Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars275
3.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 October 2010
Thanks the book is very interesting and you can learn a lot from reading the sections about the mind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2015
Astonishing collection of studies and conclusions. Should be part of every persons world education
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2015
Really thought provoking and a real eye-opener for me in my leadership role. Data is not king!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2006
I don't believe there's one word of intelligent thinking in this book. The theories are flimsy to say the least, and the reviews on the back of the book are all lies!
i thought this book would make a change from the usual fiction, but after persevering to the end in the hope that it would finish on something useful, i was left frustrated that i'd wasted so much time on it. The whole thing is just common sense!
Can you make a judgement of something at first glance? Depends on what it is? That's the crux of the book... whoopee!
YAWN!
0Comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 February 2009
I loved this book. It was thought-provoking and beautifully illustrated with examples. It is a stand-alone on this fascinating subject.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2015
As usual the author is really good at demonstrating a lot of different thing in one book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2006
Very clever, well observed understaning of why we are able to understand incredibly complex concepts in a 'blink'. Drawing analogies and examples from fields as diverse as militry planning to relationship counselling, this book provides some compelling insights into our snap judgements.
Well written and insightful, this title only falls short in its lack of techiniques to allow you to develop this already ingrained skill on a personal level. Recommended.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2009
A fascinating read, it puts you off speed dating and American police all in one book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2008
'Blink' is, as many others have said, an anecdotal, absorbing book on the premise of just how powerful gut instincts can be. It's not an in-depth analysis or criticism of theory, but as I picked it up that wasn't what I was looking for anyway. As a Psychology student, I read it outside of my course for enjoyment and not only does it give grounding to such an interest (i.e. a friend in her 3rd year of Psychology is using 'thin-slicing' in her project, and I lent her this book to help her understand it fully!) but is also one of those books that stays with you. It affects how you think about certain decisions and a greater understanding of your own mind. What more could you want from it?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2009
This book does not deserve the hype. The concept of taking decisions in blink of an eye is nothing new. The book gives some examples where people do take big decisions based on very "thin slice" of information available, but does not tell you how to acquire that. Yes, the author does explain how someone can gather a better judgement on a context, however, one might acquire that skill after a number of visits to psychologists. The main concept of the books is that you can take decisions based on intuitions rather than elaborate week long analysis. But after reading the book, it is still not clear to my how I can gain that skill, rather than just relying on my intuitions.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)