Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crisp, Intriguing and Highly Enjoyable
The recent resurgence of electronic music has been an interesting one to observe. It has manifested itself in a variety of forms. Initially a few years ago there were artists like Klaxons, Shiny Toy Guns and CSS who balanced the use of guitars, synths and various effects and samples. Then more recently Friendly Fires and Late of the Pier continued the trend before it was...
Published on 11 Jan 2010 by Toby Staunton

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but expected something more
The chances are most people have bought this album on the strength of singles Doubt, Counterpoint and This Momentary. The albums good, but some of the songs around these three feel like filler. Submission for example, is just begging to be released as a single. The minute I heard it on the radio I liked it, though I didn't expect it to be Delphic, and to be honest when I...
Published on 29 Jan 2010 by Mr. T. A. Hall


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crisp, Intriguing and Highly Enjoyable, 11 Jan 2010
By 
Toby Staunton "dancing mole" (Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Acolyte (Audio CD)
The recent resurgence of electronic music has been an interesting one to observe. It has manifested itself in a variety of forms. Initially a few years ago there were artists like Klaxons, Shiny Toy Guns and CSS who balanced the use of guitars, synths and various effects and samples. Then more recently Friendly Fires and Late of the Pier continued the trend before it was overtaken by a plethora of female vocalists to varrying degrees of success. Now though Delphic are taking it back for the bands.

Their debut album, `Acolyte', has been heralded as "the first great album of the decade" and has been compared to early New Order. I am as of yet unconvinced by both of these statements, but it is none the less a good offering. The whole album does run on an almost constant high from start to finish with glittering synths and crisp vocal harmonies. But if you peel off this glossy pop film there is actually something quite interesting underneath. They haven't just confined themselves to making radio friendly chart fillers that could have been oh so simple. Instead there is more focus on the actual music that drives the whole the beast. `Red Lights' and the title track are both prime examples of this where the clicking and bouncing rhythms take centre stage for much of the track and the vocals are used more as an instrument. Obviously there are also moments of pure pop with tracks like `Doubt' but because of the quality of the music underneath these also stand up to scrutiny.

Delphic then have produced an intriguing album with many very nice moments of both pop, and intelligent dance. It is well worth a listen as gems can be found within.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Focused Euphoria, 13 Jan 2010
By 
T. Hooper (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Acolyte (Audio CD)
Too much has been made of Delphic's supposed debt to New Order . Sure their are echoes, but which British dance act of the past ten years hasn't been influenced by our most criminally under rated dance band? On 'Acolyte' Delphic show that they've got much more to offer than mere pastiche. Their debut rattles, shakes and pulsates to its own internal logic. Played loud it's a party on its own, played quiet it has the depth and subtely to keep bringing you back time and again. There's a real emotional pull to songs such as 'Submission' and the more upbeat songs like 'Acolyte' and 'This Momentary' get you on your feet.

Get yourself a big PA system, flick on the lasers and lose yourself in the euphoria.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best i've heard for a while, 11 Feb 2010
By 
C. Martin "kiwi26" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Acolyte (Audio CD)
Honestly, Delphic are one of the greatest bands i've had the pleasure of listening to for a while now. I bought the album because of the single 'Doubt', which really is a cut above all the singles out there at the moment. But listening to their other tracks proves their not just a one hit wonder.

The track 'Acolyte' is a superb piece of well crafted music. For nearly nine minutes long you would think it would be repetitive and somewhat boring to the ears, but with its mix of electronic beats and lack of lyrics, it is music in its raw and pure form.

The tracks 'Counterpoint' and 'Submission' are also fantastic. If you're wondering whether or not to buy this album, think no more for it is really worth a listen and you will not regret it. Delphic are going to make 2010.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but expected something more, 29 Jan 2010
This review is from: Acolyte (MP3 Download)
The chances are most people have bought this album on the strength of singles Doubt, Counterpoint and This Momentary. The albums good, but some of the songs around these three feel like filler. Submission for example, is just begging to be released as a single. The minute I heard it on the radio I liked it, though I didn't expect it to be Delphic, and to be honest when I found out it was Delphic I was a bit disappointed - it could in all honesty be any other band, and isn't consistent with the totally unique nature of the previous Delphic singles, or in fact the rest of the album. It's a good album, though calling it album of the year is a tad premature, and if nothing better arises in the next 11 months, 2010 will have been a distinctly average year for British music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Difficult not to love..., 1 May 2013
By 
James Hughes "Jamie Hughes" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acolyte (Audio CD)
In a musical world where electronic guitary music seems to merge one song/band into the next, it's refreshingly and genuinely different from anything of the last couple of years. Thoroughly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars present for a friend, 21 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acolyte (Audio CD)
not knowing anything about thisd group it was bought for a friend. Got here within a few days excellent value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Weird & Wonderful, 24 Mar 2012
By 
J. Clarke "Alright Sally" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Acolyte (Audio CD)
Sometime around 2010, flicking through music channels, MTV2 (now MTVROCKS) played the music video for Delphic's second single 'Doubt'. The video was just plain weird - a few models with odd origami shaped body protrusions and finishing like something from the eighties, with all sorts of fancy colourful lighting and dodgey effects. Delphic would also go onto release 'Halcyon' with an equally strange video of numerous robed women posing about on a mountainside as hail rains down, along with a re-release of 'Counterpoint'. Perhaps prematurely or unfairly billed as a most promising newcomer in 2010, Delphic go all out with a multi-genre, classy debut.

The introduction of Delphic is as you'd expect - strangely etherial sounding with ghostly vocals, a ringing guitar and numerous clicks and synth effects combining into an explosive first track called 'Clarion Call'. The music constantly builds up with resolute vocals, cut off by a visceral guitar solo - the impression so far is short and sweet. Then comes the most well known track 'Doubt' with a vowel muddled vocal intro and stop-start drum loops. "All thats left for you is doubt" lead singer and bassist James cook tells us, backed up by his fellow bandmates, the chorus rings out in your ears as one of the most catchiest songs on the album, which also features another heavenly harmonious guitar solo from Matt Cocksedge. The song goes past like a twitchy blur after a lot of super fast, fuzzy special effects and echoed guitar samples, that blend in like spatters of rain against the harsh computerised percussion. Things get bassy and techno in 3rd track 'This Momentary' as it all gets a bit repetitive saying "Lets do something real" followed by a few ooh's and ahh's, then a remixed version of the lyrics. Drums go all out like Tarzan and build some momentum but it all just fades out and feels a bit empty.

'Red Lights' is downright funky from the get go showing off bouncy bass and fluttering guitar, until the words 'red lights' gets muttered and copied and pasted about ten times in a row. At this point, the vocals all sound like one trick ponies, long winded speeches that are echoed by a low pitched backing vocal. Such a relief 'Acolyte' is, being a pure 8 and a half minute long club/mix instrumental. You feel like getting the glow sticks out a minute in as Delphic push the song forward. Subtle, soft little melodies get interrupted by strong bass tracks and angelic choir like vocals. Theres a lot of techno computer-ish noises firing around in parts of the song, along with a handful of phaser like effects and even a crazy piano/synth hash up, sliding across all the keys. Its insane but a justified title track. 'Halcyon' effectively recruits you as a second vocalist just to say something along the lines of "ahhhuhhhhAHHHHUHHHAHH". It continues the theme with loads of synth loops and funny voice masks but also another classy, sharp solo which acts as a cue for the song to wander a bit, bringing in more symbol and more emphasis on the singing - "Give me something I can believe in" followed by uurrghhs and ahuhs.. the lyrics aren't exactly up to scratch but the feel of the songs makes the most impact.

My favourite track is up next in 'Submission' - Cook's best vocal and lyrical performance of the album, showing good range in a desperate "I can't keep giving into mistakes I've made, I can't keep living life left behind.. I don't recognize myself". Undoubtably followed by a gritty gain galore guitar solo. Not exactly hard rock but the heaviest, emotion fueled song found on the album. Delphic go hyper afterwards as 'Counterpoint' has some ludicrous synth and drums charging through the song like a kid on a sugar high. "Just tell me nothings wrong, nothings wrong, nothings wrong.. today" is an all too repetitive and memorable chorus. Lazer sounds and dolphin like noises pop up now and again, but its all so freakishly blissful, especially after a calm interlude and brilliantly timed high pitch guitar work. The vocals really get pushed to the limit here. 'Ephemera' doesn't really offer much - a 2 minute long haunting, atmospherical haze that sounds more like something Sigur Ros would pull off. The lads from Manchester save their best efforts for last with chill-out show-stopper 'Remain'. All the singing is pristinely focused and mellow against the score of a ghostly piano number. "Give it all just to get it, you're missing pieces everywhere. Waiting for something better, but nothing ever seems to change/a hiding shadow they'll remain" the chorus gets build up even more each chorus, and ends up being bettered by 4 notes on a guitar - somehow original and simply genius - I'd recommend listening to this to get a feel for the album.

Delphic are a nice change to the often ordinary sounds heard far too often on the radio, if a little weird in places. Still, robotic dance mix indie techno might just catch on..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The modern day new order dephic superb !, 4 Mar 2012
This review is from: Acolyte (Audio CD)
They take the music from kraftwerk and the
German electronic sound , that plant rock hip
Hop styled !
Great live experience I hear !
Band to manage ha!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 1 Dec 2010
By 
Mr. J. Clark (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Acolyte (Audio CD)
i heard Delphic on Jools Holland so bought this cd its been on my ipod ever since its awesome buy it now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars One overlooked influence is Orbital, 16 Aug 2010
By 
Stan FREDO (BORDEAUX, Aquitaine, France) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Acolyte (Audio CD)
I thought it had to be said. One track is very close to that band's 'Belfast' I think. After two rather promosing singles, the Delphic album itself is good (and better than, say, Unicorn, Chew Lips' first effort) but does not fulfill all the promises and is certainly not the gob-smacking best album of 2010 some reviewers think it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Acolyte
Acolyte by Delphic (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews