Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 3rd Mathilde and arguably the best
Despite the apparent lukewarm reviews it seems this book is still rated pretty pretty highly. I thoroughly enjoyed it and found it difficult to put down. I thought the plot was effective and building up into what will clearly be a long lived character and series (I hope), the mood is atmospheric and conjures up many visions of life in that period, short, nasty and...
Published on 21 Jun 2009 by John Haslett

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars less gripping and less engaging than usual - not the best mystery by Paul Doherty
I suppose this is 35 book by Paul Doherty I have read. So you gather that I am quite a fan of him.

This is the number 3 in the Mathilde of Westminsiter series. He combines here his interest in the reign of Edward II and the Templars. Eventough this new mystery is a part of a series it can stand alone and the reader does not have to read book one and two in...
Published on 27 April 2009 by Amelrode


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars less gripping and less engaging than usual - not the best mystery by Paul Doherty, 27 April 2009
By 
Amelrode (Vilvoorde) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I suppose this is 35 book by Paul Doherty I have read. So you gather that I am quite a fan of him.

This is the number 3 in the Mathilde of Westminsiter series. He combines here his interest in the reign of Edward II and the Templars. Eventough this new mystery is a part of a series it can stand alone and the reader does not have to read book one and two in order to follow the story.

The story is set in 1312: a year of high drama at the royal court of England. The leading barons are in rebellion against King Edward II and his great favorite (or lover) Gaveston, the Earl of Cornwall. The year ends with the excecution of Gaveston. At the same time the prosecution of the Templars by the King of France is in full swing. Mathilde is the trusted servant of Queen Isabella of England, Princess of France. It is a dark period, glumy and full on intrigue. Indeed a period when the glass is darkening for the royal court.

As usual Paul Doherty re-creates the period and times to perfection. He indeed creates this dark, gloomy atmosphere. But he spends more time on descriptions than usual. This however leads to less action and often a action is interrupted by descriptions. This I found partly boring, party annoying. Sometimes he wanders off to areas which he obviously wants to show to the reader, but they do not really fit into the story and actually disrupt the narrative. The whole effect is that this new mystery by Paul Doherty is less gripping and less engaging. Only in the last chapters he catches up and it gets very interesting. However, one has to get there first and this is a bit of a struggle. On a positive note the personality of Mathilde develops more and more. She gains more layers. In sharp contrast to most other books by Doherty this is not a page-turner, not a book one can not put down before the end. Indeed one can quite easily. I sometimes wonder whether Paul Doherty simply writes too much and too many different series.

All in all,this is not a bad book, but it is not the best on offer by Dr. Paul Doherty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 3rd Mathilde and arguably the best, 21 Jun 2009
By 
John Haslett (Portishead, North Somerset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Despite the apparent lukewarm reviews it seems this book is still rated pretty pretty highly. I thoroughly enjoyed it and found it difficult to put down. I thought the plot was effective and building up into what will clearly be a long lived character and series (I hope), the mood is atmospheric and conjures up many visions of life in that period, short, nasty and brutish. Having a woman as a central character is slightly unusual for Doherty and, generally, for most novelists writing about this period, Jecks, Gregory et al but works well for me. Mathilde and Isabel come across as strong but still feminine - the next one is on pre-order but, just a warning, where some series novels (Lee Childs and Reacher) can be read as stand alone, I don't think this one can - go on, be devils, order all three - you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A gripping & complex tale., 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Darkening Glass (Mathilde of Westminster 3) (Kindle Edition)
I saw the wrong side of midnight many times, as I was unable to put the book down! The many twists and turns of the plot, and the strength of the characters made this a memorable book to read.
But do not expect to just pick it up and read in the odd ten minutes, you will quickly lose track of the interwoven plots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite as expected, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Darkening Glass (Mathilde of Westminster 3) (Kindle Edition)
I am a fan of Paul Doherty but this series missed the mark for me. I'm afraid it was not as I expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric, horrifying history brought to brutal life, 30 May 2012
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the third of the Mathilde of Westminster stories - books set in and around the court of King Edward II of England, full of intrigue, plotting and planning, particularly by Edward's nobles against his favourite Gaveston.

In this book, it is March 1312, Edward and Gaveston's battle against the rebellious nobles is heating up to deadly levels, the Queen Isabella (Mathilde's mistress) is pregnant with the King's first child and potential heir. A volatile situation not helped by Robert Bruce in Scotland preparing to cause trouble in the north. Can the internal troubles be quelled, or at least held at bay, while the kingdom deals with the external threat? And what will Mathilde discover when murderers show their hand?

These books are great, as are pretty much all of Paul Doherty's historical novels, wherever and whenever they are set. The historical accuracy and research that has clearly gone into them is highly impressive; the atmosphere in these novels is dark and brooding; a real sense of menace hangs over the English court, and Mathilde, recounting these tales from her old age, banished by King Edward III has a real and cynical attitude to her life both now and in her younger days.

The story of Edward II and Gaveston, Isabella and the struggle for the English throne which ensues between so many disparate parties is a horrible part of English history; but wonderfully brought to life for the modern reader in these novels. I'm not sure if there are more Mathilde of Westminster novels out, but will have to keep an eye out for them. In the meantime, I'll be revisiting old P C Doherty favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Turbulence surrounding Edward II and his court, 16 Oct 2009
By 
Mrs. M. R. Hallesey "Bookaholic" (Pontypridd, S. Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What is most apparent is the amount of historical research which Paul Doherty carried out, and it is not surprising that he obtained a doctorate degree for analysing this turbulent period in English history and inspired him to write this book. I would highly recommend it to anyone having an interest in the reign of Edward II.

It is well-written mystery and I found it difficult to put down as I eagerly awaited Mathilde's conclusion to the complexities and dangers that she and her companions faced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae2fdde0)

This product

Only search this product's reviews