Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars36
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 October 2012
This is the definative World War One History. The BBC at it's best with a truely well ballenced history of what was known as the war to end all wars! The historical content is just mind blowing from seeing the old trams and cars to watching soldiers going over the top to their deaths. The footage is very interesting and the interviews are inspirational. This is a superb set and if you own just one set of WW1 then this should be it. Excellent.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2012
I have watched other documentaries on both World War 1 and World War 2..and I think this has to be by far the best on World War 1..and i would even say that this is as good if not better than "World at War" for World War 2. ("World at War was very good..but this is equally as good if not better)

17 hours long roughly and every bit of it is great.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
The BBC's 1960's great war series is to the first world war what ITV's the world at war is to the second. With hours of archive footage, more than any other series I've seen & interviews with those who fought in it a series like this could obviously no longer be made in the 21st century. I can't see why this is so rare to find when the world at war is far more common but if you can find it then buy it. This is unmissable.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2013
This is a superb collection and a must for anyone interested in the Great War (100th anniversary in 2014). It also comes with a 63 page 'viewer guide' which is a glossy booklet in colour and is the same size as the slimline DVD case, so it fits nicely in the collections box. Incidentally, out of interest, I searched for this item on the BBC shop.........it wasn't listed. How bizarre!
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2013
Excellent, comprehensive, well presented. I would recommend this series to anyone who wants to find out about what happened in the Great War, or World War One, as it is also known. I derived a great deal of satisfaction from the series of 26 forty minute programmes. The narration by Sir Michael Redgrave was realistic, with Sir Ralph Richardson taking the part of Douglas Haig, and Emlyn Williams speaking the words of Lloyd George. There are things written in the accompanying booklet which I would like to quote, but I don't think that I'm allowed to, even though I feel it is truthful. Suffice to say that the series is intelligently presented. If you have an interest and are prepared to pay for the set, then I would say that it is a worthwhile investment. I think it is a good work. I know of a History head of department in secondary school who uses this series to show his pupils, who are learning about the Great War. I thoroughly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2010
To start off , this is the best overview of WW1 on Dvd you can buy. Considering it is almost 50yrs old now it still is as good if not better than historical documentaries made today .
The Reasons for going to war and why events happened is very clearly explained . The indivdual battle plans and political plans are also given great analysis.
The only let down is that the last few episodes feal that they have been rushed and are not up to the standard of the first half.
However looking at this now I would of liked to see more interviews with soliders as this is the most valuable resourse to insight into the war itself . As we all know now there are nomore 'Tommys' left alive and i wonder if the producers knew what a valuable resourse they where?
33 comments|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2011
An excellent, comprehensive guide to the reasons for, the conduct of and the implications for then future of the First World War.I remember it as an outstanding series at the time and how millions of viewers stayed in early on saturday evenings to watch it over 26 weeks. Still very watchable 40 plus years later.

Top actors Sir Michael Redgrave, Sir Ralf Richardson, Marius Goring and others give excellent performances which gives both gravitas and clarity to very difficult issues.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2013
Considering this series was made in the 1960s it is quite excellent and.beautifully narrated. It is long and a bit repetitive at times (same shots of heavy guns firing) but that is being critical of what is a superb production.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
The series has been described, as being the benchmark of the modern documentary. It truly was a Ground breaking series, and even after nearly 50 years, it is a marvellous documentary.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2012
A marvellous series and one that could not be made today; it would be interspersed with "celebrities" or "talking heads" giving their opinions and, probably, a rap "musical" background.

Great use of contemporary film and photography, a reverent, fittingly serious commentary and evocative music all go to making the series a classic and one that could and should, be watched again and again.

It's also wonderful to see so many interviews with veterans, all of whom have passed to their rest by now. My only gripe, tiny though it is, is that the veterans are not named. Subtitles I can do without, but it would have been a fitting tribute to those brave souls who fought and died, so many years ago, to have their names displayed for posterity.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)