. Floral really starting to stand out

Finish: Sweet with grassy notes with lingering pineapple

VERDICT: Remember that tasting notes are subjective to each person so you may detect different aromas and tastes. This whisky for the money is very good value and offers a pretty decent experience especially if you are looking for typical bourbon notes. If you're looking for heavy hitting flavours then may i suggest you either try the 12 year version or indeed the "three wood" as this one is simply too young to offer anything over complex.

Good quality, good value yet not too complex so very much ideal for beginners or something to enjoy after a meal. RECOMMENDED!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful for a noobie, 12 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Auchentoshan Classic Whisky 70 cl (Grocery)
I'm a total noob to single malt whisky but did my research and started with auchentoshan three wood which I liked but the classic was a gentler break in for a first timer. I won't get al, nose, finish, palate, but will simply say that as a jump on point for someone looking to initiate themselves with a great quality single malt, this is a great place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good for the price, 10 Jun. 2014
By 
Kirk McElhearn (Near Stratford-upon-Avon) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Auchentoshan Classic Whisky 70 cl (Grocery)
I picked this up in part because of the price; £20 for a single malt is a bargain, if it's good. At the same time, I bought a 15 year old Dalwhinnie, so I was able to compare the two. The Auchentoshan certainly held its own against the Dalwhinnie, and by the time I finished the two bottles, I preferred the cheaper, younger Auchentoshan. This is certainly a loss-leader price, and the fact that there's no age on the bottle suggest that it's either younger than 10 years, or a blend of different years, but don't let that throw you off. I was very impressed by this, and my next purchase will be a bottle of 12 year old Auchentoshan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Auchentoshan Classic Whisky 70 cl, 26 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Auchentoshan Classic Whisky 70 cl (Grocery)
Outstanding price for this great drink. Must have been lucky.
If you haven't tried it, would recommend that you do so!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Auchentoshan Classic Whisky 70 cl (Grocery)
my partner claims it is the best whisky he has ever had xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Auchentoshan Classic Whisky 70 cl (Grocery)
Quick Delivery, item as described, many thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Auchentoshan Classic Whisky 70 cl (Grocery)
So nice that it didn't last very long!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice, 7 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Auchentoshan Classic Whisky 70 cl (Grocery)
Smooth and full bodied whisky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Whisky Tosh!, 12 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Auchentoshan Classic Whisky 70 cl (Grocery)
However its pronounced this is absolutely gorgeous.
Very smooth with a rich peaty taste. Not quite at Jura levels but still very good.
Excellent value - Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ok if you can get it on offer, 16 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Auchentoshan Classic Whisky 70 cl (Grocery)
A good malt whisky if you can get it for twenty quid like I did - probably wouldn't pay more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Auchentoshan Classic Whisky 70 cl
£26.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews