Customer Reviews


120 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice little stretchy case for compact cameras
This case will fit cameras that are approximately 65mm x 35mm x 100mm. This includes cameras such as the Casio Exilim EX-H10 and the Panasonic TZ7. Because the case is neoprene, it could stretch to fit slightly larger cameras. It's not designed with any particular compact camera in mind, so it's a jack-of-all-trades.

There are three usable spaces inside the...
Published on 25 Sept. 2010 by Peter

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good if you like neoprene
This case fits my Canon Powershot A590 very well: snug without being too tight. It could almost have been designed specifically for that model in fact. Having said that, the Powershot is quite a chunky camera compared to the modern slimline ones and I suspect that smaller cameras would rattle around a bit in this, even though it is slightly elasticated.

I...
Published on 21 Oct. 2010 by A. Skudder


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice little stretchy case for compact cameras, 25 Sept. 2010
By 
Peter (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Camera Case for Digital Cameras / Point & Shoot - Black Neoprene (Camera)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This case will fit cameras that are approximately 65mm x 35mm x 100mm. This includes cameras such as the Casio Exilim EX-H10 and the Panasonic TZ7. Because the case is neoprene, it could stretch to fit slightly larger cameras. It's not designed with any particular compact camera in mind, so it's a jack-of-all-trades.

There are three usable spaces inside the case, depending on how snugly your camera fits. The camera goes in the middle space, and there are two smaller pockets front and back that you could keep one or two memory cards or batteries in. With the TZ7 in the pouch, there's not much room left, though.

Outside, there's a webbing belt strap that has a velcro opening, so you don't need to take your belt off to fit the pouch. There's also a detachable wriststrap. It's all black, apart from a tiny "Amazon Basics" tag sewn into one of the seams. The neoprene protects the camera quite well - it would absorb a fair amount of the shock if you ever dropped it. The only very slight design flaw I can see is that the velcro pad on the flap is quite small, so you sometimes need to try once or twice to close the flap so that it sticks.

Because the case is neoprene, this case should protect your camera against light rain showers. The flap has an overhang, and there are no gaps for rais to get through. However, if you're caught out in heavy rain, it's probably better not to rely on that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good if you like neoprene, 21 Oct. 2010
By 
A. Skudder (Crawley, West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Camera Case for Digital Cameras / Point & Shoot - Black Neoprene (Camera)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This case fits my Canon Powershot A590 very well: snug without being too tight. It could almost have been designed specifically for that model in fact. Having said that, the Powershot is quite a chunky camera compared to the modern slimline ones and I suspect that smaller cameras would rattle around a bit in this, even though it is slightly elasticated.

I have been using a rigid Canon case which was a lot more expensive. The Canon case has a fixed belt loop so getting it on a belt would be a bit fiddly and involve half-undressing so this Amazon case is much better in that respect, having a Velcro belt loop so it can be more easily attached and unattached. This is irrelevant to me as I wouldn't carry the camera that way but I know some people do.

Unlike the Canon case this Amazon one has its own hand-strap. The one slightly frustrating thing about the rigid case is that when you take the camera out you have to put the case in a pocket or bag: this one can be left hanging from the wrist.

As for storage, this case has lots of it. There is a front pocket large enough to take some spare batteries and memory cards, however it has no zip, button, Velcro or other fastening. I find that if I fill it then I have to be careful not to spill out the contents when removing the camera. There is a narrower, more secure pocket behind the camera, suitable for memory cards, which is much better, though not suitable for spare batteries. There are also a couple of very narrow pockets on each side, but they are only useful for something like a pen.

Personally I prefer the rigid case, even though it is quite bulky, mainly for the extra protection against bumps but also for the zip on the storage pocket, but the Amazon case is very good value for money and great if you don't want to carry spare batteries, don;t have a ridiculously slimline camera and like Neoprene.

That last point is very subjective. I'm sure it is a useful, durable and waterproof material but I just don't like the feel of it.

If I was the sort of person who liked to wear a camera on their belt I would choose this Amazon case for its convenience but as it is I will stick with the old case - but wish it had a handstrap like the Amazon case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It does the job!, 22 Aug. 2010
By 
K. Wright - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Camera Case for Digital Cameras / Point & Shoot - Black Neoprene (Camera)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The AmazonBasics Camera Case has a main pocket for your camera and a pocket either side for camera accessories such as batteries and memory cards. All 3 pockets are very spacious and will hold all you would need, however it fastens with 1 flap with velcro over all 3 pockets and so is not totally secure. I don't think I would use it to hold memory cards as it is possible they could slip out.

The material is fairly soft and stretchy and protects the camera well, although it doesn't win any style points. The main plus point for me is that, although not designed for it, it actually fits in both my Kodak M340 Digital Camera - Red (10.2 MP, 3x Optical Zoom, 5X Digital Zoom) 2.7 inch LCD (in the main pocket) and Sony MHS-PM5KV Bloggie High Definition Handycam Camcorder with 360 degree filming and 4GB Memory Stick - Violet (in either of the side pockets).

If you have 2 gadgets similar to mine then it is a good 2-in-1 protector and also saves space. However if you are after a stylish case or one with very secure pockets then this wouldn't be the camera case for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal basic case, 11 Sept. 2010
By 
Rob S "Rob S" (Conwy, North Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Camera Case for Digital Cameras / Point & Shoot - Black Neoprene (Camera)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Packing is basic, but not sure the box is necessary as it could be sent in just a standard postal bag.

I purchased this for my Kodak Playsport camera Kodak Playsport Waterproof HD Pocket Video Camera - Orange, I have used a swordfish case which has been ideal but the interior is red, I put the camera in while it was wet and the red bleed on to the camera, so thought this would be an ideal replacement.

The case is reasonably padded and should off enough protection from scratches etc, It is slightly to big for the Kodak as I can feel it moving while I walk with the case attached to a belt.

It has two compartments one for the camera and another which I put the cable that connects to the laptop, the material is flexible so fitted nicely, as would a slighyly bigger camera.

The case has a belt clip and a hand strap, I would of preferred to have also had a neck strap option.

All things considered it is a nice case, one that will fit most cameras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neoprene belt pouch, 27 Aug. 2013
By 
TonyD "biotone" (Up North) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Camera Case for Digital Cameras / Point & Shoot - Black Neoprene (Camera)
Excellent soft belt pouch for camera / phone / keys /money etc . The main compartment has an elasticated top edge to keep larger items securely, while there is a smaller rear pocket that will easily accommodate something like a Blackberry Pearl and a little front pocket for smaller items. The cover flips over and attaches via strong velcro to keep everything together. On the back is a broad webbing belt loop, again held securely with a strong velcro pad that is never under particular stress, and a little loop for a wrist strap or other attachment. So light you hardly feel you are wearing it - very pleased with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this case, fits LX3 perfectly, 17 Sept. 2010
By 
H. H. Li "iuhh" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Camera Case for Digital Cameras / Point & Shoot - Black Neoprene (Camera)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I've actually been struggling to find a good case for my Panasonic LX3, due to its protruded lens, the others cases were either too small or too big for it.

This case however is a perfect fit, due to its stretchy neoprene material. My camera went in very securely, just snug enough that I can get it in and out quite easily. Even an extra battery + spare sd card would fit in to the small pocket at the back albeit it did make it a bit tight.

My older Nikon Coolpix cameras (P2 and another) also fits in nicely. The case itself is of very good quality, and the velcro belt strap is especially a nice touch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice case but too big for a small camera!, 23 Oct. 2010
This review is from: AmazonBasics Camera Case for Digital Cameras / Point & Shoot - Black Neoprene (Camera)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Like at least one of the other reviewers here I was confused by the product description, believing that this is designed for small digital cameras.

The internal dimensions given of 2.2 x 1.24 x 3.70 inches (55.8mm x 3.05mm x 9.40mm) are not correct. My camera (a Fuji AX280) matches those dimensions almost exactly so I expected a perfect fit, however it fills up only about two thirds of this case.

I would put the actual internal dimensions as about 3.5 width x 1.0 depth x 4 - 4.5 inch length. Being stretchy neoprene it could take a device wider or fatter than the width/depth I have given here, and longer if the device does not need to sit right inside the pocket (there is a gap of 0.75 inches between the top of the main pocket and the top of the flap when it is closed, unless a very chunky device is held inside). Closed as pictured, externally it measures 5.5 x 3.75 inches width/length. The velcro closure is in one place, meaning that you can't pull the front flap down lower to get a more snug fit.

The case itself is nice enough for the right size of device. I like the velcro belt hook which seems fairly strong and the bag is nicely padded. I am sure I will find some use for it. My camera actually fits snugly in the front pocket, meaning I can put my phone and wallet in the main pocket making a compact hip bag! There are even narrow spaces at the side due to the way the front pocket is stitched on into which you could fit a pen or two!

So I would summarise that this is a decent case for a chunkier camera or electronic device, but too big for your average slimline compact camera. It is a shame that the description was not more accurate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Handy, 29 Aug. 2010
By 
vh1967 (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Camera Case for Digital Cameras / Point & Shoot - Black Neoprene (Camera)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I chose this product as I often like to film or take photos while out and about and it was marketted as a suitable holder for those types of device.

It is quite chunky. It is made of neoprene fabric and has a wide belt holder which you can undo which uses a velcro attachment to undo it which was my favourite thing about this case as it made it really easy to remove the whole holder, useful for when you first put it on your belt or when changing batteres/ cards where you need to have a good rummage.

It has two holder sections, and the front one is the one I used for the camera/ minicamcorder, and this pouch on the front reminded me a little of a kangeroo pouch; it was strechy and snug enough to feel safe using it. The rear pouch could be used for larger devices, or for accessories. But I would have a liked a velcro closure on at least one of the inner pouches, as memory cards are really small and easily lost as are spare batteries, I gave this product one less star rating because of this, but as the pouches have got a narrowed top to them I think they may be safe enough, and of course, if the top flap is closed over both pouches it would be secure, but I could not do this as I was using it to film while in the case.

Final features are the chunky padded flap which protects all from any showers/ downpours while outdoors and is easy to open and close, and the wrist tie, which I ended up using as an additional measure while I had this attached to my bike for extra security.

I recommend this case for its practicality and value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical and durable, 9 Sept. 2010
By 
R. WEST-SOLEY "Rich West-Soley" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Camera Case for Digital Cameras / Point & Shoot - Black Neoprene (Camera)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As expected, this is a practical, no-frills product that comes simply packaged at a very decent price. But it's made from tough, high-quality material that feels hard-wearing, and does the job of protecting your small to medium sized camera from knocks, bumps, rain and such like. There are a couple of pouches to slip in your spare memory cards as well, and it all clips closed safely to keep everything secure. Does its job well without needing the bells and whistles - a very decent product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars No-nonsense bag but a bit pricey, 7 Oct. 2010
By 
A. Key "Electric Monk" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Camera Case for Digital Cameras / Point & Shoot - Black Neoprene (Camera)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a simple bag with a couple of neat touches. The belt strap has a strong Velcro fastening that's cunningly designed to reduce the chances of it tearing away from the case, and the camera space itself is protected by not one but two layers of neoprene. A standard modern compact camera will fit in with plenty of space to spare.

There are accessory pockets in front of and behind the camera pouch, and these are the main weak point: neither has its own closure. Once you've opened the top flap, all three pockets are exposed. This makes it a risky business storing a spare battery or your SD cards in the accessory pockets, as there's a good chance they'll fall out. The main flap doesn't quite cover the opening on the bag, so there's a small chance that rain will work its way in. But then this is sold as weather-resistant, not waterproof. A flimsy-looking mobile-phone-style wrist strap is included, but no neck strap.

The packaging lives up to its frustration-free billing, and you're left with a handy little cardboard box you can use to post gifts in.

All in all, it's OK but over-priced for what it is at the current price of £11.99. If the accessory pockets had had zips, or the whole thing designed with a little more style, it might have been a different story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews