Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very smart, expensive-looking case
This is a sturdy, classy, soft-leather case with soft grey suede inside. The exterior shell is rigid and affords good protection to my Canon Ixus camera. The case is very small and it fits my (very small) camera like a glove.

The design is top-notch. There is a magnetic clasp underneath the (tastefully understated) silver(ish) "AmazonBasics" logo on the front...
Published on 29 Sept. 2010 by Gopher

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars leatherbasics camera case
The basics leather case was recommended for and supplied with Panasonic Lumix DMC TZ10 but is too small and therefore unsuitable
Published on 1 Dec. 2010 by johnc


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars leatherbasics camera case, 1 Dec. 2010
This review is from: AmazonBasics Digital Camera Case Leather (Camera)
The basics leather case was recommended for and supplied with Panasonic Lumix DMC TZ10 but is too small and therefore unsuitable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very smart, expensive-looking case, 29 Sept. 2010
This review is from: AmazonBasics Digital Camera Case Leather (Camera)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a sturdy, classy, soft-leather case with soft grey suede inside. The exterior shell is rigid and affords good protection to my Canon Ixus camera. The case is very small and it fits my (very small) camera like a glove.

The design is top-notch. There is a magnetic clasp underneath the (tastefully understated) silver(ish) "AmazonBasics" logo on the front of the case. The magnet is not so strong as to be annoyingly hard to pull apart, but it's strong enough to do the job without slipping. The circular magnetic piece in the clasp has a small center button, that fits into a recession in the other part of the clasp; when closing the cover, you hear a satisfying little click when you slide it into place, so you know it's snugly closed.

The only downside I can think of is that it may be attractive to thieves!

Before purchasing, be absolutely sure that this case is not too small for your camera
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple and effective protection for your camera, 28 Aug. 2010
By 
R. F. Stevens "richard23491" (Ickenham UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Digital Camera Case Leather (Camera)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The case matches the Amazon product description reasonably well. The internal measurements on my sample are actually slightly more than the 56mm x 19.4mm x 89mm listed, and it will exactly accommodate a block 60mm x 20mm x 95mm.

It is a comfortable snug fit for my Kodak M530 Camera which is 57mm x 22mm x 94mm but with rounded corners. The exposed end of the camera allows it to be easily removed from the case, but this also means that it is not protected from inclement weather or dust.

The belt loop is well made and robust with lots of tough Velcro securely stitched on.

The magnetic catch on the cover flap is effective, but locating the centre pip for best grip is not brilliant. It could be better. I would have preferred Velcro.

There is also a tight little pocket inside to store a single spare SD card. However, I don't expect to use it because I always keep spare cards separate to the camera - eggs in multiple baskets philosophy. Also the pocket surface and its stitching, both in contact with the camera, are not the nice soft brushed leather like the rest of the case lining, and I worry about scratching the LCD if I put the camera in the wrong way round.

As a simple generic case it fits my M530 camera reasonably well, but it could be improved. See another example in the similar style Fuji F30 leather case which is better made of softer leather, yet offers much more protection for the F30 camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simple, well thought out, and well put together product, 28 Oct. 2010
By 
Kamran Rahman (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Digital Camera Case Leather (Camera)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If you have a compact digital camera there are 2 major risks in carrying it in a bag/pocket. (1) the LCD screen could get scratched by keys or other metal objects (2) it could accidentally switch on, which might lead to the battery draining or the lens getting scratched, or worst of all the zoom lens mechanism breaking. This means that everyone who owns such a camera should seriously consider getting a protective camera case.

I would highly recommend this case. It is in the Amazon Basics range... and as you would expect it is therefore basic. But that doesn't mean that isn't good. It is made of high quality stitched leather - the leather is strong and soft, not too thick and not too thin - giving the camera plenty of shock-protection but still leaving the entire package small enough to fit in handbag, trouser pocket, or jacket pocket. The fold over flap on top has a simple and discreet magnetic clasp, very much like a handbag clasp - this works smoothly, catches every time and releases with just the right amount of effort. It has velco strap at the back which is strong enough to clip the case safely to your belt. It has a little "Amazon Basics" brushed steel badge on the front, which is neat and wonderfully understated. The inside of the case is lined in a soft synthetic fabric and it also has a very little inside pocket that you could use as for a spare SD card.

There is nothing to fault in this product. It is, to sum it up, everything you would expect from a "basic" compact camera case, and I now feel confident that my camera will always be safe from the two risks I mentioned at the start of this review, wherever I go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good fit for Sony DSC-WX350, 16 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Digital Camera Case Leather (Camera)
This is a good fit for my Sony Cybershot DSC-WX350. There is a pouch inside the case to hold a spare SD card (without its plastic box) and the camera still fits OK when there is a card in the pouch. I like the hole in the flap as it means you can hold the camera by its strap while it is in the case. Seems to be well made and robust. Overall I'm very pleased. Recommended to WX350 owners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for Canon S series cameras, 11 Mar. 2014
By 
Antoine Camilleri (Malta) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Digital Camera Case Leather (Camera)
When I bought the Canon S110 camera I was presented with an add on item, which was this protective case. I did buy it along with the camera, yet it did not fit !

I do have other smaller cameras like the IXUS which fit perfectly.

For the price you get a premium quality leather case.

High recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, not obviously "basic" quality, 21 Oct. 2010
By 
Slurms McKenzie (The middle of England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Digital Camera Case Leather (Camera)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This leather digital camera case, whilst being a bit of a squeeze to get my digital camera in (I guess mine doesn`t qualify as slimline after all and any potential purchaser will need to pay extra attention to the size they order), does provide excellent protection and looks quite classy too. Good product, which will do exactly what it says it will; it will protect your precious camera, lens and all. Just a word about the "frustration free packaging"...it came in a cardboard box...if they mean as opposed to the evil tightly-bound plastic that has to be cut into, then fine, but I can`t say it was a particularly ground-breaking way to send something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Just about OK, 25 Sept. 2014
By 
Andy (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Digital Camera Case Leather (Camera)
The case is a snug but OK fit for my Panasonic Lumix DMC-FS10 camera. However, the front flap close mechanism does not fill me with confidence. It is a weak magnetic, slightly pimpled/socket arrangement. It requires some minor sliding to get the pimple to click in place and does not have the confident snap of a press stud.
More worryingly, the belt loop is held in place by Velcro. Considering that I bought this case to replace another whose front flap Velcro gave up, I felt the need to reinforce the belt loop join by wrapping some black tape around it.
Otherwise, the case seems like it might be just about OK for use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Value leather camera case, 28 Oct. 2010
By 
metacritic "zshamas" (West Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Digital Camera Case Leather (Camera)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Amazon are in my opinion really starting to build themselves a reputation for providing own brand products at unbeatable quality without an impact on the quality of the actual product. You will be hard pressed to find a similar carry case both better priced and of at least of equal quality. The case provides more than adequate protection as well as a smart good quality leather finish to it. The belt clip offers a Velcro fastener so if being attached to a belt you need not undo your belt at alto thread it through instead you simply unfasten the clip and loop it around your belt and fasten. All in all a good value buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't Fault It (Sort of), 8 Oct. 2010
By 
Matt (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Digital Camera Case Leather (Camera)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There's only so much you can write about a camera case as basic as this. Everything you need to know you can see from the picture apart from one thing, will it fit your camera? Luckily on the product page you have the internal dimensions of the case so you should be able to buy this with confidence and if it first your camera, then it's a nice little case to keep it safe.

I ordered this for my wife before the dimensions were listed and unfortunately, her camera doesn't fit inside it. It's a good quality case, though. If you're after something cheap and cheerful to look after your case, this will do the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

AmazonBasics Digital Camera Case Leather
£4.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews