Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Album
I had never heard of the black keys before but was in the record shop at lunch time and heard the album being played. When I heard the powerful opening riff of "Just Got To Be", I thought Paul Rodgers had brought out a new album and had brought Paul Kossoff back from the grave to play guitar, it sounded so like that raw feeling that early Free had (and I'm still convinced...
Published on 2 Oct 2006 by Mr. Douglas Clark

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but not amazing
Not as good as others
Published 23 days ago by Steve


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Album, 2 Oct 2006
By 
Mr. Douglas Clark "the dougster" (Ayr, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Magic Potion (Audio CD)
I had never heard of the black keys before but was in the record shop at lunch time and heard the album being played. When I heard the powerful opening riff of "Just Got To Be", I thought Paul Rodgers had brought out a new album and had brought Paul Kossoff back from the grave to play guitar, it sounded so like that raw feeling that early Free had (and I'm still convinced that Rodgers is the vocalist on "Just a Little Heat"). When "Your Touch" started I rushed up to the counter and asked what was playing and asked for a copy right away. I stayed on a bit longer and nearly ran out of time to buy my lunch I enjoyed it so much.

That night I couldn't wait to get home and play the CD which I have now played constantly for 2 weeks and it still sounds as fresh as when I first heard it.

The music is raw throughout with Dan's vocals emulating some of the great blues/rock singers of the past 40 years and his guitar playing dispelling the myth that Jimmy Page had came up with all the great guitar riffs. He is ably backed by Patrick Carney whose drumming reminds me of early John Bonham.

I can't recommend this album highly enough, it's a breath of fresh air amongst the usual throwaway Brit/Indie stuff that the record shops are full of.

Buy, Listen & Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely Magic, 16 Sep 2006
By 
Mr. Matthew J. Brosnan "Matt Brosnan" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Magic Potion (Audio CD)
To put it simply, this is a cracker. After getting into the Keys with the excellent Rubber Factory, being immediately compelled to go and grab their first two albums and also after being blown away by their take on some of Junior Kimbrough's songs on Chulahoma, I didn't think things could get much better. But with this Dan and Patrick have raised the bar once again. It is more of the same raw bluesy rock but yet somehow delivered with even more passion and confidence.
As ever Dan's guitar playing and singing is top notch and Patrick's drumming is the perfect foil. There are raw and heavy, short and sweet numbers like 'Your Touch', and there are also mellow moments of gorgeousness like 'You're The One'.
I really cannot recommend this album, or anything the Black Keys have ever done, enough. They also happen to be the finest live band around at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If it ain't broke....., 13 Sep 2006
This review is from: Magic Potion (Audio CD)
Great new album from the Black Keys. If anything it's slightly more rocking than the previous releases, but the overall sound and production is no different to the big come up.

I've seen a few media reviews suggesting that the BK are just repeating themselves. We'll I for one could take a few more releases in this style. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not as immediate but pure class., 6 Oct 2006
This review is from: Magic Potion (Audio CD)
This is more of a slow burner compared to their other albums. Maybe a little slower but after repeated listens it seems to have even more blues, soul and heart. It's also a little more polished than their earlier work. If you have any of the Black Keys work and like it buy all of their albums, because everything is of such an amazing standard. Hope this doesn't sound sexist but it really feels like mans music, telling it how it is for us. It's not whining, or angry but cathartic and life affirming. If you ever get the opportunity to seem them live, do it, because you will be enveloped in an amazing cascade of therapeutic blues rock that you will never forget. You won't believe that just two guys can make that sound. It's the sort of music where you have to have a fair amount of life experience to truly appreciate. But even if you don't, get it, because the music is amazing. Favourites: Just Got To Be, Just a Little Heat, Modern Times, Give Your Heart Away and The Flame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hmmm,good, 14 Sep 2006
By 
This review is from: Magic Potion (Audio CD)
quite an immpressive duo! id never actually heard of them until yesterday! i was investigating a band called the black angels and i stumbled across the black keys, which i found out were quite the established band in the us! and very tallented blues musicians, so i checked them out in the shop and after hearing dans voice and just the beggining of two songs i knew i was going to love this band! got home and its a great record! i think everyone should buy this album and we really need their influence over here in the uk, and progress from all this indie crap! dsrfvve
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars " Raw Keys " {magic], 6 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Potion (Audio CD)
This album by "The Black Keys " shows the rawness and showcases the " no frills " attitude of this amazing band. They're musical influence on bands is unmistakable ,songs like "Your Touch " not a long song but powerfully delivered and catchy,not a bad track on here,A must for blues rock/black keys fans if you don't have it yet in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spirit of Free, 11 Dec 2011
This review is from: Magic Potion (Audio CD)
Much has been written about the many varied influences and references to be found in this band's work, which is a credit to the duo's mastery when it comes down to delivering the basic ingredients and offering them up as sufficient unto themselves. And they're good at it- very good at it, with this being one very fine album indeed. If you want to know where the spirit of this particular collection comes from, try listening to the first 3 albums by Free before you listen to this. That should get you primed for the treats on offer here, for while Patrick Carney's drums emulate the rock solid angular funk of Free's Simon Kirke, Dan Auerbach appears to be channelling the vocal stylings of Free's Paul Rodgers (especially obvious on the more restrained tracks such as 'Goodbye Babylon') so effectively that when I first heard this record I thought it was by Paul Rodgers! Not only that, but his guitar work carries more than a few hints of Paul Kossoff, particularly in the riff work and his choice of tones. Once again, check out 'Goodbye Babylon' for what I nominate as the best tribute to Free I've ever heard. Keep carrying this torch guys, it suits you!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth having, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Potion (Audio CD)
Worth having in your Black Keys collection. Sounds a bit like The White Stripes. More instrumental than the other Keys albums I have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can do no wrong, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Potion (Audio CD)
Came to The Black Keys late, but better late than never.Am steadily buying all I can Have not been disappointed yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Magic Potion - The Black Keys, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Potion (Audio CD)
Magic Potion is a superb cd! It has a raw edge with some excellent tracks which you'll play over and over again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Magic Potion
Magic Potion by The Black Keys
Buy MP3 Album£9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews