Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amusing and interesting
Charles Bukowski's minimal style, always egotistical and mostly alcohol affected is concerned in this book with his succesful attempt to see a screenplay (for Barfly) become a reality.
Names are changed but it is fun to read Bukowski's views on the movers and shakers in 1980's Hollywood.
The womanising and drinking are subdued (due to being married) and even a...
Published on 6 Sept. 2008 by Amazon Customer

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Sad
As much as this pains me to say, “Hollywood” was a massive disappointment. The book has no energy, Chinaski is old, tired and dare I say, a sellout.
As always, Chinaski is Bukowski's alter ego and that may be the problem. Bukowski was living comfortably, money in the bank and a solid relationship with a good woman. Bukowski just doesn't work as... well...
Published 2 months ago by Joao Cardeira Jorge


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Sad, 1 Dec. 2014
By 
Joao Cardeira Jorge "A Bad Man" (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood (Paperback)
As much as this pains me to say, “Hollywood” was a massive disappointment. The book has no energy, Chinaski is old, tired and dare I say, a sellout.
As always, Chinaski is Bukowski's alter ego and that may be the problem. Bukowski was living comfortably, money in the bank and a solid relationship with a good woman. Bukowski just doesn't work as... well happy, I guess. His writing is stale, dull, with only brief flashes of his “old” brilliance. The book is about his “adventure” in “Hollywood”, adapting one of his novels for the big screen. The book is filled with little “stories” about how weird the people in the movie business are, with made up names of course, but its all terribly “empty” and in the end it all feels shallow. The whole book seems like Bukowski is going through the motions, writing like its “a job” and not because he actually has anything to say. Gone is the despair, the hunger, the quiet rage at the “machine”. Nothing is is remotely deep or has any meaning. “Hollywood” by Bukowski is as superficial and vacuous as the business it depicts and as much about the “bottom line” too. Its a tired exercise by a tired man. With his last shred of... shall we say self awareness, Bukowski struggles to spend the book looking down on those “crazy Hollywood types” when deep down, both him and the reader know that no matter how he tries to hide it, even from himself, he became one of them and ultimately one of the “system”.
As a piece of entertainment, “Hollywood” also has little to offer. The usual cast of over the top characters are everywhere but here, unlike in his other novels, their use seems desperate and not very convincing. Bukowski goes to extremes to show their “weirdness” but it all feels very bland and there isn't much of his usual dry humor either.
If you're a fan of Bukowski and his work in his prime, I would recommend you to stay away from “Hollywood”. Remember Chinaski as the rebel he once was and not an old man writing a script and a novel for a few more bucks to spend on a new car. Oh how I wish i'd have read this review before reading “Hollywood”.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amusing and interesting, 6 Sept. 2008
By 
This review is from: Hollywood (Paperback)
Charles Bukowski's minimal style, always egotistical and mostly alcohol affected is concerned in this book with his succesful attempt to see a screenplay (for Barfly) become a reality.
Names are changed but it is fun to read Bukowski's views on the movers and shakers in 1980's Hollywood.
The womanising and drinking are subdued (due to being married) and even a hedonistic rebel such as Bukowski comes across as conventional compared to the weirdness and double-dealing that appears to be Hollywood.
Not neccesarily a good first Bukowski read (try Post Office or Factotum) but nevertheless good fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well worth a read, 17 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood (Paperback)
A good novel from a well loved author, Bukowski serves up another dish of gritty, rough, hard nose drinking antics. The main theme revolves around writing and producing a film about a period of Bukowski's life. Not as reeling and rolling as some of his earlier masterpieces such as Post office, yet still well worth a read and a must for any Bukowski fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 6 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood (Paperback)
Bukowski is a great writer and this return to his semi-autobiographical character Chinanski is a pretty straight forward affair. It is always good to read a bit of Bukowski, makes me feel better about people and how ridiculous we all are and here he reveals us at our most ridiculous, making movies.

It's interesting to read about the actors he comes across, who are easily identifiable if you know about Barfly (the resulting film)and hes as lewd and crude and drunk as ever. The great thing with Bukowski is between the women, gambling, drinking, fighting and writing there will be a page or passage that cuts through all that and grabs you by the heart revealing humanity in all its fragility.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 10 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood (Paperback)
Not as much gritty realism as the previous books, this is more about the inside workings of the making of a film. So those looking for gross stories and violence will be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 8 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Hollywood (Kindle Edition)
I got this book for my Kindle and I'm already hotly awaiting the Post Office on Kindle release. This is the first Bukowski book I've read and I really enjoyed it, in many ways his writing reminds me of of Hunter S Thompson. Henry Chinaski is a simple but likeable character, a man of Hemingwayish grit. I might start with ham on Rye and read that before Post Office as well...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of his best, 31 Jan. 2008
By 
J. S. Dixon "Jeremy Dixon" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hollywood (Paperback)
In this novel Bukowski's alter-ego, Henry Chinaski writes a screenplay which is filmed in Hollywood. The book is a thinly veiled biography and charts the makings of the film Barfly which starred Micky Rourke and Faye Dunaway.

Part of Bukowski's charm is that he writes simply. However, whilst this works brilliantly in books like Post Office and Factotum, it works less well here. This is because the subject matter of the early novels features Chinaski as a down and out in dead end jobs - an existence that most of us are unfamiliar with. In this novel, Bukowski charts the excesses of Hollywood, which whilst amusing and shocking are not unfamiliar. The difficulty is that we are saturated with images of Hollywood and familiar with exposees of it. Amongst this, Bukowski struggles to tell us anything new.

The parts of the book that I enjoyed most were the sections away from Hollywood. Bukowski writes engagingly about his reasons for betting on the track and the psychology of those who attend. His visits to the local ghettoes expose a different type of madness to the Hollywood excess.

This remains an entertaining book and Bukowski is aware of the criticisms that some of his fans might make. He is aware that he is enjoying material wealth and whilst enjoying this worries that he is selling out. He is also aware of the limitations of his style. He quotes others accusing him of writing simply because he himself is simple. Despite this, Bukowski's voice is engaging in its bottomless pessimism and its self depriciating tone. This book is worth reading, its just not one of his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Look out, Hollywood!, 8 July 1996
By A Customer
This review is from: Hollywood (Paperback)
Charles Bukowski goes semi-commercial to the dismay of many old
fans, the book offers a mainstream version of FACTOTUM. But the writing is of
higher quality, and Buk shines through. Look for celebs in the book under
false names... Mickey Rourke, Faye Dunaway... check the credits of the movie
and then re-read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not Quite Hollywood, 1 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood (Paperback)
I love Bukowski and for the most part I loved this book but it felt a few chapters too long other than that it's fantastic and filled with Hank's classic look on the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood (Kindle Edition)
A funny insightful look at how crazy it is to get a Hollywood film made. Terrific
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hollywood
Hollywood by Charles Bukowski
£5.70
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews