Customer Reviews


287 Reviews
5 star:
 (158)
4 star:
 (80)
3 star:
 (35)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A romantic novel where things aren't always what they seem...
The Australian coastal resort of Silver Bay *seems* idyllic enough- it's a haven for whales and dolphins with a beautiful harbour and the charming `Silver Bay Hotel.' The only trouble is, the resort itself is actually in desperate need of a renovation to try and pull in a sudden influx of tourists the place needs to save it from sinking into oblivion. Mike, a British...
Published on 2 Jun 2010 by Nicola F (Nic)

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read but not Jojo's best
I suppose that after reading Me before you nothing even comes close.
This book is a good read but it's a bit slow and predictable.
Published 15 months ago by Sian Rees


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A romantic novel where things aren't always what they seem..., 2 Jun 2010
By 
Nicola F (Nic) (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Silver Bay (Paperback)
The Australian coastal resort of Silver Bay *seems* idyllic enough- it's a haven for whales and dolphins with a beautiful harbour and the charming `Silver Bay Hotel.' The only trouble is, the resort itself is actually in desperate need of a renovation to try and pull in a sudden influx of tourists the place needs to save it from sinking into oblivion. Mike, a British businessman sees the potential of the place and heads to Australia with firm plans of knocking down the Silver Bay Hotel and building a brand new hotel and water sports complex in its place, only he doesn't expect to fall in love with the places rustic charm, not to mention the locals and also the fantastic wildlife...

This was a genuinely terrific read. There's a nice amount of romance as well as a couple of the intertwining plots and intriguing back-story that Moyes is renowned for, all tied together nicely in the end. This is definitely one to read if you like your romantic novels with a bit of depth and well-developed characters you actually want to care about. I haven't yet read a Moyes novel I haven't enjoyed and wouldn't hesitate in recommending any of her novels to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flows beautifully..., 12 May 2008
By 
LittleReader (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Silver Bay (Paperback)
'Silver Bay' is the intriguing tale of the inhabitants of this tiny Australian haven for dolphins and whales.
Initially, I found the pace slow and it took some getting in to but I am so pleased I persevered - I never imagined I would find facts about dolphins and their habitat quite so fascinating! Mike arrives at the Silver Bay Hotel to secretly get planning permission for his London based company to build a huge watersports orientated hotel complex but doesn't expect to fall in love... Either with Silver Bay or any of the people that live there. Not least because he has a 'Vanessa' waiting patiently to continue planning their Wedding back home!
This novel runs deeper than you first imagine (no pun intended) and the harrowing details of a child lost emerge slowly and painfully.
Highly recommended for the beach this year...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars slow burner, 23 July 2009
By 
~The Bookworm~ (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Silver Bay (Paperback)
I agree with other reviewers who say this book starts slowly, but there's a point at which you find yourself totally immersed in the world JoJo Moyes has created, and the characters which live and breath within it. It's one of those books which you can't put down, feel desperate to find out what happens, but which you don't ever, ever want to end.

I was moved to tears by so many aspects of the latter parts of the novel - the ghost nets, Kathleen and Nino, the lost child, the pain of self-discovery for Mike and also Hannah, Brolly's fate... This was an absolute joy of a read. My first time with this author, but it won't be my last because this has to be one of the most enjoyable books I've read for a while now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great story from Jojo Moyes, 7 Aug 2012
This review is from: Silver Bay (Paperback)
This is the 3rd book by Jojo Moyes which I have read and each one has been excellent and well researched.

A great story which gradually reveals more depth as each character tells their side of the story, and one which has more substance than your average "romance" novel.

Couldn't put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely romantic read!, 26 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silver Bay (Kindle Edition)
I have read quite a few novels by thie author and this one doesn't disappoint!The story began slowly but soon I was unable to stop reading and was dying to know what would happen next.The descriptions of Silver Bay and the surrounding sealife were very detailed and painted images of a very relaxed Australian way of life which as a reader I wanted to see preserved.Lisa and Hannahs story when revealed was so sad I shed a few tears!The ending was totally unexpected-what a lovely way to finish.I eagerly await Jojo Moyes next book in September!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silver Bay lets you gently in, 27 Feb 2007
By 
'The Reader' (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Silver Bay (Hardcover)
Anyone who has felt the long drawn out dread that comes when developers move in will sympathize with the inhabitants of Silver Bay. Cocooned in a time warp, they have their sensitivities, lives and loves brought into sharp focus by a challenge to their lives from the outside world. Jojo's storytelling skills, notched up yet another gear for this new book, will beguile and entertain her readership.

Silver Bay lets you gently in, but before you know it you are completely engaged with the people in its landscape and totally unprepared for a surprising ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting, 5 Mar 2007
By 
Holly Linklater "Holly Linklater" (Aberdeen, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Silver Bay (Hardcover)
If you like to read a book where the pages almost turn themselves this book will not disappoint.

The story revolves around the small community of 'Silver Bay' and is told from different perspectives by four narrators. There are strong dramatic events, as well as an intriguing mystery. It is an entirely believable story in which a quiet unassuming community is threatened by the source that ultimately sustains it - tourism - but tourism also threatens the lives of those that live in the ocean, without whom there would be no tourism...

This is a great tale of endurance and commitment - to a way of life, to a community, to the whales, as well as to maintaining dignity and self-respect. Jojo has written a story that reflects how, in life, there are not 'rights' and 'wrongs' but, rather, very difficult decisions to be made, and that in making these decisions the effect is often far greater than we intended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well worth persevering, 15 Mar 2008
This review is from: Silver Bay (Paperback)
As an avid Jojo Moyes fan I was disappointed how much I struggled to engage with the first half of this book. I didn't identify with the characters or the plot.

However I wasn't to be disappointed. Halfway through the book the story stopped meandering and the various threads began to come together. So much so that I spent 4 hours unable to put the book down absorbed by the fate of the Silver Bay inhabitants....and yes I cried.

Persevere - A lot of time (maybe too much) is spent creating the backdrop and building up to the big reveal. However once Jojo Moyes gets into her stride and does what she is so good at - building and developing the relationships between the characters this book was unputdownable.

Despite the beginning a great read full of twists and turns that keep you guessing right till the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars highky recommended, 13 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silver Bay (Kindle Edition)
This is the second Moyes book I've read (first one was "Me Before You") - loved both of them. This book made me laugh, cry and rooting for the residents of Silver Bay. Love the characters.

Will highly recommend this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 3 April 2013
This review is from: Silver Bay (Kindle Edition)
This book may have been a little slow to start but the ending was heart stopping. Jojo Moyes is a really talented Author, I have become addicted to her books, all of them so different. I don't know what I will do when I've read them all. Might just read them all again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Silver Bay
Silver Bay by Jojo Moyes
3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews